We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“desert beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“desert beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is our third time staying here.
Pros: accommodating staff, beautiful grounds, well maintained rooms, plenty of activity for kids.
Cons: The oxbow pool was filthy and not cleaned, the chairs around the kids pool are in bad shape they are broken and not cleaned very well. The Houses Keeping staff was friendly but didn't do a very good job. One day they failed to clean our room, on two days they failed to leave bottled water.
I like this resort and maybe because it was the week before July 4th they were under staffed. We will try it again and I think you should too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello Bigkahunajoe,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay. We are glad to know you found our staff to be accommodating, our grounds beautiful, and the rooms to be well maintained. We are disappointed to hear about your experience with the Oxbow Pool and Housekeeping. We will be addressing both of these instances. Your feedback is very important as we use this to continue to improve the services we offer to our valued guests. We hope we can welcome you back to our resort the next time your travels bring you to New Mexico.

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    189
    38
    22
    11
See reviews for
190
207
24
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was not my first time at Hyatt Regency Tamaya. I have read a number of other reviews here and see comments ranging from this place being a dream to people being disappoint with many things.

Well, let me just list what I hope are some useful details. First, I would say that the resort’s location is a cross between convenient (45 minutes to Santa Fe or 30 Minutes to Albuquerque) and “away from everything”. This resort sits far back on the Santa Ana Pueblo (reservation) and is nestled into a chaparral/desert setting with a beautiful view of the cottonwood trees lining the Rio Grande River and the Sandia Mountains in the distant view. Any room will have a view of either the pool(s), the desert, the mesas, the mountains, etc… Even if you don’t get the exact view you’re hoping for, there are restaurants, patios, etc, where you can sit and take it all in.

The lobby area is beautiful with fireplaces, large glass doors that open to an amazing view, grand exposed wood beams, and it is all adorned in wonderful native/southwest art.

Some have said (in a negative way) that the hotel seems to cater to weddings and conference events … well; they do have excellent facilities for that…so why wouldn’t they? The ballrooms are on the opposite end of the resort. They will close off one of the “Three” pools every once in a while for private events but I saw one person all weekend using that pool on the far end.

Some have said that it is a far walk from some rooms to get to anything… well; it is a very big beautiful resort, you may have to walk a little… We requested a ground level (pool access) room and so we were close to “the pool” but not to everything… it is a bit sprawling so just know that!

We ate at the Corn Maiden Restaurant. It was a little pricey but it is an absolutely beautiful restaurant. They serve top notch meats, fish, and fowl and the inside décor is almost as wonderful to admire as the amazing view from the windows or patio. Call early and make a reservation.

Some have complained about the barbecue style food that is served at the lounge/patio area off the lobby but I just felt like they were offering affordable options… the other two restaurants are a little more high-dollar.

The three swimming pools are great. They do have an adult pool if you need some quite time and a family pool with a fun waterslide. The poolside bar/restaurant is typical for what you would expect at any resort. Drinks are not pored strong, are pricey and the food is “poolside” food… no need to complain.

The spa is very nice. VERY clean, with a nice steam room, large outdoor hot tub/whirlpool and relaxation room. I will attach some photos. The cedar-lined sauna was not hot enough for my personal preference.

As far as service… The front desk negotiated a better price for us that we could find on any website. They gave us the type/location of room promised. They set us up to use the facilities until our room was ready and then had our bags waiting in the room for us. We don’t need to have our rooms cleaned every day and often keep the privacy tag on the door so I can’t comment on the housekeeping. The restaurant staff slipped us in without a reservation, paid much attention to us and made good recommendations. The poolside servers stopped by frequently to make sure we were good.

The room was comfy with some nice artwork and a nice little covered patio. We had a king bed and I slept like a baby. The room had a small fridge that was just enough for a weekend.

