We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parkside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parkside to your Saves list
Hotel Parkside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bachhauli-6, Hattisar, Sauraha, Chitwan, Nepal | Chitwan, Sauraha, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sauraha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Best place we've stayed in Nepal.
The hotel facilities are very nice. The restaurant offers good food.
The staff are very helpful and accommodating. They really take the time & effort to make sure your stay & adventure in Chitwan is everything is can be. Sri, the hotel manager & owner, is always around & checking that you have everything you need. When we were there with my husband, there were big groups of 26 people and the manager really looked after us making sure we were also happy. This was our last stop after trekking and sightseeing and we will always remember the hospitality of this place.

We would like to thank the staff and Sri for their great service!
We would definitely recommend Hotel Parkside to our friends and are planning on going back again.

Room Tip: Nice rooms on the back of the hotel, behind the little park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    77
    5
    10
    2
See reviews for
44
107
47
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had two nights and 3 days at the Hotel Parkside. I have to agree about the previous positive reviews. The owner and his beautiful family are extremely welcoming. In addition, the entire staff offered excellent service. I chose the package which included the elephant safari, canoe ride, jungle walk etc. I am not a tour person and this didn't feel like that, it was relaxed and enjoyable. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are modern and the bed was very comfortable. The only thing that could be improved is that sheets, while clean, seem a bit old and worn. To me, this is a very small thing that would not keep me from returning. The food was also tasty. I want to say how wonderful Gopal is, as he seems to love his job as a guide. He made the experience of seeing the wildlife of Chitwan so much more interesting because of his deep understanding of the natural habitat.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was my first time visiting Chitwan and staying at Hotel Parkside, and I had an amazing time.
The manager, Shiri, was very hospitable and all of his staff I encountered were very accommodating and friendly as well. The food was delicious, and the rooms were very comfortable and affordable.
My favorite part(s) of the the stay was going on the Elephant Walk, and the Jungle Walk with Gopal. I was amazed at his keen eyesight when detecting the various birds/animals that took a while for the rest of us to see. He has a great passion for his job and it really shows in the way he interacts with the guests and the knowledge he has of the wildlife in the park. Gopal was also accommodating in allowing those, who were too tired to continue the walk, to be able to go back to the hotel. For those who wanted to continue, Gopal was very enthusiastic about continuing and it made for a very exciting Jungle Walk.
I look forward to coming back in the near future and will be recommending any of my friends, who visit Nepal, to come to Hotel Parkside and have the same wonderful experience I did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We visited with our daughter and family (2 young children). Arrangements had been made through Agoda, but somehow Agoda didn't complete the reservation. That part wasn't fun, but the owner/manager was very accomadating, and even though he also had several large groups there, made arrangements for the 2 rooms we needed. We couldn't have asked for better treatment. The staff were ALL very pleasant and personable and always wanting to make sure our stay was enjoyable. Many of the staff spoke at least some English and some were quite fluent which made it easy for us to make arrangements for tours, etc. Shree (owner/mgr) really bent over backwards to make our stay a most pleasant one and Gopal was a very experienced and extremely helpful guide. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The manager went out of his way to make our trip special. His staff were very accommodating for our group needs and we loved his culture night activities. You have to take the elephant bath and trip down the river in the canoes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
besthotelinchitwan, Owner at Hotel Parkside, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for giving some time write reviews which helps us to know, that are our Guest are happy or not. It helps other guest to choose the best place.
we are family run hotel, we are trying our best to give traditional service, where you can feel, you are not only guest here, but also part of our social contributior.

wish you all the best and hope to see you again.
Hotel Parkside
Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights mid October through our booking with socialtours. They were still able to accommodate us despite our reservation just a day before going there. Our plans went up in smoke when we had to take the plane from Lhasa to Kathmandu instead of the road trip because of the unexpected snowstorm.

Our first night, we were given room 301 we extra beds. 5 of us managed to sleep well enough. On the second night, we were at last given a second room for a more comfy stay. The room design is quite quaint. It's a relaxed atmosphere. Bed is comfy. Cleanliness was ok except for the second room. The bathroom was infested with spiders but the good thing was, the staff acted promptly and cleaned everything up right quick.

The food was excellent! Vegetarian dishes for lunch is the usual. Dinner is a mix of local and international cuisine. Breakfast was simple with fruits, eggs and jams. The yogurt was delicious as well as everything else. We stuffed ourselves silly in between the set activities.

The hotel arranged all the activities and were they fun. We arrived in the afternoon of our first day, went for a river walk in the late afternoon and relaxed by the river with the sunset over the jungle as our view. After dinner, we went to the local cultural show. The second day was the highlight with an elephant ride through the jungle in the early morning and elephant bathing during mid morning. After lunch, we went for a jungle walk and got lucky enough to spot a rhino! Then we proceeded to the elephant breeding center and just relaxed after dinner. Third day was set for a boat ride in the early morning and we left the hotel after breakfast.

Loved the experience and would recommend it to those who want to at least catch a glimpse of the wildlife there.

Room Tip: Room 301 has a spacious balcony. Good spot if you have to do laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel parkside is definitely the place to be! The staff go out of their way to ensure your stay is enjoyable! Whilst staying there, I did many activities including a canoe trip, a safari drive, bathing with the elephants and experiencing the boarding schools and orphanages near by. I highly recommend attending this hotel and If I ever go to chitwan again, I won't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
besthotelinchitwan, Owner at Hotel Parkside, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you Jayden, for your positive review.
We will love to serve you again.
we want to make all our clients happy. some time its hard.


Best Regard
Parkside Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parkside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parkside

Address: Bachhauli-6, Hattisar, Sauraha, Chitwan, Nepal | Chitwan, Sauraha, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parkside 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parkside in Sauraha, Chitwan is situated in the lush Chitwan National Park 5 minutes walk from the riverside, where you can see the endanger wildlife. It is a family run business which offers you a home from home, with the best local food and service you can get in the area and a community feeling you will not experience anywhere else in the world. For those who are really adventurous you can go one step further and have dinner with a local family eating real Nepalese Dal Baht (rice and vegetables) the Nepalese way! Hotel Parkside has done sponsorship for children’s education, women empowerment for the providing the training for sewing machine, vocational education as well as working Elephant Dung Paper for environment controlling pollution in community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Parkside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parkside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.