We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hyatt Free Time
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a very nice get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a very nice anniversary weekend at the Hyatt Tamaya. The location is great, the service was overall very friendly, and my husband raved about the golf course. We loved the authentic New Mexican feel. The pool (we only utilized the adult pool, but the family one looked like fun!) was perfectly clean, very quiet, and served impeccably by the pool server Austin, who kept the tasty margaritas coming!

As for dining: we enjoyed a snack and later a casual dinner on the deck of the Rio Grande Lounge. The fried green chiles were DELICIOUS. Caesar salad was ... mysterious. Not caesar, but tasty for a garden salad with a side of spicy ranch, which is what it really was. Service was spotty. We had a sweet, helpful server there when we stopped in for a pre-trail ride appetizer. One of the nicest waitresses we've had, ever. When we returned after our trail ride for dinner and drinks, expecting more of the same service, we were disappointed to find a slow, surly server who seemed to dislike us immensely for no apparent reason and who was so slow bringing us our drinks we gave up after the 2nd round and retired to our room with a bottle of wine instead.

The rooms are dated, unquestionably. Not unattractive or uncomfortable at all, just not as nice as you'd expect at a Hyatt in this price range. The leather headboards grossed us out, as we could clearly see some fingernail scratches from guests past.....eek. We'll definitely return after the 2015 renovations hoping to see great improvement. That said, our bed and bedding were comfy and the bathroom was very clean. We had a nice mountain view, as requested. Deck was nice, but hopefully that furniture will also be updated and upgraded during the renovation - it was cheap looking.

Deli/gift shop was very nice. Loved that they served Starbucks coffee and they made me a great skinny latte. Nice selection of snacks, salads, wraps, etc. Very friendly service from the ladies here.

Spa was seriously dated. If I'd been there for a $40 pedicure, no big deal, but when I'm spending $90+ to get my toes done, I'd like a more luxe feel. The check in area was very nice but the spa itself is badly in need of a facelift. I didn't try the steam room or other features.

Trail ride is a must. We went out on a 6:00pm ride with Ernesto, who was endlessly entertaining. Horses seemed to be very well cared for and took us on a really nice ride. Don't skip the trail ride! Gorgeous views.

Overall, if given the option I'd give this place 3 1/2 stars, expecting to bump that up to a solid 4+ once the rooms are renovated. We visited for a quiet anniversary get away but we'd love to return with our kids for a fun family trip. Plenty to do with the pools, horses, and golf, but a great place to put your feet up and recharge, as well.

Room Tip: Mountain view, as close to elevators as possible (or you'll be walking....and walking....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear abby r:
Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us and for providing us with some valuable feedback. Clearly there are several areas where we did not meet your expectations. I apologize for that. I will be sharing the insights with our servers, so that we can make improvements, Everyone deserves to be treated well. I do sincerely hope you come back in 2015 to see our brand new guest rooms. Thank you again abby r
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    249
    55
    33
    14
See reviews for
282
289
33
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here because the Tauck Tour we were on put us there. I would have preferred to stay in Old Albuquerque instead.
The grounds are beautiful. We waited at sunset to watch the Sandia Mountain turn to watermelon color - it didn't happen.
Our room was fine - breakfast was good but the service at dinner left a lot to be desired. We were at a table of 6 and were served our entrees at different times - a pet peeve of mine.
The wait staff didn't seem to care.
On the other hand, the concierge was helpful in arranging walks for us with a guide.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear LLiv:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and posting some great photos. I apologize for your dining service. I will share this with the wait staff. Clearly we missed the mark for you and that is not acceptable. Thank you again for providing feedback and pointing out areas were we need to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Hyatt Regency Tamaya hasn't always been perfect on past visits but this time they topped themselves. We experienced excellent customer service, clean bright hotel, high quality swimming pools, and overall perfection. We were picky about getting the perfect room and the front desk staff, especially Kimberly and Leon, went out of their way to assist us. Please give them a "Hello" when you visit.

Room Tip: fourth floor overlooking the pool and facing the mountain gives you the most outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Bigkahunajoe,
Although we would like each of your visits at The Hyatt Regency Tamaya to be perfect, we are glad that this visit was an opportunity for us to redeem ourselves. The views you experienced are some of the most spectacular. Our Front Desk Staff are amazing, Kimberly and Leon have the ability to reach each guest individually. Should your travels bring you back to the southwest please return to Tamaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel based on recommendations through Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! The service is exceptional from Lucas at the front desk to each of the various staff members. They want to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We loved sitting by the pool and seeing the view of the mountains from our room balcony. I couldn't give this an excellent rating because the hotel rooms are a bit dated and could use a makeover however how much time do you actually spend in your room when you are at a resort!

We are returning to this resort tomorrow for a few additional nights and hope to try the restaurants on site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Rhodymom2012,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Hyatt Regency Tamaya. Thank you for mentioning in your review the views of the mountains, the pools and the exceptional service you received from Lucas. We do have plans to renovate our guest rooms and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Tamaya Resort has so much to offer! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and so inviting. The staff is both friendly and helpful. The on-site restaurant and bar is great. The breakfast buffet is exceptional. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. It was a wonderful place to stay. I truly felt spoiled.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Stephanie C,
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of your stay at The Hyatt Regency Tamaya. From your review it seems as though you enjoyed a couple of our restaurants and were met by helpful and friendly staff, that is great to hear. At the end of your review you stated that you felt truly spoiled, that is what we want to hear from each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just stayed at this Hyatt for a business conference. The rooms are very nice, well laid out, comfortable beds, comfortable pillows. Wandering layout of the hotel, but you get your exercise:) Pools were nice, a family and adult one(which was nice). Food at the Corn Maiden was good, breakfast buffet at the Santa Ana was not so good though service at both was great. Room service breakfast was a rip off. Service around the pool is great. The spa is great, great deep tissue massage, and my face was totally rejuvenated after the facial. You have access to the pool and steam & dry hot room the rest of the day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Brocklj,
Thank you for allowing us the pleasure of hositing your business conference. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy many of the amenities we offer here at The Hyatt Regency Tamaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were super excited to visit New Mexico for a weekend in June... Everything was great, but I don't necessarily think this is truly a 4-star resort with a 4-star price tag.... There were a few things I just couldn't get over:

1. The room amenities were quite dated. Carpet, light fixtures, etc just looked old. We had a double room with these faux leather headboards that were extremely scratched by fingernails. Gross! The towels and bed linens were basic, not plush like I was looking for. We even had dead moths on our carpet upon arrival. Also, I was greeted by a huge grasshopper in the shower. As we checked out we noticed there is a "room renovation" scheduled, so that should definitely help!

2. The food wasn't as good as I had expected. We visited The Corn Maiden and The Santa Ana Cafe. Both were good, but really nothing to phone home about. The service at both restaurants was slow. We even witnessed two dining patrons get up and inform their waitress they couldn't finish their lunch it was so terrible. Yikes! Better food would have helped.

Other than those reasons, we had a great time. The staff we encountered were very friendly. We sat by the adult pool most of the time and felt like that was well kept and quite peaceful. We didn't get a chance to visit the spa, but I'm sure it's wonderful!

Room Tip: The resort is quite large, so request a room for where you'll be most, like the pool. Our walk t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they ask you to hang your towel if you can re-use and only change the sheets every three days.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear 315emily-
Thank you for your review. I apologize for a less than excellent experience with the rooms and food. Please feel free to contact me at kathleen.manicke@hyatt.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#14 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#47 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#16 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.