We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal okay, atmosphere not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cookhouse Saloon

The Cookhouse Saloon
2881 Hwy #60, Dwight, Ontario, Canada
705-635-1709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7 restaurants in Dwight
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Hamburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Meal okay, atmosphere not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Meal okay, atmosphere not so much. It improved once some of the locals came in. The chandelier made out of empty beer bottles was probably the best feature.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    9
    13
    5
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WARNING: A fly in my food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Found a fly in my take away course. When I asked for a refund, I didn't get it. I highly recommend NOT to eat at this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Located in Dwight, friendly personal service & great food at reasonable prices after a game of golf on Big Win Island.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do Not Stop...Keep on Driving!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

After a long day of hiking in beautiful Algonquin Park, my wife and I decided to stop at the Cookhouse Saloon for some dinner. The decor was decent and the beer was refreshing but that's as good as things got. The server was incredibly unfriendly and the food was extremely poor. I almost always leave a decent tip but not this time!

This may be one of the first restaurant options after leaving Algonquin but do yourself a favour and keep driving!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So gross”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food was gross. I couldn't eat it, way too salty. I had the pulled pork sandwich, My son had a mini pizza, it was an undercooked Mccains frozen pizza which was soggy and gross. My husband sad the wings were good, which was the only nice thing I could say in this review. Table was sticky and smelly. The waiter got our order wrong. The one high chair we could find had broken safety straps, when I mentioned this to two different staff members, they couldn't have cared less. Maybe they will care when a kid falls out of it. AVOID this restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cookhouse Saloon also viewed

Dwight, Muskoka District
 
Dwight, Muskoka District
Dwight, Muskoka District
 

Been to The Cookhouse Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cookhouse Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.