We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exclusive retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rainforest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rainforest to your Saves list
Hotel Rainforest
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hatti Chowk, Sauraha, Nepal   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Discount up to 25%
Ranked #5 of 25 Sauraha B&B and Inns
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“exclusive retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We must have stayed at this hotel at the least busiest of times because it felt like we had it all to ourselves! Our stay in Chitwan was short but we had a lovely time just relaxing in the garden and enjoying our meals. Rooms are clean and akin to summer cabins. Please bear in mind that this is still somewhat "the wilderness" so there are a lot of insect/small animal noises in the evening -- bring earplugs if you're not a sound sleeper. Our naturalist Krishna was friendly and gave us a lot of information about the animals in and around Chitwan. Unfortunately we were unable to do any on-foot trekking or exploring because one of our friends in the group had mobility issues. Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I would consider the resort as an average one with some friendly restaurant staff, always service with a smile. The food we eat at every meal is different and it taste good, and we were there for 3 nights and 2 days in Jan 2013.The resort has a nice garden leading to the guests' rooms and at different blocks. The jungle track, bird watching and all other actvities are conducted by the hotel staff , the only drawback is that, there is this young guy (staff) by the name of Krishnan or Krishna who was bringing us around, he was at times rude, shouting at us unnessarily to keep quiet during the jungle walk, from what we observed, he was more interested in bird watching himself than to do the jungle walk with us as he was always far ahead of us leaving us far behind. My group was annoyed with his behaviour, he was the only reason for our unhappiness in Chitwan otherwise all was well with the hotel and their restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordes-sur-Ciel, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

arrived at this hotel after a horrowing 6 hour drive from pokhara, 1500 hrs no one on reception if that is what you could call a scruffy room.eventually taken to a 1st floor room with a padlock on the door because for one it would not shut properly. a/c not working because no power in spite of backup generators room baking hot and bathroom in need of a clean. at that point went out and changed my return to KMD to the next afternon, wandered around saw in the kitchen a kid polishing plates with an old teeshirt. evening meal just about edible but only just, night pretty awful mainly due to the buffalo wallow just below the back window. nuff said i wont be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed at Rainforest Hotel on various occasions. To be more precise 3 times weekend trips. It was absolutely fabulous and me and volunteers we took there had a fantastic time there. The service is excellent and staff so friendly and more than helpful. Rooms are clean and some of them brand new. All rooms have AC which is not really common thing in the park. All jungle activitie are well organised and hotel staff assist you at all times while doing activities. Food was one of the best I've ever had in Nepal. Tasty, and different every day. I am sure I will be back there one day.
Thank you very much to all of you at Rainforest!!!!

Room Tip: When you enter the hotel's permises ask for rooms at the back of the yard. What I mean ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

When you get to Chitwan you'll notice tons and tons of resorts, most in fierce competition with each other for the trickle of tourists coming in. We decided to splurge on this part of our journey and with most resorts offering pretty much the same room for NPR 1000, we decided to break the bank and pay NPR 2000 for a "deluxe" room at Hotel Rainforest. Big mistake. We were given a room with an air-conditioner but without electricity for half the day (oh the irony). When I spoke to the manager while checking out, he went far enough to call me a liar when I mentioned that we hadn't had electricity the entire night. Without electricity, we were forced to open the doors and windows and were chewed alive by mosquitoes.

Other than the electricity issue, the room rate inexcusably high and most of the other places charge lesser than this place (and they've got power generators that work).

Lesson learnt - stick with recommendations from the Lonely Planet. If they don't make it to LP, it's for a reason.

Room Tip: Do not pick the deluxe rooms whatever you do. Its twice as expensive for the same facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Mr. Deepak Koirala of Glance Himalaya Tours has booked us this excellent place to stay at Chitwan. Spacious rooms, good garden and excellent food made our stay a pleasant experience.. They have a very good naturalist Mr. Budha who will guide you thro the forests and take you for an early morning bird watching expedition, We saw deers, monkeys, crocodiles, many varieties of birds and Rhino.

Room Tip: First floor room facing the garden is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Hotel Rainforest is about 5-minutes walk from the town centre, but it's far enough for one to enjoy the serenity of the environment (not that the area is busy anyway). It is also close to nearby attractions such as the elephant safari, Chitwan National Park, and garhwali crocodile nursery.

The hotel has a spacious and nicely decorated garden, and we were invited to join a game of cricket on the grass.

The rooms we stayed in were clean and tidy, and requested amenities were provided affably - the staff always (not often, but always!) go out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. All the staff speaks fluent English and are very friendly.

The hotel manager, Prakash, was helpful throughout our stay and sincerely accommodated all our needs and requests. Throughout our two-nights' stay, he and his restaurant offered us great local food while also considering our dietary preferences.

All the people we met were sincere and friendly, and never hesitated to help. The people made our stay very memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rainforest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rainforest

Address: Hatti Chowk, Sauraha, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rainforest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rainforest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rainforest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.