We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Birches Cottage Resort

White Birches Cottage Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Birches Cottage Resort to your Saves list
White Birches Cottage Resort
1016 Oxtongue Lake Rd, R.R. #1, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Caledon, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Before venturing into Algonquin Park for the Thanksgiving weekend in October, we needed a place to spend the night before setting out. We've stayed in a number of places....and yes, it can be a bit expensive in the area. We took the studio for one night. It's above the office away from the lake. All this is clear when you look on the web site. The studio was newly renovated, very clean & comfortable. The kitchen had most of what we needed...oddly enough no stove, but there is a microwave & toaster oven. The bathroom is new. Comfy queen sized bed. Electric fireplace. Flat screen TV with satellite. I don't know how the cottages were set up...but this was pretty nice for just outside Algonquin Park! The staff was friendly & helpful. The grounds were well maintained & looked very family friendly. It was great value & a totally nice surprise! I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We ventured out to Algonqiin Park without any pre-planning. We decided at the last minute that instead of just doing the day pass we'd stay in the area for a couple nights.

We snatched the last vacancy at White Birches. The lady gave it to us for the fall rate of $125 per night. Plus $30 for our 3 dogs. We got Cottage 8, which we found to be well equiped, clean, cozy, and just what we'd hoped for. We loved the fact that we had our own deck, bbq, fire pit, and picnic table. There is a fireplace inside too. From the deck area we could see the lake although the cottage isn't advertised as a lakeview cottage.

The setting was very relaxing. The only downside was the fact that at times there was traffic noise audible from the nearby highway. The lake was beautiful. We loved swimming at the beach, and making use of the free paddleboats, kayaks, and canoes.

It was nice to be in the company of other people with dogs. At one point there were 9 or so pooches playing on the beach.

For familes there were other activities too such as a playground, horseshoes, and a rec hall with a tv and other games and activities.

Overall we loved our stay aand we will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is a family friendly resort with 11 cozy cottages. The lake is gorgeous, but the beach is on the small side. The couple taking care of the resort was friendly, helpful and easy going . There's a large playground, a rec building for kids to watch movies on a large flat screen TV. It was quiet, despite being close to the main road, but not very private.

We stayed 7 nights in cottage # 10. It was fairly spacious, but a little dusty/sandy, expecially the couch! The BBQ grill was broken and very dirty, otherwise it is a nice rustic place. We rented a small motor boat for 1/2 day for a reasonable $45 tax included . We also used the kayaks, canoes and paddle boats to venture on the peaceful Oxtongue lake. The kids would have loved a water trampoline in addition to the water slide!

Short drive to Algonquin park and Huntsville for plenty of activities and shopping. No billing problem, by paying in full at the time of booking we saved the taxes. Overall thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

WOW, what a great site. We stumbled on it searching for something else.

Anyway about White Birches Cottage Resort. We have stayed there for 15+ years. Was a great place to go as most of the same people went at the same time year after year. The families and kids "grew up" together and we and the kids looked forward to our week at the "Birches" each year.

Over the past couple years we got charged 2 times for our $300 deposit on our credit card. We called them and they said the bank did a double entry. They said we could have $300 refunded or just put it towards our bill in the summer, we said to put it towards our rent. We get another credit card statement and another $300 was taken. We called again and said the bank still has problems. We said to just put the $900 towards or bill.

While on our week up there talking with our vacation "families", we here that almost all of us were charged 2 or 3 times for our $300 deposit without them letting us know there was a problem with the bank. The some people were given excuses that the bank made mistakes or the new managers messed up. This happened to people who had both Visa and Mastercard.

This was not the first year this happened and one of the people had to go back home for the day while on their vacation and brought back his previous years credit card statements. He found that he was charged the $300 two times the previous year and White Birches did not let them know. So he was scammed for $300 and requested his money back. We wanted to speak to the owners while we were there but we would see them drive up but they never came to see us.

We don't think this is a very good way to run a business and did not return going there like most others. The main reason we started going there is they accept Pets. Now that we no longer have dogs we are staying elsewhere and no "bank problems" LOL.

If you have pets, Oxtongue Lake Cottages next door also takes pets and have never heard of any "bank problems" there. Like the other replies here, their prices are way too high for what you get. The other resorts in the area are have more reasonable rates and cottages in better condition. If you need to bring your pet, there are places in the area where your pet can stay whole you enjoy your vacation at Oxtongue.

I would advise anyone wanting to stay there, to pay your deposit by cheque and cash for the balance. They must be hurting for money as we have heard that this "bank problem" still continues. Please BEWARE.

Oxtongue Lake is a Fantastic area to vacation anytime of the year.

We will be up there soon.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny M, Owner at White Birches Cottage Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Please note that this property is now under new ownership----these issues will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Cottage number 4. The website says it's "Large" but it's very very tiny. No way it's worth $155 a night. It's just one room and a tiny bedroom no larger than the bed. It was clean and had a nice view. There was a pit bull that belonged to one of the guests running around off leash with no muzzle all weekend. In Ontario, Pit bulls must be muzzled and the rules say pets on leash. The owner saw the pitbull running around and did nothing. There were little kids there! They weren't full for the long weekend, I think because the price is too high for what you get. I'd really only go back if everyone else was full again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed in cottage #4 for 3 nights over the Thanksgiving weekend. Cottage #4 accomodates up to four people (though I don't recommend squeezing in more than just 2). We had a nice view of Oxtongue Lake and free use of the canoes and kayaks. The resort is about a 20min drive to Algonquin Park's West Gate. We had some hot water problems, but the staff were helpful and tended to the problem immediately. I'd definitely recommend bringing your own firewood as it's sold for a hefty $8/bag. We had a nice, relaxing long weekend, but I can't say with certainty that it was worth the $155/night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuskokaBogart, Owner at White Birches Cottage Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
The cottage #4 is really meant for a couple.
As well as a Queen size bed, there is a pullout bed chesterfield in the living area. It is usually used by a child or third adult if suitable.
The $155.00 rate was for a long weekend. The usual rate is $125.00-$135.00 per night.
We have larger two bedroom cottages but that was the only cottage left available at the time. We ourselves prefer to have the suitable # of people in the suitable cottage.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Birches Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Birches Cottage Resort

Address: 1016 Oxtongue Lake Rd, R.R. #1, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dwight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a housekeeping cottage resort located on beautiful Oxtongue Lake, just 10 minutes from Algonquin Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Birches Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Birches Cottage Resort Dwight, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Birches Cottage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.