We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joint - just get there and enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niagara Falls Cafe

Niagara Falls Cafe
256 Niagara-Waikawa Rd, Tokanui 9884, New Zealand
0064 3 2468577
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Tokanui
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“What a joint - just get there and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a great joint, from the minute you open the gate the gardens and grounds of this old school are immaculatly kept -beautiful gardens. Inside you are welcomed by some fine New Zealand men who prepared great meals (with locally sourced produce) and made fantastic coffee. Don't not forget to checkout the family member's 2012 Olympic gold medal which they proudly display. Do yourself a favour and stop in and enjoy. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omakau, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quirky, pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Enjoyed our brief stop here, nice coffee and brownie. Quirky decor and love the dedication to locally produced ingredients. Great setting in an old school.
Although I appreciate the support for Breast Cancer Awareness, the balloons were past their best, smelling of old rubber.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the location to the excellent service this was a fantastic experience. I am a vegetarian and wow what a selection for me to choose from. Also the soup which my partner ordered the chef came to check with me that I hadn't ordered it as it had chicken stock in it. The desserts were the best also. Yummy. We eat out a lot and I always have to ask lots of questions as I am extremely fussy as well. My partner was so impressed he also took food home for dinner that night. Fantastic and definitely recommend this as a must visit. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delightful Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

All the food is locally resourced and is therefore very fresh and delicious. Delighted to have stumbled across this very pretty and interesting little cafe. After enjoying a lovely meal it was nice to browse through the locally made crafts, and read about the history of the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped at the Niagara Falls Cafe on the way back from Curio bay. The staff were so friendly and helpful and told us all the best places to see. The coffee was great and the food delicious - if you're in this part of the world - You must stop and have a meal here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niagara Falls Cafe also viewed

Southland Region, South Island

Been to Niagara Falls Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niagara Falls Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.