We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity within the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Something Extra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Serenity within the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The best part of this resort is the location. Your only approx 30 minutes from Albuquerque but you would never know it because it is so set back from highway. I stay here about once every 6 months because of my proximity to this resort. It is so relaxing and serene. Beautiful views .
They have bikes you can check out with your stay so your able to check out the vast property.
Be sure to eat at The Corn Maiden and make sure to make a reservation, it books quickly on a weekend. I prefer the Golf course view but have also stayed on the Mountain side. Love this property...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello Whoknowswhatido,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We are delighted we have the opportunity to serve you so frequently! We are happy to hear you find our property relaxing and you enjoy the views we have. We look forward to having you with us for your next stay.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    221
    44
    32
    12
See reviews for
226
241
27
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I just spent 6 nites at the Hyatt at Tamaya. We had a wonderful experience. The staff everywhere we went were attentive and friendly. Our room was cleaned and tidied up promply each day.We went horseback riding at the stables and had a great time, even saw some elk. The room was plenty big for the two of us and the view of the mountains were outstanding. We always ate breakfast at the buffet and enjoyed the food. The food, drink and service at the pool were excellent, the staff recommendations for dinner off site were spot on. Recommended places we would not know about. The hotel bar was nice being able to sit outside or inside. Finess center was smaller than I thought it would be, but I could do what I want. The location of the hotel was convenient to ALB and Sandia Peak and a short drive to Santa Fe. the hot air balloon ride was a lot of fun. Only complaint is sometimes the garbage cans by the pool were overflowing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello PAR0406,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted we had the pleasure of having you and your wife stay with us for 6 nights! It is so wonderful to hear you found our staff attentive and friendly, your room was to your liking, you found our location convenient, and you enjoyed your dining experiences. It is also great to hear you partook in horseback riding and also enjoyed a hot air balloon ride! We have shared this wonderful feedback with our team and we will make sure your comments regarding the pool area are addressed. We look forward to serving you again for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I heard a lot about the Hyatt Tamaya from friends so my expectations might have been too high. The reception was great.... from the valet to the front desk personnel everyone was friendly. I paid for an upgraded room but it didn't appear to be anything special. The nice lady at the front desk highly recommended the Cowboy Buffet for dinner so I gave it a try. The food was very bland and fatty, with very few options. There were young kids running and screaming around the restaurant and lots of screaming babies... something you might expect at a Luby's cafeteria but not at a Hyatt. I couldn't wait to get out of there. Then came the worst: Even though my room was at a far end of the hotel, people were talking and partying in the hallways throughout the night. Twice I had to get out of bed and ask the people to please keep it quiet. This went on until 3:00 AM. Granted that this was a Saturday night and there were probably a lot of wedding parties but I would think the hotel would try to keep the hallway noise down. I had to leave early the next morning for a long drive to Sedona... just wished the hotel hadn't been so noisy. I've stayed at many, many Hyatt hotels over the years and this was pretty mediocre by Hyatt standards.

Green Features: The shower barely had a trickle of water. Instead of pumping so much water into the numerous pools and fountains maybe they could divert some water so guests could take a decent shower?
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello gahoppe,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. Though we are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, we regret that your visit was not a better experience. We have shared your comments regarding your dining and room experience with our team for further discussion. We do value all of our guest feedback and will review your post closely. We hope we have the opportunity to regain your confidence on a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the resort for a convention and what a great experience! The resort staff is very attentive and friendly. Every time we passed by someone that worked there they said hi and had a genuine smile on their face. It was as if we were regular guests even though this was our first visit. The staff was also very quick to ask if we needed anything and to help.

The views from every part of resort are phenomenal! When we walked out of the meeting rooms we were greeted with the scenery of Sandia Peak. Our room overlooked the three pools and another beautiful peak.

There are long trails around the property that offer more views, including one that leads you to the Rio Grande.

Food at the resort is outstanding. Normally when you have lunch catered at a hotel, it consists of dried pasta and sandwiches. Not at this resort! Each buffet included many different types of meat and wonderful sides (sometimes combination that I never would have thought of--watermelon and feta). Most of the meals were prepared in the style of the area--southwestern/New Mexican. DELICIOUS! The Santa Ana Cafe has a great breakfast buffet, too.

