We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go home?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Why go home?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of the most most unique hotel properties that I've had the opportunity to visit. The Hyatt Tamaya is located about 35 minutes from the ABQ airport. To say that it is tucked back from most civilization would be an understatement as it is located on the Santa Ana Pueblo reservation in the foothills of the Santa Ana Mountain range.

My five day stay was part of a business conference. The accommodations were quite nice and themed to the Indian motif of the entire hotel. The property is visually striking ... both from inside and outside and materials used to construct the exceedingly well maintained property were first class.

Conference food (always a challenge feeding a couple hundred people en mass) was FAR above the norm for conference food. My litmus test? If it were a sit down meal and I was paying the table, would the food and service past muster? For EVERY meal during my stay, the answer was an enthusiastic yes.

I didn't visit the Spa, but understand from others that the facilities and staff were first rate. I did visit the hotel gym a couple of times and found it well equipped, exceedingly clean and ALL equipment was 100% functional (rare for most hotels). I'm also a runner and was delighted with the rustic running path that also ran beside the Rio Grande River (which is located about 3/4 of a mile on the backside of the hotel property).

I enjoyed my stay immensely and even after five days was sorry to leave.

Remember - you get what you pay for. This is not an inexpensive property, but I considered it a value for the dollar given all factors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins were scattered throughout the property,
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello audio_man01,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay during your conference. We strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience and we are happy to know that you were impressed with our unique facilities and guest service. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our beautiful property again soon!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    182
    37
    21
    11
See reviews for
179
204
24
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband surprised me with a romantic night away at the Tamaya Resort and it was a wonderful gift. We enjoyed a relaxing couples massage at the last minute and a quiet night away from everyday life. The onsite restaurant was good for dinner and breakfast, but a bit overpriced for the breakfast buffet. Pools were closed for quite a bit in the afternoon due to lightening nearby, irritating but understandable. The couples massage would have been better if they allowed relaxation time for the couple together instead of just meeting in the room, have massage, then go your separate ways. The staff was very nice and courteous.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the Bosque (that's the direction of the Rio Grande) instead of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Zamlat,

We are happy to hear you and your husband chose to spend your birthday with us and we appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for your suggestions on improving our spa experiences. We will be sure to share this with our spa management team. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms ... Super clean and nice size. Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Staff was friendly and willing to please in every way. It is tucked away and about a 45 minute ride from the airport. Ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Dec2501,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. We pride ourselves on providing excellent guest service so it is wonderful to hear you experienced this. We appreciate the kind words and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent and efficient staff, well maintained rooms and very good food, even at the conference.
Wish I had more time for relaxation. First rate accomodations. Views of the mountains are awesome and the pool area was beautiful although I never got to use it.

Room Tip: Room locations can be very far from the lobby, so if you are not a walker, be sure to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Ray2k,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you relax with us on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This Hyatt resort hotel is located on the Santa Ana Pueblo reservation about 30 minutes by car from the ABQ airport. I attended a conference for approximately medical 120 colleagues herein early October, 2013. The conference provided airport transfers, which proved a good idea because the resort is set far back from the highway on a road without lighting at night.

The property is very attractive an well maintained. It's located in a high desert meadow with a mountain backdrop.The property is attractive and well maintained. The rooms are similar in size and amenities to a high end Hyatt upgraded guest room. The staff members were invariably friendly and helpful.

I was particularly impressed with the quality of the food at catered meals. The distinctive Southwestern flavors and consistent quality, along with attentive service, were quite impressive.

The meeting/conference facilities were as good as any conference hotel.

My only negative comment involves the relative isolation of the location. It's a tribal business on tribal property and quite a distance from anything else. So, if you want to get out of the hotel to sight-see or shop, a car is necessary. The hotel does have limited shuttle service and there is also a tribal casino nearby, but these are not convenient.

I would absolutely recommend this property, apart from the location issues noted. I have rated location as "average" because of the physical isolation. The natural beauty and property design would both be excellent otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Fontek,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and were impressed with your dining experiences. We pride ourselves on offering unique flavors and cuisines that reflect our southwestern culture. Though we regret to hear you did not find our location ideal, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you on a future stay. Safe travels to you!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a great room with a wonderful view of the Santa Ana mountains.

The staff was extremely helpful and quick to respond to any request or questions.

There are a lot of biking/hiking/running trails through the property which are extremely well maintained.

The pools are nice. We particularly enjoyed the quiet adult pool. It has had the best lounge chairs I have ever seen at a hotel pool. They were padded and many of them had pull up sun shields to provide shade when you had had enough sun. Pool side food and beverage service was a little spotty. Some days very good and others very limited. This could just be because of the time of year. The pools were not very busy.

The buffet breakfast and it was included with our packages and was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello wrhwrh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear you found our staff helpful and enjoyed our breakfast buffet, views of the mountains and many amenities that the resort offers. We are sorry to hear that pool side food and beverage service was spotty. We have shared your feedback with our management team for review. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we hope to have you with us again very soon!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hyatt Recengy early September. Check-in was quick and efficient and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable. It would have been nice to have a bathrobe in the room, but that is a minor detail. We did not do any of the activities proposed by the hotel, so we can't comment on those. The only real disappointment was the quality of the food and the service at the restaurant. We had supper on the terrace the second evening and it really was not to our liking. The chicken wings were cold and tasteless, and the salad had almost no sauce. Also, we had to wait ages to get something to drink.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Switz_traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Though we are happy to hear you enjoyed our staff and your room, we regret to hear you had an unsatisfactory dining experience and you did not have a bathrobe in your room. Your comments have been forwarded to our F&B Management team as well as our Rooms team to review. We appreciate your feedback; it helps us to continually improve our services. We hope to see you again for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.