We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Paradise is waiting at Port Barton. Imagine yourself here.
Gilligans has 180 metres of semi private beach and 2 acres of grounds with no neighbours for 200mts.
Gilligans has 180 metres of semi private beach and 2 acres of grounds with no neighbours for 200mts.
Relax beside the calm waters
You'll love our beachfront cabanas.
Port Barton
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
David Y
Kingston, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW! Delivers as advertised and then some.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
7
people found this review helpful

Our week at Gilligan's was everything we had hoped for and more. Our caretakers Alvin, Estrella, their family and Roger made our stay memorable. We felt as if they were part of our family. I would best desribe the house itself as similar to a comfortable cabin in the mountains of Pennsylvania except that it is located on an island paradise, a beautiful secluded beachfront property with wonderful views of the bay and surrounding islands and gorgeous sunsets. Every evening we would paddle out into the bay to be surrounded by the sunset.
We spent some days relaxing on the property, enjoying the plants and flowers, reading a book on the porch or gazebo or exploring the vast beach. Other days were more active. The hike to Bigaho Falls was a great change of pace and the island hopping was incredible. We took the banka boat back to Port Barton to wander around for half a day and arranged for a diving/snorkeling trip for later in the week. We bought some souveniers and some fresh fruit to bring back to the house. Roger climbed a palm tree and harvested some fresh coconuts for us to enjoy fresh coconut water. It was terrific with some Malibu Rum.
Estrella's cooking was terrific and she was very accommodating, making some separate dishes for my daughter who likes her food plain. Alvin and Estrella were always available if we needed anything, they were always pleasant and smiling.
I really can go on and on and I can't say enough good things about Gilligan's. Mal and Michelle are so easy to work with and answered all of my questions and concerns.
Thank you Mal and Michelle for providing a most memorable property to spend a vacation. I think about it and smile every day as do the rest of my family. I sincerely hope to return some day.


David Yamrus

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The friendly caretakers and the beautiful property
Liked least: Not much to choose from but maybe lack of air conditioning at night
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2014
"Delivers as advertised" This is one of my favourite reviews. I've tried hard to tell it like it is; Warts and all. Thanks for a terrific review. Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Maidenhead
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2013
Thanks Simon for your review. It was a pleasure to host your party. Hope to see you again soon. Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
markdansi...
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Having stayed in many hotels and resorts world wide this, is the best holiday by far and will be booking it for family and friends many times in the future. I would give it 7 stars out of 5 for the experience of a lifetime. Just read the reviews, this exceeded my expectations many times over. This really is paradise found.
Alvin and Estrella are a big part of this experience and are very special people, as is the location. Alvin is a real character, great sense of humor and Estrella is someone that just makes you feel welcome all the time, with a huge smile and warmth that is genuine.
I will not repeat all what is said in the other reviews other than its all true and more. This is ideal for family, a group of friends or that romantic get away.
One highlight was meeting other people island hoping, swimming and watching the sunset why paddling a surf ski. Estrella's cooking with fresh produce is outstanding.
Many resorts and hotels try and imitate this setting, this is the real deal.
Apart from being the best value for money you could ask for, the experience is priceless. I have been travelling for over 30 years, nothing comes close.
Kind Regards
Mark (Australia)

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and the hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2012
I totally Agree! Another satisfied customer. Thanks Mate!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SealPatri...
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Gilligans is an amazing little getaway villa, set in the beautiful surroundings of palm trees, tropical forests and of course the crystal clear sea with is amazing beaches lapping at the door.
If you want somewhere to get away from the usual busy bustle of life, leave your laptop behind and turn off your phone kick back here and enjoy.
We spent our time here snorkelling over reefs visiting waterfalls and generally relaxing. Best holiday in a very long time. Really hope that Ill be able to return at some point in the future.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Trek through the jungle to the waterfall or island hopping.
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2012
It was our pleasure to host your stay, we'd love to see you return someday, Mal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
lemanieg
Nice, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A perfect island hideaway for simple living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
6
people found this review helpful

This place is special. You are on your own beach with the most magnificent view ever from your deck. We all fell in love with Gilligans. The place is simply furnished, but there is a good selection of games and we used the kayaks, ... I did get eaten by mosquitos the first night but it was worth it, just to get back to feeling at one with nature, walking to collect shells, fishing for our dinner, swimming in the nearby waterfall, and just generally relaxing. It was good to be able to go over the water to Port Barton too for the odd afternoon with a little more company, but we loved going back to our private beach at the end of the day. We mostly cooked our own meals .. the meals offered are very simple and almost all involve meat which I don't eat..but Estrella cleaned the place for us each day, and Alvin took us out on his boat and grilled our fish for us. Although we had a data card we found it almost impossible to get internet at Gilligans. Marilyn at Villa Marguerita bent over backwards to help us once we got to Port Barton but we didn't get much info sent beforehand from her which meant we messed up booking the Underground River. I'd recommend booking the river trip either on your way from Puerta Princesa or on the way back to save time and money.. and at the moment you HAVE to book your permit in Puerta Princesa before you go. We hope to go back to Gilligans again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Owning my own beach for a few days
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2012
Thanks for you kind review Melanie. Yes Gilligans is a special place, and our guests all seem to enjoy their own piece of Paradise even if it is only for a few days. Internet is difficult at Gilligans usually enough for emails and facebook, but not for sending large files. The underground river booking office has not responded to my emails requesting information, so we recommend that our guests try to book directly with them. We hope to see you again someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Carrybridge
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
4
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
rbrown406
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Truly remote, romantic, secluded vacation rental property!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
4
people found this review helpful

My new wife and I stayed Gilligans for 3 nights. The owner was so very kind to work with us since that time had already been blocked off but he make an exception for our honeymoon! While a typhoon passed to the north and it was very windy, storm, and rained alot we enjoyed our short stay there. Very private beach, house with everything we needed including the wonderful care takers who attended to all our needs. We had great fresh food and lots of private time to enjoy this vacation home "off the beaten path"! I wish we could have stayed longer to truly enjoy this special spot and perhaps we can in the future! Thanks to the owner for his willingness to make this special time happen for us!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Secluded rarely seen spot for a honeymoon or a family.
Liked least: The weather that no one could control!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$118
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Malcolm J
61411222382
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2010
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing