We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but so remote - but is that good?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
Parsippany, NJ
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but so remote - but is that good?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here because the Tauck Tour we were on put us there. I would have preferred to stay in Old Albuquerque instead.
The grounds are beautiful. We waited at sunset to watch the Sandia Mountain turn to watermelon color - it didn't happen.
Our room was fine - breakfast was good but the service at dinner left a lot to be desired. We were at a table of 6 and were served our entrees at different times - a pet peeve of mine.
The wait staff didn't seem to care.
On the other hand, the concierge was helpful in arranging walks for us with a guide.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear LLiv:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and posting some great photos. I apologize for your dining service. I will share this with the wait staff. Clearly we missed the mark for you and that is not acceptable. Thank you again for providing feedback and pointing out areas were we need to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    202
    42
    28
    12
See reviews for
199
221
27
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Hyatt Regency Tamaya hasn't always been perfect on past visits but this time they topped themselves. We experienced excellent customer service, clean bright hotel, high quality swimming pools, and overall perfection. We were picky about getting the perfect room and the front desk staff, especially Kimberly and Leon, went out of their way to assist us. Please give them a "Hello" when you visit.

Room Tip: fourth floor overlooking the pool and facing the mountain gives you the most outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Bigkahunajoe,
Although we would like each of your visits at The Hyatt Regency Tamaya to be perfect, we are glad that this visit was an opportunity for us to redeem ourselves. The views you experienced are some of the most spectacular. Our Front Desk Staff are amazing, Kimberly and Leon have the ability to reach each guest individually. Should your travels bring you back to the southwest please return to Tamaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel based on recommendations through Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! The service is exceptional from Lucas at the front desk to each of the various staff members. They want to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We loved sitting by the pool and seeing the view of the mountains from our room balcony. I couldn't give this an excellent rating because the hotel rooms are a bit dated and could use a makeover however how much time do you actually spend in your room when you are at a resort!

We are returning to this resort tomorrow for a few additional nights and hope to try the restaurants on site.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Rhodymom2012,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Hyatt Regency Tamaya. Thank you for mentioning in your review the views of the mountains, the pools and the exceptional service you received from Lucas. We do have plans to renovate our guest rooms and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Tamaya Resort has so much to offer! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and so inviting. The staff is both friendly and helpful. The on-site restaurant and bar is great. The breakfast buffet is exceptional. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. It was a wonderful place to stay. I truly felt spoiled.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Stephanie C,
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of your stay at The Hyatt Regency Tamaya. From your review it seems as though you enjoyed a couple of our restaurants and were met by helpful and friendly staff, that is great to hear. At the end of your review you stated that you felt truly spoiled, that is what we want to hear from each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We just stayed at this Hyatt for a business conference. The rooms are very nice, well laid out, comfortable beds, comfortable pillows. Wandering layout of the hotel, but you get your exercise:) Pools were nice, a family and adult one(which was nice). Food at the Corn Maiden was good, breakfast buffet at the Santa Ana was not so good though service at both was great. Room service breakfast was a rip off. Service around the pool is great. The spa is great, great deep tissue massage, and my face was totally rejuvenated after the facial. You have access to the pool and steam & dry hot room the rest of the day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Brocklj,
Thank you for allowing us the pleasure of hositing your business conference. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy many of the amenities we offer here at The Hyatt Regency Tamaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were super excited to visit New Mexico for a weekend in June... Everything was great, but I don't necessarily think this is truly a 4-star resort with a 4-star price tag.... There were a few things I just couldn't get over:

1. The room amenities were quite dated. Carpet, light fixtures, etc just looked old. We had a double room with these faux leather headboards that were extremely scratched by fingernails. Gross! The towels and bed linens were basic, not plush like I was looking for. We even had dead moths on our carpet upon arrival. Also, I was greeted by a huge grasshopper in the shower. As we checked out we noticed there is a "room renovation" scheduled, so that should definitely help!

2. The food wasn't as good as I had expected. We visited The Corn Maiden and The Santa Ana Cafe. Both were good, but really nothing to phone home about. The service at both restaurants was slow. We even witnessed two dining patrons get up and inform their waitress they couldn't finish their lunch it was so terrible. Yikes! Better food would have helped.

Other than those reasons, we had a great time. The staff we encountered were very friendly. We sat by the adult pool most of the time and felt like that was well kept and quite peaceful. We didn't get a chance to visit the spa, but I'm sure it's wonderful!

Room Tip: The resort is quite large, so request a room for where you'll be most, like the pool. Our walk t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they ask you to hang your towel if you can re-use and only change the sheets every three days.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen M, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear 315emily-
Thank you for your review. I apologize for a less than excellent experience with the rooms and food. Please feel free to contact me at kathleen.manicke@hyatt.com to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are having a wonderful stay and we have participated in just about everything at the resort (ie: horseback riding, spa, kid activities, yoga, pool, restaurants). The hotel is lovely. The staff is top-notch without being pretentious. They are friendly, experienced and helpful. The food is fresh, well-prepared and there are healthy options. The resort has many activities especially for kids. The rooms are comfortable. There are nice views of the mountains. There are 3 pools including one for adults and one with a great water slide. There is plenty to do at the resort and local sight-seeing as well. The resort is about 40 minutes from Santa Fe. We sincerely appreciate the traditional local influences at the resort. In my opinion, this says a lot: there were 2 weddings and a small conference one of the days/nights we were here with no inconvenience nor disruption to our stay. Thank you Tamaya Resort and Spa!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyTamaya, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Ameline,
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of The Hyatt Regency Tamaya. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed so many of the amenities, food options and activities Tamaya has to offer. Also, thank you for appreciating the local influences here at the Resort and for mentioning it in your review. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.