We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old beds and too many mozzies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glass House Mountains Ecolodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glass House Mountains Ecolodge to your Saves list
Glass House Mountains Ecolodge
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   198 Barrs Road, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old beds and too many mozzies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We wanted to stay 2 nights at glasshouse mountains ecolodge but left after one night (we had to give up the full amount too!). The beds were uncomfortable and the shower was pathetic (pressure was limited to a low level, i guess to conserve water?). We tried to explore the orchard but there were too many mozzies and my children started to get large rashes from the mozzie bites.

I think this ecolodge could be more suited to couples or families without young children that could have sensitive skin.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibroclimber, General Manager at Glass House Mountains Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
It is a pity that our guests did not raise with us the matter of the supposed low water pressure. We could have explained that all shower heads used in bathrooms in Australia must now have a
certified WELS 3 star rating from the Australian Government. It is not possible to adjust the shower head flow to "save water".
All of our furniture was purchased "new" except for the bedside tables that were manufactured from trees harvested on our Ecolodge property. A great way of storing carbon. We are proud of our environmental achievements in water and energy conservation and the re-use of materials wherever possible.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    26
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mapua
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We were headed North of Brisbane for a wedding and needed somewhere to stay for just one night. This place was perfect and we wish we could of stayed another one. We stayed in the church which was full of character and very spacious. The critter noises were at first a little scary but not at all a problem and once I knew nothing could get in I was fine! Breakfast was good and make sure you order it when booking. Eaten in the train carriage and everything fresh. The walks around the lodge are fun and there is plenty of info on the plants, birds and surrounds. Australia Zoo ( well worth a visit and the tickets were booked through the lodge and waiting for us when we arrived!) is very close by . We wish we had had longer to spend there and would definitely go back again if we are in the area

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

The Ecolodge is an outstanding project: Well executed, superlative design, great surroundings, respectful of the planet. Freshest in-season fruit possible...it is grown in the orchard outside your room. Have breakfast, I'm glad I did.
After dark, please run over as many Cane Toads possible. Barrs Road is good for toad-busting!
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Glass House Mountains Ecolodge in January 2010 and we had the best time!! The whole set-up of the place is great. Everything has been thought out to the smallest detail to make this place a perfect eco-tourist destination! There are two old Queensland railway carriages that have been re-used here as a recreation and dining carriage, There are two great self-guided walks within the Ecolodge grounds and some amazing walks around and up the mountains of Glasshouse including the Mt Tibrogargen walk that is only a 5 minute walk away from the Ecolodge. Overall, this place is a perfect place to spend as much time relaxing, climbing mountains and walking as you like. We even planted a tree each to help expand the rainforest area. Our only regret about this place is that we couldn't stay longer but hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I searched online for ages for suitable accommodation in the glasshouse mountains for two nights - everything seemed to be either mega bucks or just a boring old motel. And then I found the Glass House Mountains Ecolodge. Location looked perfect, prices were reasonable, so we booked two nights. There was a bit of a mix up when it seemed the booking was taken, but Keith (the owner) managed to sort it out, and they were excellent at communicating with us to assure us that all was OK.
When we arrived, we were thrilled to be upgraded from an Orchard Room, to the new Bungalow. One of the staff members showed us around the whole lodge, but I have to say that once we got into the bungalow we didnt want to leave! Its a great little unit - with a bedroom, small bathroom, and a separate fantastic kitchen/dining area. The two main rooms are both octaganol (I think), and the bedroom has some amazing dark wooden furniture, which I think Keith has collected over the years. The door into the bedroom is amazing - very ornate. It actually reminded us of one of the stilt shacks we stayed in on our honeymoon in the Maldives (without the sea, obviously!) The kitchen cooking facilities were great - better than my kitchen at home! - so we became unsociable and ate in both nights! We did mean to go out to the communal railway carriage to chat to some others, but it was so nice that we just stayed put, listening to the evening insects and frogs through the windows.
The lodge is very individual, which suited us perfectly - we don't like bland samey places. There is an orchard, fire pit area and nice grounds, all overlooked by a large glasshouse mountain! There's also a herb garden, which helped me with my cooking!
As Steve Irwin's zoo is literally just a couple of miles down the road, we thought we should visit. Raylee on reception gave us some good advice about going early to the tropical bird feeding, and she also sorted our tickets so we went through the pre-paid entrance.
All in all, its a great location - and if you stay in the Bungalow you're in for a treat!
The staff were great and more than made up for the slight mix up during booking. Would throughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Staying with my aunt, we were bowled over by the welcome, which included an invitation to help ourselves from the organic orchard, free local coffee, tea and fabulour kitchen housed in an old railway carriage. Another railway carriage houses a fabulous lounge with worthwhile and valuable information. The Glass House Mountains are on the doorstep (300 metres) of this fabulous Eco-Lodge with safety for the children and overlooking Mt. Tibrogargan tranquility is broken only by the gentle call of the birds. Thank you Keith for following your dream and producing the Eco-Lodge for all to enjoy at such reasonable rates. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

this is a fantastic location with a splendid parc, near the moutain. rooms are clean and large. childs are welcome.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glass House Mountains Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Mountains Ecolodge

Address: 198 Barrs Road, Glass House Mountains, Queensland 4518, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Glass House Mountains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glass House Mountains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glass House Mountains Ecolodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of a National Heritage treasure, the Glasshouse Mountains Ecolodge offers a unique ecological experience of this fascinating area of the Sunshine Coast Hinterland in South East Queensland. It makes a fantastic base from which to explore the 26 million year old volcanic plugs that make up this incredible landscape, as well as the coastal beaches and hinterland villages. During your stay at the Ecolodge (set on 5 acres of orchard and forest beside a small creek) you can discover bush tucker, enjoy nocturnal frog spotting and bird watching (over 60 different types of birds have been seen). A great place to relax and unwind in this peaceful and quiet nature haven with its birds, butterflies, dragonflies, and even kangaroos. National park walks start 400 metres from the front entrance. Steve Irwin's Australia Zoo is just 10 minutes away and the Ecolodge is only an hour north of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Glass House Mountains Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass House Mountains Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.