We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort & golf, far from other attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great resort & golf, far from other attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I stayed here October 14-16, 2010 for business functions. The resort itself is lovely, but not my favorite in the Santa Fe/Albuquerque area. The slow, winding drive up to the front gate was beautiful when we first approached, but as the trip wore on and we found ourselves driving back and forth to the property, it became an annoyance (how many turns with sagebrush do we need to see?). Rooms were nice, southwest-themed, but nothing to brag about. Room cleaning was particularly slow, but thorough when completed. Bathroom completely lacked plain old hand washing soap, which I thought was odd, considering the plethora of other lotions and unguents available. The shampoo was superb, though. Availed myself of the spa - can recommend the native herbal wrap for relaxation. Salon service was friendly, and surroundings were very clean. Husband golfed - loved the course, but said it was very difficult. House wines were excellent, food was excellent (except low-fat yogurt granola parfait - yuck). All in all, would like this a whole lot better if it were about 30 minutes closer to Santa Fe. Still, not a bad property. Oh, and make sure to book a room close to the elevators - we were stuck out in the boonies and had to walk literally through about 8 corridors to get to the front desk. Views weren't so great that they compensated for that inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    181
    36
    21
    11
See reviews for
177
204
24
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Great location for views and activities. # beautiful pools surrounded by the mountains.
Great biking trail with free bikes. Nice hot tub.
Great sunset views
Concierge level was excellent. Breakfast had excellent choice
Appetizers and dessert were excellent too
Staff was great and friendly
Would not think twice about returning

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

A beautiful property set along the Cottonwoods that flank the Rio Grande river, the Hyatt Tamaya resort has several things going for it that travelers (or new transplants) to the southwest will really enjoy: it's remote-ish, quiet, new, and really exceptional service. For an quiet anniversary away from the daily routine the endless to-do list, it's very nice, but on the pricey side. There were two weddings/rehearsals being held on site during our stay, and unlike other properties I've stayed at, you couldn't really tell there were lots of extra people or commotion due to the events...that's a plus. A pool for the adults with a high wall to keep the wind/noise out, another for the kids that includes a slide (and dive-in movies on the weekends! Brilliant, but you'll smell like chlorine for a day or so afterward.) Several restaurants on site, but for the occasion, we chose the Corn Maiden. Expect to drop ~ $50/person...for a fantastic meal that we were happy to pay for. Nothing outlandish or weird, just really good food. The Better Half declares hers the "best steak ever" - high praise from a carnivore! Complementary champagne for the anniversary, but be prepared to answer some some hard math questions (how many years? Let's see, carry the five, divide by number of kids...) Our room faced the mountains, which is nice even if you do live here. A little patio with table and chairs for morning coffee and paper-skimming. Extremely attentive staff - even had a Sunday paper brought up to me in the Regency Club me when I accidentally tried to make off with someone else's. Regency club gets you breakfast, desserts, etc., so if you need to snack a lot and $10 for chips and guac sounds like too much, than go for it. Look for coupon codes online, we saved 25% and made it more affordable. Never even got near the spa or golf course, keep reading for those answers.

The short version: Great stay if you're willing to spurge a little.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed here for four nights in a suite with two teenage boys. The rooms were very comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly. I used the spa facility -- very pleasant. My only complaint was that the breakfast service in the cafe was very slow. The only reason we kept eating there was because it was part of our room rate. Suggest you explore the restaurants in the town for other meals. We especially enjoyed The Range Cafe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My wife and went on a golf getway at the Tamaya and we were not dissapointed. Very nice hotel and excellent breakfast included in price. Stayed on the 3 for free package, stayed six nights and two free. Check for these deals about six months in advance. The smell of the cedar in the hotel was amazing. Only compliant was the 60 mile an hour winds of early Spring does not support low golf scores. Stay and relax!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

When we pass by Albuquerque, we usually stay at the Tamaya; we have stayed at the Tamaya 2-3 times every year since they've opened in 2001. Over the years, they've tried to describe themselves as a luxury resort with ample activities and luscious accommodations. I'd like to say they're an okay resort with some activities and adequate accommodations.