There are many other restaurants in the area a short drive away, as well as pharmacies, wal-mart, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Biscottina,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time as our guest for your convention. Our staff will be recognized for the fantastic service you experienced. We are so happy you enjoyed our property, views, and your dining experiences! We take great pride with ensuring our guest's needs are met. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to New Mexico!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I grew up in Albuquerque but have been gone for over 20 years. Last weekend we had a family reunion at the Tamaya Resort. Our party consisted of 6 adults and 2 teenagers. The resort is beautifully situated next to the Rio Grande and done in a tasteful southwestern adobe pueblo style. The staff was excellent, the pool areas were refreshing, rooms very nicely appointed and comfortable. There were many activities to choose from and we never had to leave the property. To get the most out of your stay, plan on staying at the resort and enjoying all their restaurants and activities so that you don't spend time in the car going back and forth to town - its farther than you think. The resort fee of $23/day doesn't include parking, range balls or much else from what we determined. There are 3 pools: adults, a play pool and a kiddie pool so everyone can enjoy themselves in the right environment. The bar staff at the pool kept us cool and refreshed and the smoothies/drinks were not over priced. Take time to enjoy the patio overlooking the river and the Sandias - such a gorgeous spot. The Bosque-Q has a nice menu but our food was disappointing: cold, slow... maybe it was an off day. This is a good base for a New Mexico visit and day trips to Santa Fe, Taos, Abiquiu, Albuquerque. This is one of the nicest quality properties around Albuquerque. Some in SFe are comparable, but if you're looking for luxury in Alb., this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course have a nice sunset view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello JoC722,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are delighted to hear we had the pleasure of hosting your family reunion at our Resort. It is wonderful to hear that during your stay you enjoyed our staff, pools, rooms, and were able to partake in our Resort activities. For our other readers, our Resort Fee does include Guest Room Internet, our Fitness Center, Yoga and aerobics room, Nature and fitness trails, Resort Recreation Facilities including pools with towel service, water slide, tennis and basketball courts, horseshoe pits, bicycle use, helmets and child trailer, admission to our Cultural Learning Center, Seasonal cultural events and activities, Regularly scheduled children’s activities, Outdoor and indoor games, Golf bag storage, Shuttle service to Twin Warriors Golf Club, Santa Ana Golf Club and Santa Ana Star Casino, Self-Parking, All local and 800 calls, Daily newspaper, Incoming and outgoing faxes, our Business Center, and Promotional value at Starlight Bowling Center. We regret that your dining experience in the Bosque-Q was disappointing. We have shared your comments regarding your experience with our F&B Manager. We do value all of our guest feedback and we are delighted to have had you with us after 20 years. Please come and see us again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyatt Regency Tamaya for another stay!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Tamaya Resort is located a short 15-20 minute drive outside of the Albuquerque metro area and nestled in the desert by the Rio Grande. The architecture is all southwest adobe - and I love it. We stayed there 3 days and every one of them was great.

The valet was always there with the car - making sure to clean off my car's windows before we took off. The attendants, house staff, front desk and grounds keepers were all out-going and friendly in a sincere manner.

Our room overlooked the "basque" (forest lining the river) and mountains. It was an impressive view. I watched the sun rise over the mountain from my balcony in the mornings and then took the a stroll along the river. The trail to the river is well marked and maintained. The trail itself is dotted with exercise stations for those inclined to do something more than stroll through the woods. I highly recommend the trail - I saw river otters playing in the river...a pleasant surprise. Another guest spotted turkeys in the trees...I didn't see them.

We found the staff always very polite, very helpful. We ate our first dinner on the back porch at the Santa Anna Cafe. Excellent pizza - and excellent beer. My wife and I never have seen Road Runners before - but they had one little fellow outside who was interested in anything we'd toss his way. The swifts were just starting to arrive and establish territories - It was pretty interesting watching them chase each other. It's a very relaxing area to sit and look out over the basque and mountains. If you're just enjoying a beer or waiting for somebody to show up this is a comfortable and beautiful area to enjoy or wait. Very scenic, and serene.

The pool areas are attractive and enticing - very welcoming, one pool is separate and set aside for adults only. Didn't use the exercise room or even look for it. I recommend the Regency Club where you can fill up on breakfast - talk to the concierge there at your leisure, get drinks - it's all very convenient.

The rooms we had were expansive and comfortable. The grounds were quite, well maintained. I'd stay there again because I don't care to be rushed - and I want to look out at something other than a city scape. Best place I could find in ABQ area and I wasn't disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the cliffs or basque - either are inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Ollie T,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted we had you with us for 3 days and you enjoyed each one! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We are pleased to hear you found our service and staff to your liking, as well as our pools, rooms and your dining experiences. We are also glad you were able to explore our hotel grounds and you experienced some of our wildlife. We are certainly in a beautiful area with many different residents! We hope we can welcome you back to our Resort again soon and make your next trip to New Mexico as memorable as this one!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here prior to our tour of New Mexico. We couldn't have chosen a better start to our trip. It was quiet and beautifully furnished. The staff and service were excellent; the restaurants all had excellent food. The pool areas were delightful and there were enough activities to keep us busy between jewellery making, bike riding, walking trails, etc. It honoured its spiritual location and heritage and we felt very rejuvenated and rested before the start of our trip. The view of the mountains and river and desert were remarkable. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Andrea M,
We are so happy to hear that you and your husband chose to stay with us prior to your tour of New Mexico! Your feedback regarding our staff and their service is much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed our pool areas, furnishings, your dining experiences and some of the many unique activities we offer at our Resort! We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our cultural heritage here at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya and you felt rejuvenated and rested before your trip. Thank you for your feedback Andrea M. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property the next time your travels bring you back to New Mexico!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.