We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maliba Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maliba Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Maliba Mountain Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho   |  
Hotel amenities
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our holiday got off to an amazing start when we were upgraded from a rondavel to one of the self catering chalets. The rondavels looked nice but the chalets (think house rather than chalet) were stunning and the kitchens were the best equipped I've ever seen for self catering accommodation, although take all food with you if self catering as there is nothing available nearby.
We ate all meals in the restaurant as breakfast and supper were included in our package and we paid extra for lunch. Every meal was delicious and the kids' options were actually real food rather than 'nuggets & chips'.
We did a fantastic hike through the National Park which was just breathtaking and easy to find.
My children were too young for any of the pony riding trips, but (without me even asking for it) the staff arranged for 2 horses to be brought down and my children were led on a 20 min walk up the hill. We were charged nothing for this. This is an example of the way the staff treated us at all times, they were attentive, polite and went out of their way to help in any way they could. And that was every member of staff; cleaners, security, reception, bar staff, just everyone.
We also couldn't believe our bill at the end. I thought we'd got a total bargain package and assumed we'd be stung for drinks and extras, but it was very, very reasonable.
Really can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    46
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
44
159
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff at Maliba are extremely friendly, from the Pony guides to the cleaning staff.

The site is very private and luxurious. The massages were very relaxing!

The trail hikes were well laid out and beautiful

We went in summer, it must be amazing in winter with snow forming on the near vertical wall of mountain outside the main Rondavel

And the rooms are insane fusion of modern and traditional Sotho huts with underfloor heating and huge four poster bed.

Was great :)

Room Tip: Mountain rooms the best River lodge rooms small but cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a beautiful location and a great place to get away and relax. The staff go the extra mile so the service is very good. The rooms are excellent but the lighting could be better. My only complaint was that for a five star place the food was not very good and a bit like eating hospital food so the chef needs changing. I will probably go back as the hiking is excellent and we really had fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A huge thank you to everyone.

I think I should write a dreadful review and then be able to keep the Maliba secret safe.

But....

Maliba, so special.

Great welcome, super food, fantastic accommodation, outstanding location.

From the moment we arrived until the time we left nothing was too much trouble. Smiling faces, helpfulness and kindness.

Pleas stay just as you are , hopefully we shall return.

An enormous thank you with our love

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Maliba Mountain Lodge for one night only - but it was a remarkable experience. With only 5 Guest-Bungalows it has a very private character, staff is very friendly. The bungalows are fantastic! Beautifully furnished with all modern cons. We loved to stay longer, but we did´nt have the time to spend some more time there. I recomend to do a horse ride through the gordge, it is an exiting experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently visited Maliba Mountain Lodge to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The setting is out of this world, the staff friendly and making you feel special in every possible way, the food delicious. No 5-star hotel in SA would have matched this experience. It was just lovely! P&C

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms and 1 honeymoon suite. We were in room 2 and just loved it. The higher the no of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to Maliba lodge on my birthday, we have never been to Lesotho and decided to stay over a night en route to Durban.

First time I found Maliba on the internet I thought it was a bit pricey for us fellow Africans, but in the end we decided to spend a little bit more and stay in a place that might not turn out dodgy.

The location was breath-taking with the majestic Maluti Mountains all around you! We wanted to go hiking to the big waterfall but unfortunately decided not to because it seemed like the weather might turn a bit nasty. We opted for the cheaper riverside huts that included dinner and breakfast.

The staff are super friendly and always willing to help, we felt welcome and pampered the moment we set foot on the premises.

The hut has no electricity so I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay if you are use to certain comforts but beautifully furnished and decorated. The food was excellent! The bar prices are surprisingly affordable for a 5 star lodge!

They gave us the hut closest to the natural rock pool and after unpacking we immediately strolled down for a swim in the crystal clear (albeit cold) water.

The only complaint I have is that we couldn't get the gas geyser for the shower to work and that nobody explained to us how to use it beforehand ( not sure if it was broken or if we were just a bit stupid).

Overall a fantastic stay -we ended getting engaged - and we will definitely go back for more one day!!!

Room Tip: They have everything, from cheaper riverside huts to luxury 5 star chalets. If you're not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maliba Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.