We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Communicate, more than once prior to your visit and, like with any hotel, if you check in real late...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did notice that there were a number of stylish looking recycle bins for plastic, paper, etc..
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello CKvacationer, thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and informative review. We are so glad you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort during your stay. It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed your views, your dining experience in Corn Maiden, your room, and our service. We always appreciate our guests feedback and we hope that we will have the chance to serve you again for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First time visiting but definitely not the LAST! This was everything you could ever ask for in a resort, great food, fantastic staff and an absolutely gorgeous property. My wife and I talked about exploring Albuquerque but just couldn't leave. What a wonderful weekend! Thank you all at Hyatt Tamaya Resort!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Dean B, you are more than welcome! We are so happy to hear your first time staying with us was so special. We are glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed our property, food and staff! We are looking forward to having you with us again soon, safe travels to you!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, nm
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I think I like this resort hotel more than any other that I have experienced. It has extremely high quality service, great restaurants, very big and clean rooms and pure serenity. Will go back again this fall.

Green Features: Hyatt is committed to helping the environment and it is in evidence all over the hotel and their practices.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Ewilliams966, Thank you for sharing your experience, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Please come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tamya for 6 days and enjoyed everyone of them. the service was impeccable. the staff were freindly and always had time to answer questions or help in ant way and even though the resort is quite active, our room was quiet and restful. the view of the mountains was amazing and something we enjoyed daily and especially looked forward to at evening when the Sangria Mountains earn their name. We will return to this resort again!

Room Tip: all romms have a great view but ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
Green Features: The resort participates in recycling and is friendly to the environment.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello Gary v, thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay. We love that you had such a wonderful time with us and we were able to have you with us for 6 days! We are happy to hear our staff were helpful and friendly and you found your room peaceful. It is important to us that our guests feel relaxed and get to enjoy the beautiful scenery around us! Looking forward to having you for a future stay.
Sincerely,
Jena Marquez Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The view is fantastic and the adult pool was very relaxing. The food we had was also very tasty! The hotel is around the corner from a large casino. My complaint is this hotel among others seems to be cutting costs by cutting services that women need. NO MAKEUP MIRROR! The lighting in the bathroom is dim and there is no way to see to even apply make up much less the end result. Seriously, at this level of a resort, put in a proper mirror. It makes difference when you have functions to attend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello dship0917,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry we failed to make you aware of the products and services we provide for women travelers. During our next renovation these issues will be addressed in every room as we completely agree with you. Please visit www.tamaya.hyatt.com to see all of the Women’s experience items we currently stock including makeup mirrors on request so your next visit will be more convenient.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are planning a relaxing vacation to the “Land of Enchantment” and are considering the Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort and Spa, do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere! This was our third visit to the Tamaya and needless to say, our final one. During our prior stays we found this Hyatt Regency Hotel to be a welcoming place for convention goers, business travelers, and leisure seekers alike and felt surrounded by enthusiastic service, eager to make sure our needs were met.

During our four day stay beginning June 6, 2013, we encountered many problems with the front desk, housekeeping, the Rio Grande Lounge, and events management (that is, the hotel manager). After our stay I read many reviews on TripAdvisor, and to my surprise our recent experiences were repetitions of prior uncorrected posted complaints. Sadly, I found humor in the Public Relations Manager response to many of them: “Thank you for bring the details of your stay to our attention. We will examine these matters further and use your feedback to improve our services for future guests.” (Not!)

I believe replacing the hotel manager and public relations persons would be the first step in returning the Tamaya to its former glory. Once replaced, the Hyatt quality assurance team could train the staff in the real meaning of Regency hospitality. Otherwise, this Property should lose its Regency status and be renamed the Hyatt Tamaya Wedding and Small Conference Center. The more significant problems are as follows.

After having traveled most of the day from Maryland, our series of misadventures began upon our late check-in. We were assured by the front desk that our room had the sitting balcony overlooking the Sandia Mountains that we had booked using Hyatt reward points back in December, and called the day before to reconfirm. Since our last meal was lunch, we were informed that the Rio Grande’s Kitchen was still serving diner but was getting ready to close. We quickly went to our room to drop off our bags and rushed to the Rio Grande to enjoy a light meal.

