We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenviews Resort Port Barton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Barton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenviews Resort Port Barton
Port Barton, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pricey but cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms are a bit pricey for what you get, but it is a really nice resort and Port Barton in itself is just a little bite of paradise.

The only thing I want people to make notice of is the damn roosters crowing right outside your windowless window starting as early as 5 in the morning. They drove me close to insanity, so make sure to bring earplugs, or any other sort of hearing protection if you want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nice, clean, comfy, pleasant, good location just off the beach. Also organize boat trips to El Nido. We got ours here for 4500P and were the only people on the small boat run by two guys, much too small for the rough seas, took plenty of seawater in and arrived with all of our stuff soaking wet... Even the boat guys appeared happy to get there in one piece. Better to wait for other passengers and get the big boat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not the cheapest option for a fan-room but has a great location right on the beach and the premises are very well maintained and cozy. A twin-room did not have much space for other than sleeping but the front porch with a table and chairs more than made up for it. Very friendly staff and good service all together. Bar/restaurant at the reception has a good atmosphere and can be recommended for a drink in the evening as well as for breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I spent 3 nights with my friends at Greenviews Port Barton and we were very satisfied. First of all great contact and lots of support I received from the owner - dave, who really helped me in many things giving very detailed informations by email in really short notice. Booking and prepayment went very comfortable and everything was perfect. Location just on the beach with close proximity to few restaurants and bars .
Cottages superb - allowed us to feel real nature, voices of the animals and wind during humid and rainy nights...amazing. Big windows are with mosquito nets but without "glass" - great.
Resort offers also in place restaurant with choice of breakfasts (not included in the price) and other food - nice looking place for evening meetings. The only thing I suggest to organize is WI FI , because is not available at all. Remember also that electricity is from 6 pm till 11 pm only, so charge your camera's battery at this hours ;)
Overall - great place to stay ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Great people, great food and a wonder of beaches around Port Barton. The rooms are very simple but, with everything we need. Is was very hot that we didn't even mind the cold shower. We did a tour to the water falls and Toto was our guide. He is great and we definitely recommend it!!! afterwords we had a badminton match and Toto showed us some skills. We had a lot of fun!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We got their beach front fan hut (cottage 1) for only 900 pesos during the lull season which was such a great deal! The room was nice and clean, linen white and crisp, decor a bit on the tacky side (pics of cutesy cats framed on the wall! =)) ) but not bothersome.

In their vast garden, they have hammocks, lounge chairs and a small volleyball court.

In general, the ladies at the resort were industrious, always cleaning or on standby to guests' requests. They even arranged a last minute booking for a boat ride to Long Beach, Port Barton without any hotel mark-up, which was nice. They didn't tell us though that the boat could not dock at the actual beach and we had to take a tricycle, which we hoped they told us in advance.

Restaurant food is kind of expensive, but we found the whole of Port Barton mostly has expensive food.

In terms of location, it's on the northern most side of the cove, near the trail to the waterfalls. It's in front of an estuary, and so you have to walk a bit on the south side for cleaner waters.

A note to any traveler to Port Barton though-- electricity is on from 6-12 PM.

Room Tip: Ask for off-peak season rates and try to get cottage 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

In short, our time at Greenviews was a regrettable and disappointing experience. I'm not one to be unduly disparaging but, in all honesty, I found this resort to be a complete shocker. The huts are dirty, dank and depressing, the beds basic, bumpy and bug riddled and the bathrooms an absolute disgrace.

Although relatively cheap and affordable, I would urge anyone going to Port Barton to look elsewhere. The view out the window is, perhaps, the only redeeming characteristic of the place - however, nearly all the other potential places to stay share similar views.

I could go on and list in detail all the gripes and complaints i have but let it be sufficient to say that I wouldn't return to Greenviews if they paid me.

Room Tip: I don't believe there to be a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greenviews Resort Port Barton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenviews Resort Port Barton

Address: Port Barton, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Port Barton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty lodging in Port Barton
Also Known As:
Greenviews Resort Port Barton Hotel Port Barton
Greenviews Hotel Palawan
Greenviews Resort Port Barton Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenviews Resort Port Barton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Greenviews Resort Port Barton to your Saves list