We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Desert Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“High Desert Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Spent a week at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. Beautiful, well-cared for resort where the staff uniformly go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and pampered. Located between Albuquerque and Santa Fe, makes a good home base for exploring central New Mexico (which itself is an amazingly beautiful and surprising place), although the resort has enough amenties so that one never has to leave. Took a hot air balloon ride (brace yourself for the hard landing into cactus and sagebrush), rode horses in the Rio Grande, and attended a private rodeo - all on the hotel grounds. Wish we could have stayed longer. This is the kind of place you will recommend to good friends.

  • Liked — Beautiful facilities, welcoming staff
  • Disliked — Spotty internet access
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    179
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
176
201
24
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

You can not possibly be disappointed with this resort. Very beautiful. If you are looking for inexpensive food and services then DO NOT stay in a Resort. If you want to golf or go to the Casino you can take their shuttle. If you want to sight see or eat somewhere other than the resort you will need a rental car. Things are not that far just to far to walk. We found plenty to do and see in Albuquerque about 25 minutes away (Old Town & Sandia's Peak) Sante Fe is about 45 mins to one hour North. The facilities are very nice and clean and the room very comfortable. The staff are eager to please. I was concerned with the reviews of theft but just use common sense. There is a safe in the closet in your room, use it. We would love to visit this resort again some day.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Expense of food and spa
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

The hyatt regency tamaya is a very good hotel.

We stayed for 4 nights in August. We had one pool view room and two mountain view rooms. All the rooms were spacious comfortable and pleasantly furnished, but the mountain view side is really quiet and relaxing and worth the extra cost.

. The facilities are good; 3 pools,one with water slide and plenty of play equipment for children,table tennis,bicycles.stables, hot air ballooning etc. The grounds were well kept and the views beautiful. But the main difference with many hotels are the staff. They are universally pleasant , smiling, and eager to help.

The possible disadvantages are that it is a long way out of Albuqueque in the not very pleasant suburb of Bernalillo.It is cleverly hidden in a small valley in the countryside and the entry road is quite tortuous. The facilities can get crowded at week ends. And, being in the country, rattlers can come and drink at the swimming pools!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Held an 80th Birthday Party for my parents at the Hyatt Tamaya. Had 20+ relatives from all over the US.

The resort is large, but fits in perfectly with the setting. Yes, it is about 30 minutes from the Airport and not within Alb itself. But there are restaurants and attractions nearby, should you wish to explore, and you can always make a day trips to Sante Fe, Taos, etc.

The rooms are average sized, but well appointed. Ours had a view of the mountains to the east and a nice covered patio to enjoy said view. One evening, we were treated to a spectacular light show thanks to a thunderstorm in the mountains.

The resort has three pools. We frequented the middle "active" pool which has a 3 story tall waterslide. The kids could not get enough of this, and many adults enoyed it as well. We sampled all the restaurants while there, and found the food to be unique, fresh, and well prepared. I loved the chili strips served at the pool. Also, the gift shop has wonderful breakfast burittos that are great for a quick, inexpensive breakfast.

As I said, we were there for a party. The night of the party, we discovered a glitch. We have intended to change the party from Saturday to Friday, but through a series of misscommunications, this change did not get made. I panicked as the guests started to arrive, and sent them into the bar for drinks. To their credit, the hotel began to take immediate actions to remedy the situation. They set us up in the bar, comped our drinks, and managed to find us a private room in the Corn Maiden Restaurant. The meal and service were wonderful. They earned high marks in my book for responding to this situation so quickly and smoothly. Our party went off without any further glitches, and everyone had a wonderful time and hardly even noticed that there was an issue.

Twin Warriors GC is challenging and well manicured. While pricey by New Mexico standards, it was worth it in my book. Nearby Santa Anna GC is a bit busier and not as scenic, but also a fun course.

At the hotel, we also enjoyed the use of the complementary bikes to explore the system of hike/bike trails.

We found the staff to be genuinely (as oppossed to fake) friendly, greeting us by name and offering directions and assistance whenever asked.

Definetly will return!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

My husband was here previously on a business trip and knew that I would absolutely love it. I booked it for a birthday weekend get-away and was not disappointed. The place is well-kept, beautiful and the staff was ready to serve our every need (we spoiled ourselves). We are definitely coming back!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

we were a group of 15 - ages 2, 3, 9, 10, 17, 19 and the rest adults.

Kids loved movies, pool, archery, bread baking, storytelling, backgammon in the lobby, golf, tennis and trips to santa fe, bernallillo, and huge bowling alley at the casino about a mile away (on a different floor from gambling).

Golf course is terrific, principal restaurant is outstanding. Breakfast restaurant is also good - with new mexico cuisine as well as standard fare

Resort is located on a pueblo indian reservation (the pueblo is closed to the public, however). Local pueblo indians worked at the resort, told stories, taught archery and bread baking, and loved to tell about life on the pueblo and how they are integrated into modern life while retaining their traditions.

Only negative is that rooms and in-room ameneties are standard hyatt issue and resort is much nicer than that. Santa Fe is 45 minutes away - older teens and adults enjoyed exploring Santa Fe which is a major art center.

We had a great experience and would definitely return.

  • Liked — service and all the activities
  • Disliked — location is a bit remote, rooms only fair
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

My family just returned from a fabulous 2 day stay. We had 2 rooms (Regency Club), and stayed on a Wed/Thur nid week trip. Check in wasy very smooth and we were checked into our rooms in no time. The property is well kept, beautiful native flowers everywhere. We enjoyed storys and smores under the stars the first night. Kids also enjoyed an archery class, bread baking, adobe brick making, and other activities. Our favorite activity was riding bikes along the Rio Grande river, don't miss this free activity! Staff was excellent, friendly and very customer oriented. We saw two major movie stars enjoying time with their families as well. This place can't be beat!!!

  • Liked — Great Views
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.