We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Spruce Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dwight
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Spruce Resort
Save
You added Blue Spruce Resort to your Saves list
4308 Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Cottages at most Muskoka housekeeping cottage resorts I've been to are very rustic, dusty & dirty (and there is often the occasional mouse). The idea is to spend as much time outside the cottage as possible.

Blue Spruce is different. The cottages are spotless and comfortable, with fully equipped kitchens, bbq, log burning fireplace, tv/dvd player and comfortable beds. No bugs! We were in Cottage 3 (3 bedrooms) and were very impressed. The cottage had a beautiful late view. While there is no air conditioning, each room had a powerful ceiling fan, which did the trick. The grounds themselves are very pretty, with 2 nicely maintained beaches, plenty of boats (for rent, except for paddleboats, which are free). There is also a playground for young children, and the usual shuffleboard/horseshoes/tetherball. Oxtongue Lake is beautiful and great for canoeing - for both short leisurely paddles, and longer day trips (including down oxtongue river to ragged falls, which can take a few hours).

Great place to get away from the city.

Huntsville is about a half hour away, Algonquin is 15 minutes away, and Dwight is only 10 mins away and has a good small grocery store that has fresh meat and Dwight also has a great bakery (Henrietta's Pine Bakery)

Only two cons I can think of - 1. the property is very close to Highway 60, so there is a lot of traffic noise during the day if you're playing in the playground (but there is very little traffic at night). 2. You will definitely need your car as there are limited walking opportunities in the area (basically a few trails and Oxtongue Lake Road; beyond that, you need to drive into Algonquin for hiking).

Bring DVDs and popcorn in case it rains!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at cottage 12 with a group of friends. We rented three cottages for a bachelor party and The Blue Spruce Resort was able to accommodate us all. Driving up to resort first thing that came out of my mouth was "wow." Very beautiful scenery, surrounded by lake and forest.

Upon entering cottage, I found that blankets, towels, toiletries were all provided and each cottage was equipped with a dishwasher, cutlery and everything you need to cook.

The owners nephew "Taylor" was a wonderful host. He brought us ice, and wood when needed and was also a very cool guy to chat with. We had a noise complaint one night and he talked to us about it in a very polite way and everything was fine after that.

Only complaint I have and it is not the resorts fault was the Lake. Lake Oxtongue apparently had reviews on line stating the lake was stocked full of fish and what not. I caught some fish off the dock and we caught two fish in our group of 17 trolling on the boat. Either the lake has been overfished or the people stating it is full of fish are full of it...

Overall it was a great weekend. I give the resort a 5 out of 5 and would like to visit with my wife sometime maybe. I like to give personal rating specifically for the resort but I end up basing my final rating for everything overall.

Overall trip I give it a 4 out of 5 due to rain, lack of fish and the 4 hour drive to the place from where I live.

Room Tip: For a large group cottage 12, but if small just ask for a room away from others in case you get rowd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have not been to this region in over 60 years. It has become much more commercial. But that is not a reason to avoid it. I spent four days at this resort and had a fabulous time. The cottages are rustic looking, but very clean and comfortable. They are well appointed with TV, kitchen, comfortable beds, and spa tubs in the bathrooms. Kitchens are equipped with dishes, flatware, pots & pans, and cooking utensils. They have full ranges, micro range, toaster, coffee maker, and some have a dishwasher.

It is set on a beautiful lake very near Algonquin Provincial Park. Many beautiful views are available throughout the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have been coming to Blue Spruce for the last 4 years. A friend of ours has been going there since he was a small boy and now brings his own family. The resort is very clean and the owners are fantastic. All the staff makes sure you have everything you need for a comfortable vacation. They provide parking spaces for our boat and seadoo trailers as well as dockage for the week.

The studios and suites have everything you need for cooking, including a gas bbq for each room.

The beachs are clean and racked every morning and the fishing is fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Quebec
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

For a winter getaway near Algonquin this place is excellent. It is not a 5 star resort but if you want reasonably priced, clean well equipped cabins with lots of outdoor activities and close proximity to Algonquin - this is the best winter accommodations in the area...and we've tried them all. Cabins have everything! Linens, dish soap, microwaves, fireplaces, larger cabins have dishwashers and some have jacuzzi tubs. The owners are very friendly and over the years have continually maintained and upgraded the cabins. The toboggan hill is a blast, the skating rink on the lake is very well maintained as are the cross-country ski trails. Highly recommended. Book early as cabins book up as much as a year in advance - especially the larger ones.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Blue Spruce in September while doing some day hikes in Algonquin. The owners are very friendly, the rooms are comfortable, and well equipped for eating in if you don;t want to find a restaurant after a long day.

You also get a great view of the sunset when sitting on the patio in front of the rooms.

Don't forget to ask about the reduced rate Algonquin passes if they still have them - its a good deal!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My parents, sister, nephew and I and I stayed Oct 5, 6 and 7 in a cabin. It was wonderful! Very clean, nice and quiet. All the ammenities we needed were there. The owners and staff are so friendly and accomodating. It is truly good value for your dollar. It is so close to the park. I loved it so much my husband and I went back two weeks later and stayed one night in a suite room. It was huge and had a full kitchen and a (clean) bbq! And what a view of the lake!! Awesome place and wonderful people. The only thing that surprised me was the pictures make it seem like the cottages are right on the water, they aren't you have to cross a farily quite road. There can be some hwy noise at night with trucks, but that is not the fault of the owners! We did like the fact that there are no pets allowed. The only thing I wasn't happy with was the pullout couch...it was pretty uncomfortable...but, maybe thats me, I just don't like them!

Room Tip: The cabins closet to the lake are best. The others are on the hwy side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Spruce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spruce Resort

Address: 4308 Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dwight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Blue Spruce Hotel Muskoka
Blue Spruce Resort Dwight, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Spruce Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.