We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Spruce Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dwight
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Spruce Resort
Save
You added Blue Spruce Resort to your Saves list
4308 Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We picked cottage 4. It was so cozy and cute with a fireplace and jucuzzi tub. We were greeted by very helpful and friendly staff. The resort has its own ice rink, toboggan hill and cross country ski trails, we took advantage of all activities and I had so much fun, an amazing time and I would reccomend Blue Spruce to everyone. Ps rent cross country skis from algonquin outfitters 23 bucks for 3 hrs, ski up to the lookout, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just an amazing way to finsih off a 4 day canoe trip into Algonquin Park. We found this place back in the 90's and came back often back then. It became so special, we even spent Christmas one year in one of the cabins. So this year as my son and I were planning another canoe trip, he kept insisting on finishing the trip with a night at "Blue Spruce". So we did it and it was a great way to unwind,enjoy a hot shower and comfortable beds. Had a chance to catch up on past memories with the owners. It is one of our "special places" that just never dissappoints. We will be back again and again......

Room Tip: Each cabin/cottage has its unique features, so depending on how many beds you need, none of them wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We called and found a nice neat, clean cottage on short notice. Staff was friendly and very accommodating with a quick easy check in.

Cottage is cozy with satellite TV, wood burning fireplace, full (small) kitchen, comfy bed and nice (dated) bathroom.

The entire resort is clean and very well kept. Every inch of the resort is attended to - someone raked our driveway before we got there! The beach is safe, clean and fun with toys for the kids and loungers for the adults.

There is a games room with pool table, ping pong, video games, games and books.

Room Tip: ask for a cottage closest to the water. Cottages are in rows so the second rows looks at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We first stayed here a year ago in October, and I'm so glad we found this place. We hadn't booked accommodation and saw the Blue Spruce Resort sign from the side of the road, so thought we would give it a go.

The staff are wonderful, and explained which cottages were available, and then gave us the keys so we could wander around and see which we liked best. It was a bit of a disaster for my husband, because the guy gave us the key to 'Greenwoods Cottage' - WOW - what can I say? The other cottages were lovely, but once we (or I) saw Greenwoods, I was sold!

This cottage is amazing, it is so comfortable, luxurious, but still homely. Huge comfy bed, hot tub on your private deck overlooking the lake, huge bathroom with a sauna, steam room/shower, and a jet bath too. We just loved cooking, then relaxing on the sofas in front of the log fire.

It was the best nights sleep I have had in a long while, and whilst we usually like to try new places, my husband surprised me again this year and booked it again.

It was just as amazing the second time. There are lots of walking trails just behind the lodgings (where you can try cross country skiing in the Winter) too. Reception has loads of board games and DVDs, plus they sell you the wood for the fire, so you never have to go far for anything you need.

My only complaint is that we only stayed for one night, once you settle in, you never want to leave!

We will definitely be back....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent our first anniversary at Blue Spruce Resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Greenwoods Cottage, and LOVED IT. That is my kind of 'camping'. I highly recommend staying here the next time you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of life.

Room Tip: outdoor hottub, indoor theraputic tub, sauna, steam bath, dishwasher.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Blue Spruce is the best of everything cottagey and summery.

The beaches are sandy; the water deep, clear and pristine for swimming.

I think we may have been the only first-timers here - and were advised more than once by other guests to be sure to come back for the fall colours.

We stayed in one of the hotel room units. The units are HUGE! Each with both a front and back door and outside the back door your own BBQ. There is a fully equipped kitchen (OK, well no dishwasher) and a wood burning fireplace.

The rooms are spotless, though dated. I think the fact that these rooms seem to be as they were in the 1950's just adds to the charm of the place.

There is a games room for rainy days, but when we were there everyone seemed to be on the water, by the water or in the water!

The resort has a great selection of boats, canoes and kayaks for guest use or rental.

We'll be back for sure :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a great weekend at a cottage at the Blue Spruce resort. The staff are very friendly and helpful at check in. The cottage we had was #4, the one bedroom. It was great. Very clean, well stocked full kitchen, king size bed, jacuzzi tub. There was a small deck at the back where we could sit and have morning coffee with a view of the lake. They have a nice small beach, a floating trampoline, canoes and kayaks for rent, beach vball, tetherball, free tennis court use (and rackets you can borrow, also for free). The one drawback is that you'd need to drive 20-30 minutes to get to a decent restaurant. Best bet is to stock up on food in Huntsville and cook yourself. All the cookware you need is in the kitchen. They also don't clean the cottages for you every night - only on Wednesdays. Not a big deal to us though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Spruce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spruce Resort

Address: 4308 Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dwight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Spruce Resort is an outstanding fully equipped Cottage Resort and Motel, perfectly at home in its ideal setting of pristine lakes and diversified forests. Located near the West Gate of Algonquin Park, Ontario, Canada, it is one of the largest fully-equipped housekeeping resorts in Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Spruce Hotel Muskoka
Blue Spruce Resort Dwight, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Spruce Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.