We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay at maliba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maliba Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maliba Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Maliba Mountain Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tongaat
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wonderful stay at maliba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

we spent three inc nights at maliba.the food was good, the staff friendly and the accomodation excellent. the views are breath taking and if you love the peace and quiet the sound of the river rushing by will lull you to sleep.even thought the river lodge is 3 star it felt lyk 4 star with all the neccessary amenities. the main lodge is under construction and we look forward to visiting as soon as it is finished. hopefully the lodge will advertise another deal then.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    51
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
172
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you are a discerning traveller and visiting the mountain kingdom of Lesotho this is where you need to stay. The views from the lodge, the attentiveness of the staff, the amazing food and the truly wonderful rooms makes Maliba one of the jewles of Africa! A stay here is truly an incredible experiance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lephalale, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a great time, the weather made it very enchanting; our room was decent (there were better, more expensive rooms) but it wasn't the most reasonable place I've stayed. If money is no option - this is a great choice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The rondavels were amazing - well equipped and with wonderful views. The lodge is in the process of being re-built following a fire and the facilities on offer are very poor. There is no bar and meals are eaten either on an extremely hot terrace with no shade / umbrellas or a makeshift tent which are in effect a building site. the area is noisy and dirty. The staff are poorly trained and have limited understanding of English (eg. they had no idea what toast was!) There was a very limited menu on offer for dinner and no menu provided for breakfast. Overall we were not offered a 5 star experience but were charged 5 star rates for our stay. I would not recommend this venue until the renovations are completed and I think it is very poor that no concession is offered for these very limited facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalibaFox, Owner at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Hilary

Thank you for your comment.
Our apologies that we could not meet your standards.
Unfortunately, the main reception area was damaged in a fire and we are trying to rebuild and rectify as quickly as possible. We have been totally transparent about our situation and facilities of which you were alerted of before visiting.
Guests have been, and are currently being charged a discounted rate. (As were your extras made complimentary at the lodge).
It is disappointing to see your comment on our staff. We do value training and often employ hospitality interns from Lesotho to further opportunities and experience. In the past, all staff have always been highly praised for outstanding service.

Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to have your return for a better experience.

Kind Regards
Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I had such a lovely time ion Maliba, we like to travel and I must say ,Maliba has topped all the places we've been to.... by miles.! I still can't stop raving about the food., the chefs really outdid themselves. This place is peaceful, romantic and really, beautiful. The servise is outstanding. Big up to the Maliba team, they created our own heaven on earth for us. Truelly breathtaking...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wonderful room, fantastic food, awesome location - our only regret is that we only stayed for one night. The staff coped exceptionally well with construction all around them. Will definitely be back (and this time for longer)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The lodge was set in a beautiful valley and the room was very big and nice, but it needed some maintenance, some fitting were broken. Food was excellent and everyone did their best for us to enjoy our stay, as the main lodge was totally destroyed by fire in July (now busy rebuilding).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maliba Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.