We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a dream can come true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragsholm Slot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dragsholm Slot to your Saves list
Dragsholm Slot
Dragsholm Alle 1, Hoerve 4534, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoerve
Roma, Italia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“a dream can come true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed for a day with my danish fianceè. (it was 15years ago) and everything was filled with magic. We arrived at the sunset and all the candles were light up. The dinner was tasty and the room service excellent. The morning after we had a "wet" walking in the park (it was october). Great stay! I'm going to have a family vac on december!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
32
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our family celebrations for almost 20 people took place at this ancient castle, and was a great success. Included was arrival with coffee and cakes; a guided tour of the castle with stories from its colorful past, a pre-dinner 'homegrown' drink, an excellent 5-course meal in a private exquisite dining hall, and later coffee and avec in the library. After that we could retire to our beautifully decorated castle rooms and I think all enjoyed comfortable sleeps behind the meter-thick walls, undisturbed by noise as well as ghosts. All in all a most pleasant way to celebrate a family event, although not exactly cheap. The castle has some old winding stairs and other challenges for elderly people, but it all adds to the charm. The surroundings offer various nice outings including hikes with nice sea-views and a nearby beach. Staff at the castle were all very helpful and kind during the pre-arrangement deliberations as well as during the event. I look back on our visit to Dragsholm very fondly, and I recommend it to all who would like to try the best of what Danish history, cooking and hospitality combined can offer.

Room Tip: No 21 is the bridal suite, but is offered to otthers as well. Very pretty and with a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

They have the same menu with four different choices every day. There is maybee one exception compared to dinner and lunch. Breakfest is with no choice, and not in the standard you pay for.
There is no bar in a manchion with over hundred rooms.
Good standard here is keeping one thing on top, the highend restourant. Perfect.
Its a one timer, its the same course the next evening.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Went for one night to check out how it is to sleep in a castle. Definitely wanted to stay longer but had to make way to Copenhagen.

Great grounds and beautiful nature for hiking.

Food is amazing. Breakfast and dinner are alone worth the trip to the castle!

Room Tip: Pick the one with the ghosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights (Monday and Tuesday). We booked the basic room (via a booking site) as the accommodation at the

Slot seemed quite expensive to us (even for Denmark) and the hotel's english language site was very simple, it was very difficult to understand the different in the room types (there seems to be a whole lot more information and special offers in Danish only).

Our room was reasonable in size and comfortably furnished. The bed was a little soft for us but the bedding was nice and warm. The heating in the room was good. There was no tv in the room.

There was also no mini bar, nor coffee / tea making facilities in the room which didn't bother us as the eatery is open all day, for drinks, meals etc and food can be delivered to the room, if requested.

The bathroom was very small but functional with a great shower and in floor heating. Other than the body and hair care products and towels provided there were no other bathroom products provided, e.g. no robes, no tissues, no shower cap etc.

Dragsholm Slot has developed its own range of body & hair care products. The products make the most of native plants that grow around the slot. These products are provided for guests in the bathrooms and are really lovely.

We had a nice view from the room over the restaurant's herb garden and out past the vegetable fields.

It was cold, wet and windy during our stay but we were warm and cosy in the old castle's rooms.

The drive from Copenhagen was simple and took just over 1 hour (on the return journey we stopped at Roskilde to visit the Viking Museum which was very interesting).

We spent the morning of our full day in Dragsholm walking to the beach (an easy 20 minutes walk along a lane to get to the coast). In the afternoon we drove to Asnaes to visit the Odsherred Art Museum to see thier extensive collection of local art from the past century.

We also spent a few hours over our stay walking around the hotel grounds and exploring the various public areas in the castle (there is a small museum with some basic historical information too). We noticed that english language tours of the castle and complex are offered once a week (Tuesdays) during summer.

The breakfast (included in room rate) was excellent and consisted of various breads and crossaints, soft boiled egg, cold meats and cheese, butter and jam, vanilla yoghurt with sea buck thorn berries, apple juice and tea or coffee. The breakfast was served to your table and the quality was superb. The breakfast room on our first morning was the Eatery and then on the second morning, breakfast was served in the formal restaurant (could possibly depend on how many people are staying as there were very few guests when we were there).

We dined in the Eatery on both nights of our stay. We actually only intended to dine in the Eatery on one night but we enjoyed the meal so much that we decided to dine there on both nights. The food in the Eatery was comfort dining with touches from the formal restaurant. (Unfortunately the formal restaurant isn't open during the week at this time of year , only on weekends).

The compendium had some information (in english) on what to do in the area and you can ask for walking maps & more information at reception.

The staff were happy to provide information but it seemed like you needed to know what to ask, information wasn't offered.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The Eatery was excellent, we enjoyed everything we tried there and the service in the Eatery was great too. We do feel that the hotel rooms and hotel services could be a little better for the price, however.

Room Tip: Try to get a better rate, investigate deals for multiple nights that include dining (you will probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the castle for one night, as part of their Gourmet Package. The double room, 5 course dinner, and breakfast are all included in the price. The room was nice, could have used some TLC, but when you take in to account the age of the castle, it is understandable that there are repairs to be done all the time. We had a luxury room with jacuzzi, which just happened to have troubles in the drain, because water started to flow out on to the floor when we put the plug up. A quick call to reception, and someone came by to clean it all up. They were very helpful, and as compensation for our troubles, they upgraded our dinner from 5 to 7 courses. The dinner was AMAZING, and the wine menu is a must! The service was down to earth, but very professional. Our breakfast the following morning was simple, yet tasty. Various fresh breads, yoghurt, softboiled egg, juice and coffee. The castle's location is so picturesque, and Danish decor throughout the interior is simple and clean. All in all, a great way to spend a weekend, especially a romantic one.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

we recently organised our wedding at the castle. Everything was taken care of, the food, flowers and church were absolutely perfect. I would recommend it not only for sunday lunches but for making a truly special day, an absolutely unforgettable one, too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dragsholm Slot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragsholm Slot

Address: Dragsholm Alle 1, Hoerve 4534, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > West Zealand > Odsherred Municipality > Hoerve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoerve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dragsholm Slot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragsholm Slot Denmark/Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragsholm Slot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.