We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved staying here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parkside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parkside to your Saves list
Hotel Parkside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bachhauli-6, Hattisar, Sauraha, Chitwan, Nepal | Chitwan, Sauraha, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sauraha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“loved staying here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The room was clean and spacious. The garden outside my window was nice. The upstairs eating area was pleasant and you can watch the elephants as they pass by on the road below. The staff was helpful and friendly. When we took our nature walk they pointed out animals and birds I would have missed. They were professional and well organized. I would definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    77
    5
    10
    2
See reviews for
44
107
47
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

In my opinion, Hotel Parkside has to be one of the best places to stay when visiting Chitwan. Clean, friendly, comfortable, good value in a quiet beautiful garden setting, within easy walking distance of the park entrance. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here, made all the more enjoyable by the expert guiding services and friendship supplied by Gopal. On our jeep safari, we seemed to find more wildlife than any other jeep we came across. Breakfast and dinner in the upstairs restaurant, watching working elephants go by were a great way to start and end the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Hotel Parkside and our experience was one to remember offering comfort, kindness and simplicity – a natural and unique experience in Chitwan National park. We enjoyed the location of the hotel, as it was close enough to other activities / small shops but not overly surrounded by other hotels such as those in the very centre of Sahura. Our jungle activities arranged by Hotel Parkside were well organised. Gopal our guide was very knowledgeable about the Jungle and National Park and he was very friendly, always eager to please, as was all the other staff in the hotel. Food and service within the hotel was good, especially the traditional Nepali Dhal Bhat. Rooms were comfortable. Wifi within the hotel was a bonus. Clean towels and a small soap are provided however a recommendation that I would give would be to offer a small bath mat in the bathrooms and a small shower gel. The hotel gardens are very nice to relax in, in between activities. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at Hotel Parkside, which I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Namaste Parkside Hotel,

From time to time I remember with great pleasure the Sauraha Chitwan jungle province of Nepal.
I look at pictures taken at Hotel Parkside and now after several months, I find that the hotel has increased capacity, clean and welcoming several new rooms were added to the hotel.
I chat with Gopal when we have time each of us, the guide of those wonderful places and it makes me feel to want to come back and stay longer in places of natural jungle Chitwan...
So,,,Thank You all ,,,,to Mr Hom Bahadur also, and for all who make possible an amaizing staying there....

GOD BLESS YOU!!!!!

Room Tip: Hotel it is placed right near Jungle.....Awesome that for me!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have been to Parkside Hotel 3 times in one year. Our friends brought us here our first time. Then we had many visitors and brought all of our friends on the other 2 occasions. I have also referred other friends to go here and everyone has thanked me for pointing them to the right place. The prices are a great value and they arrange everything for you. One of the best things about Hotel Parkside is the guide Gopal! Also, they have 2 elephants on the property that you can visit in the evenings. The hotels in the area aren't the nicest but Hotel Parkside is better than most. They also have new rooms about 5 months old that are really nice. If traveling by bus to Chitwan don't eat the food at the rest stops. Wait till you get to the hotel because many people get sick at the rest stop food. I can without reservation recommend this place not only will you see amazing wildlife but the people at Hotel Parkside will make it so special. On our hikes I observed other guides with their groups and the experience didn't come close to what Hotel Parkside delivered! If you want to have the best trip to Chitwan National Park see Gopal at Hotel Parkside!

Room Tip: There is a new section that has brand new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We booked 2 nights at Hotel Parkside and when we arrived we really thought we had made a big mistake. From the outside the place looks extremely simple and frugal. But that is exactly what makes this place so charming.
It's a typical jungle lodge but with basic facilities.
Our room 502 had 1 queen sized bed and 1 single bed. Since we were travelling with a child we asked for a double bed but were told that none of their rooms had double beds which I found really odd.
The rooms are extremely clean although you may find an occasional bug/ mosquito but that's expected in a jungle. Our windows opened to lush green corn fields and we also saw an elephant trotting in the fields.
The bathroom although very clean lacked all basic amenities. All that waa provided were 2 small slivers of soap, 2 rolls of toilet rolls and 2 towels. No bath gel, shampoo or any dental amenities. There wasn't a hot kettle in the room for tea/ coffee. I wish the management paid a little attention to this.
We had also arranged our jungle activities through the hotel and had a pleasant experience.
Our guide Harvendra was extremely polite and knowledgeable but I felt he answered what we questioned.
Nevertheless we enjoyed all the activities; elephant ride, elephant bath, jeep safari, bird watching, canoeing etc.
The wake up call at 6am may deject you a bit if you're looking to sleep in but rest assured the jungle is best explored early morning.
The management is run by 3 brothers; all of them very helpful and friendly especially Mr. Kush.
The food is prepared as per your preference and for the 3 days we stayed there we had lovely indian lunch and dinner, tasty parathas and puri bhaji for breakfast.
When we had had enough of indian, they also made us pasta and french fries. For breakfast too we had pancakes.
Overall a wonderful stay with wonderful service.
Will definitely come back.
Thank you to everyone at Hotel Parkside for a memorable stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Following Gopal, we observed Rhino, wild elephant and of course monkey and deer in Jungle Hiking in Royal Chitwan National Park. He is a learned man and yes, a living encyclopedia of this national park. He is kind of a part of the park. When we went canoeing, all along the river bank, there are birds and birds, Mr. Gopal introduced them to us one by one in a very humorous way.
And the hotel offers delicious meals and dishes change every day, all authentic nepali food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parkside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parkside

Address: Bachhauli-6, Hattisar, Sauraha, Chitwan, Nepal | Chitwan, Sauraha, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parkside 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parkside in Sauraha, Chitwan is situated in the lush Chitwan National Park 5 minutes walk from the riverside, where you can see the endanger wildlife. It is a family run business which offers you a home from home, with the best local food and service you can get in the area and a community feeling you will not experience anywhere else in the world. For those who are really adventurous you can go one step further and have dinner with a local family eating real Nepalese Dal Baht (rice and vegetables) the Nepalese way! Hotel Parkside has done sponsorship for children’s education, women empowerment for the providing the training for sewing machine, vocational education as well as working Elephant Dung Paper for environment controlling pollution in community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Parkside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parkside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.