We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montriond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brown Bear Lodge
Save
You added Brown Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Sous La Ranche, 74110 Montriond, Morzine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Fantastic"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at Brown Bear (and our third with Reach4theAlps). As always everything was perfect! From our arrival at Geneva Airport through to our departure we were looked after by a great team of staff. Our chalet hosts, Tom and Clare where perfect hosts and the food was terrific. And Ian, the ski guide, made it possible for us to ski on the best snow on the mountain. All in all it was a perfect holiday and when visiting the Morzine area we will always stay with Reach4theAlps.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I have just been and stayed for a week in the brown bear lodge with 11 other friends and another couple and we had the best time. The staff were great, very friendly, personable and efficient. We ate really well and the food was to a very high standard. We had a great day out with Ian our guide who also ran us up to the slopes every day and collected us, nothing was too much trouble we were made to feel very welcome and very spoilt. I can't recommend this place highly enough. The chalet was very clean and the rooms and ensuites were cleaned everyday. The facilities are great too. Hot tub was perfect after a day up the mountain and the sauna gets really hot.
Thanks Clare. Tom and Ian holpe we didn't drink all the red wine.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We have just come home after spending a week at the Brown Bear Lodge, with another 6 couples. From the airport pickup in Geneva, to the return journey to the airport the following week, we were looked after exceptionally well.
The Lodge was large and very comfortable. The living area is very well set out for large groups, with plenty of sitting space both at the dinning room table, and in the comfortable sofas and chairs set around the large open fire.
All the meals were absolutly delicious and very plentiful - serious diets are now required!
Our team, Tom, Claire and Ian, made sure we were completely at home at all times, nothing was too much trouble - I was a little dubious about the location as we have normally gone for ski in, ski out locations, but we were wisked to the slopes each morning in time for the first lift up, and only had to make a quick phone call to ensure we were picked up from which ever lift we were going to arrive back at - no trudging around carrying skis etc.
The Brown Bear Lodge is without doubt the nicest chalet we have stayed in, and the food and service we recieved was second to none. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingha,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Myself and my husband visited the brown bear in March 2010 then again for the second time in January 2011. I can honestly say both holidays were fantastic, the best ski holidays we have ever had. From the minute you arrive to when you leave you are looked after. The food is great both breakfast and dinner not forgetting the afternoon coffee and cake when you arrive back at the chalet. There's a great hot tub in the garden that is just waiting for you to jump into on your return from a hard days skiing.
The rooms are of a high standard and are cleaned daily, the sitting room is great for getting to know the other guests over a glass or two before and after dinner. It is about a twenty minute walk into Morzine, may put some people off but we were glad to streach my legs now and again.
Would not hesitate to recommend Reach 4 the Alps they do a fantastic job.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

16 of us stayed in Brown Bear Lodge in January 2011 and had a fantastic time! The accommodation at Brown Bear is really lovely - the rooms are spacious and cleaned daily and the communal area on the second floor has a really lovely feel to it, with plenty enough room for 16 adults to sit and relax around the fire at the end of the day.

Coming home to a roaring fire and delicious cake and hot drinks after a day on the slopes was perfect, and then it was a race to the Hot Tub! Dinner is served at 8 o'clock each evening, with canapés just before, and everyone commented on how great the food was.

The staff were brilliant, and always very patient with us. Transfers to and from the slopes each day make getting to each of the resorts completely hassle free, and it was never a problem to pick us up a little later if we wanted to hang around for the apres ski. Having said that though, I think this was the first chalet holiday I have been on where the group were coming off the slopes early and heading straight back to the Chalet - that in itself is testament to how lovely the Chalet is, it was difficult to get people to leave! A real home away from home (they even have UK TV!)

I marked the location down just slightly as the Chalet is a bit of a walk from the main town centre (about 20mins) but there are a couple of pubs/restaurants just around the corner (although they are not very lively). However, taxi's to and from the town centre are relatively cheap.

Huge thanks to everyone at Reach4 the Alps for a fantastic holiday. Ian, Clare and Tom were great, and despite the pretty awful snowboarding conditions we all had a really great time and are already planning our return next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is probably one of the best Chalet holidays I have had in years. The rooms are large and comfortable, the lounge ample and comfortable, the food the best I have ever had in a Chalet and we were looked after superbly. the hot tub is great aswell!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

This was our third stay in a row at Brown Bear Lodge and about our 8th time booking through www.reach4thealps.com, which says it all really. The chalet is top class - very clean, comfortable with a real log fire and cosy communal area. The breakfasts are delicious, as are the afternoon homemade cakes (lemon drizzle cake's my favourite) and the three course dinners (including complimentary wine) are of an excellent standard so this is a great choice for foodies. The hot tub is a great way to wind down after a hard day's skiing. The chalet hosts, Tom and Clare, were brilliant, as was our ski host, Ian which really makes the holiday. We would highly recommend Brown Bear Lodge or any of the other reach4thealps chalets in Morzine, Montriond and Les Gets, to anyone thinking of going skiing this year.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brown Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Bear Lodge

Address: Sous La Ranche, 74110 Montriond, Morzine, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Montriond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Montriond
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chalet sleeps up to 18 guests in 7 rooms. All rooms have en suite facilities and each bath or shower room is individual and tastefully modern. The four bedrooms on the top floor are exceptionally spacious and each has a balcony with stunning views. Brown Bear Lodge has a sauna, games room & outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.