Our dinner at the Rio Grande was surprisingly disappointing. The menu had been recently changed by the hotel manager and was now dominated by barbeque & nachos plates. Gone were the Shrimp Cocktail and other lite fare. The brisket we ordered had no smoky flavor but was magically transformed into “barbeque” by slathering-on the commercially prepared sauce provided in dime store plastic squeeze bottles. Similar to other posted reviews, my wife’s Silver Coin Margarita (Bar’s signature drink) tasted like a diluted sour mix with a hint of tequila. My draft beer tasted skunky - the line between the keg and tap obviously had not been cleaned in some time. The drinks served in Mason jars were reminiscent of the Cracker Barrel.

The next morning we opened our drapes to find a “French” balcony (narrow with no sitting area). The check-in manager either had lied or was not familiar with the room layouts. Having read other about similar front desk problems, I firmly believe the real reason for this “mistake” was our use of Hyatt points to pay for a portion of our stay.

Later that day we walked around the property with our daughter and son-in-law (recently arrived from New York). We noticed that the property has not been improved and poorly maintained since our visit a few years ago. We were told by multiple staff that the renovation monies were being directed to the construction of a new 8000 sq ft. Pavilion for the Wedding & Convention business and to the multiple renovations of the hotel manager’s office. The good news was that the rest of the hotel is scheduled to be renovated in 2015. My experience is that the impact of a worn facility can be mitigated by a well trained and highly motivated service staff. Otherwise, the deteriorating appearance of the plant only accentuates problems created by a handful of poorly motivated and/or surly staff.

By the end of our stay we had to become experts in managing the Housekeeping process. Several times we returned after 5:00 PM to find housekeeping had missed cleaning our room. Other calls to housekeeping included requests (1) to borrow convenience items (such as, a lighted make-up mirror) normally found in the room, (2) to have clean towels (hotel recently went green), and (3) to change our bed linens prior to our departure. Finally, the housekeeping staff would not remove used food trays, plates and glasses unless place outside our door.

Now back to my adventures at the Rio Grande. On Saturday afternoon, I was meeting my son-in-law for cocktails while our wives were having Spa treatments. The Rio Grande area consists of the Living Room; the adjacent Bar & Lounge; and the outside Terrace (estimated 2000 sq ft) with connecting walkways to the Bosque. I arrived about an hour early to enjoy the serenity of the Living Room and was slightly disturbed by the staff setting up for a wedding event.

We were planning to have our cocktails outside but encountered a sign stating the Terrace was closed for a wedding. We found a quiet table in the Bar & Lounge and ordered some basic mixed drinks (no signature ones). Over the next two hours, the Rio Grande was quickly taken over by the gregarious wedding party (say 100-150 guests). The guests filled the Living Room and the overflow packed the Bar & Lounge. We were surrounded by a sea of noisy party-goers that made any table side conversation impossible.

Once the wedding guests moved to the separate and distinct Wedding Chapel area, I requested the check and complained to the waiter. Without apologizing the waiter explained “the Reception was only for a couple hours” and “this will be corrected upon the completion of the Pavilion being built in the Bosque”. He was echoing the hotel manager’s party line and was trying to make the manager’s problem (double booking of the Rio Grande space), my problem.

I paid the check and we proceeded to the Terrace (which was never used by the group, and not being used then). As soon as I opened the Terrace door I was blocked by someone. He refused our entrance even though I explained we were trying to access the walkways to the Bosque. I asked him to get the Hotel Manager to which he loudly responded “I am the Manager!” Obviously this person took his job of protecting the absentee wedding guests from the hotel quests quite seriously.

After calming down in my room, I decided to return to the Terrace to voice my outrage. I wanted to know why wedding guests (many who probably are not staying at the Hotel) have priority over Hotel Guests; why the Terrace was closed (since is was not being used) and, more importantly why there was no advanced notice that Rio Grande space was being restricted?

The wedding party was now enjoying their cocktails in the Ballroom area. Since the Manager had disappeared I went to the front desk and learned the person confronting me was not the Hotel Manager (she was offsite the entire weekend). I was asked to explain my frustrations and in return I heard the same party-line excuses again. At this point, I decided my next actions would be a letter to the Hyatt’s corporate office and this posting to TripAdvisors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello Lovemountains19, thank you for your feedback. We will be calling you directly to discuss.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, TIG Global and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.