We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation, excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint Georges

Save Saved
You added Le Saint Georges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Saint Georges
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Grand' rue, 86370 Vivonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vivonne
spalding
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here overnight while travelling south. The rooms are basic, pretty much what you'd expect for a rural French hotel. The breakfast was an adequate buffet with a good range of bread, pastries, cheese and ham. The star part of the stay was the excellent restaurant which is located across the road from the hotel. When we entered, it was packed (always a good sign) with people coming after us being turned away. The service was a little slw but this was made up by the superb food and very friendly staff. We will stay again when next in the area.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
23
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I would not advise to stay in this hotel, the room in which we stayed (family) was rather small, all the equipment is quite old and does not look very clean.
In addition the dinner and breakfast were poor. The location is nice however the rest is quite mediocre

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I would recommend this hotel highly for a stopover (or longer). Wonderful outstanding food (even for a logis in France). Rooms were really cheap for the standard. The village is pretty and a good place to unwind following a long drive. Lovely park and canoeing. Excellent local market on Saturdays. Lovely small church with medieval wall paintings. The hotel has changed hands since our last stay but the new owners were really pleasant and helpful. Excellent spoken English so no confusion of any kind. Lots of convenient parking. Suggest you check in before removing luggage from your car as the hotel is in 2 halves on each side of the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if mobility is a problem as the stairs are steep. Alternatively stay ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while dallying on the way to our gite South of Bordeaux. Arrived at 9.00 pm and were invited to eat immediately, didn't need asking twice.Food was superb.
Room was a little on the main street for us (I'm sure I asked for calm), and the ubiquitous moped and bell combination had me out of the sack at the "bonheur".
Comfy, clean, good shower. Ample petite dejeuner from a buffet, and parking at the rear not too far for baggage handling.
As described really.

Room Tip: One off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A nice simple hotel close to Futuroscope, easy to find plenty of parking and friendly hosts.
Rooms were clean and had a number of beds suitable for families sharing.
Other amenities in the village in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stopped overnight on way to SW France. Lugged suitcases between the two halves of the hotel situated on opposite sides of the road as we were not informed which one our room was in.
24 euro menu was pleasant but not unusual . Service was slow becaus eof alarge party which arrived after us. We were wrongly charged at the end of our stay for someone else's restaurant bill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stay 1 night on the way back to the home. We received a great welcome by the management couple. Big familly room, lovely breakfast with a large choice including a brioche and croissants... Well decorated restaurant with a nice selection of Menu's and a la carte, we have enjoyed our experience Merci and see you soon, your address is kept safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint Georges

Address: 12 Grand' rue, 86370 Vivonne, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Vienne > Vivonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Vivonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Saint Georges 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A resplendent dwelling set in the heart of the historic centre of a handsome village in the Poitou region. The stunning atmosphere and refined comfort are enchantingly irresistible. 31 rooms (some air-conditioned, others for families), 3 meeting rooms, bar, fireside lounge, terraces. Two restaurants, one featuring traditional cuisine, the other bistro-style fare, are an open invitation to the pleasures of family or business dining, banquets and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Saint Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.