We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zululand Backpackers

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zululand Backpackers to your Saves list
Zululand Backpackers
36 Main St, Eshowe 3815, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alternative stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The rooms and bathroom is clean. The staff is friendly and fun. I wanted to go for discovering more about Zulu but that did not happen, because the drinking and smoking was an activity during 24 h. Fun, but little too much. It depends what you are looking for. But my guide was not really interested in guiding but more in drinking. As I did not have a car I was stuck in the place and there is not much to see by walking distance. So instead of visiting or learning about zulu traditions I saw more landscape with the staff people always while drinking or smoking.. So you can decide if that is what you are looking for.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great jungle feel and excellent guide! Clean rooms and bathrooms. The adjoined George Hotel has a restaurant, cafe, and bar if you don't feel like going out or cooking. If you like microbrews, try the local Zulu Blonde, its a goodie. Staff are very friendly -- recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I chose to stay at this establishment one of the few places that offered tours of rural South Africa that were affordable for a solo traveller. I bought a package that was all inclusive and reasonably priced at about $300. had never stayed in a hostel before so I was not sure what to expect. I did get my own room, since the place was not full. It was very basic but clean and well organized. The washrooms, which were on the other end of the courtyard were clean as well. The hostel had a kitchen and a bar as well as access to a pool.The tours were great, I visited a healing ceremony, visited the aerial boardwalk, saw an african dance competition, visited a school and an orphanage, attended a church service and visited a nearby fort (btw, if you do go to fort make sure to visit the gift shop...the things there around 1/3 the price they were in Cape Town and appeared to be of better quality). The tour guides were friendly and competent and the driver, Pilani, was safe and responsable. The food in the attached restaurant was OK...the lunches and dinners were good but the hot breakfast items were waaay to greasy for me. All in all, I have no serious complaints about this hostel. The BazBus drops you off right at the hotel.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

If you like beer and are in this area you have to stop by. They have a mico brewery and the beer is fantastic. I asked for a dorm room and got a private room for the same price just because they weren't full. There are two bars the one up frount at the main hotel and the one in back for the backpackers. Monkeys run around making a fun durning the day and the meals that are made are wonderful. They are getting an overhull do I don't even know what knew great things have been added since I was there. It is a fun time with great people. I ended up staying and extra few days because of it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zululand Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zululand Backpackers

Address: 36 Main St, Eshowe 3815, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Eshowe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Eshowe
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Zululand Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zululand Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.