With their location in the Santa Ana Reservation outside of Bernalillo, the resort is prime for a trip to either Santa Fe or Albuquerque. Add on top of that beautiful views of the Sandia Mountains and the ample trails around, it's a great location. That's perhaps the only luxurious part of this resort. The great room is great, the trails as well, but everything else in the resort lacks that awe factor you'd see elsewhere. Food and drinks at any of the restaurants are good at best, although the complimentary cold flavored-waters are nice. The patio is not cared for too well, with bird droppings found on all of the chairs and tables; I'm all for connecting with nature, but I don't want to sit on it or have it in my food. Activities outside of golf and horse-related things are lack-luster and usually filled to the brim with small kids. The pools are good, not great, because usually around this time it's monsoon season, meaning it's either raining or too cool, leaving only the kids to play around. (So if you have smaller kids, they'd feel right at home.) Note to parents: if you do have small kids, please don't let them run amok on the resort property as there are other guests who'd like to enjoy the resort as well.

As far as the staff is concerned, everyone is cordial, always saying hello when you pass by, and they are also very attentive. However, there are some staff (i.e. Sarah at the Front Desk) who act as if it's an inconvenience to attend to the guests. Also, at the spa while perusing their merchandise (of which they have limited knowledge), they talked about their clients as they left the room, also counting down the minutes to closing like it was a low point to work there. Is that the same for the rest of the resort? I don't know, but I wonder. The rooms are okay with a good options of views, including that of the mountains, pools, or desert; however, it's hard to find a room that does not in some part see the parking lot or something equivalent. They're clean enough and roomy, with a adequate air conditioner (the heating function is a little funky, though). The beds are a chiropractors' dream. Don't drink the $5 waters, because they're usually old or expired since no one wants to drink them and housekeeping doesn't change them. Speaking of housekeeping, they seem to take more care to fold the toiler paper in the bathroom than to clean the bird feces on the balconies or remove hornets' nests.

My only real concern - outside of not truly reaching the luxury they convey - are the pets on the property. I have no problems with pets, but with any family, there's always a concern for allergies. I called at an earlier visit to ask what their policy is regarding pets and they responded that they are only allowed on the first (bottom) floor to allow easy access to outside. However, I have seen on three occasions that they were on the 4th (top) floor, including inside the regency club room (the extra you pay for light appetizers and breakfast). Especially with big dogs whose tails brush by the food on the tables, it's a health hazard at the least, if not a health code violation for those who paid that extra money. I don't appreciate having appetizers with an oversized canine drooling and shedding next to me as I try to enjoy my food.

Also, how would these pets reach the top floor? I doubt they use the steps, so the elevators are also areas of concern, since I personally have caught ringworm on my arm at one point after staying at the resort. There should be more attention paid to this concern, because all of these dogs that I have seen are not service dogs and not exactly the epitome of a well-groomed animal. Maybe an idea for the resort (since they seem to cater to these guests) would be to offer an onsite kennel to allow the guests to travel with their pets while keeping all guests safe from allergies or disease. At the very least, they need to warn the guests about this hazard of pets inside the hotel, because my family and I would not like to sleep in the same mattress as a dog who stayed before me.

Overall, this resort is a good enough establishment that doesn't quite meet it's bill of luxury, be it from their staff, their rooms, their activities, or whatever else. It's just plainly a Hyatt to me and my family, where it's nothing special but nothing too bad. It isn't anything more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I can't wait to return to this desert gem! Brunch in the hotel restaurant was excellent. The room with the view of the mountains was eprfect. Service was simply wonderful! I will be a repeat guest at this place!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Free Parking, M...
Show More
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#1 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Sandia Casino & Resort
Sandia Casino & Resort
#19 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#24 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express Bernalillo
Free Parking, P...
Show More
Hampton Inn & Suites Albuquerque North/I-25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.