We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love, love, love this property and could stay forever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I love, love, love this property and could stay forever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night on Memorial Day weekend. It was the fourth time we have stayed here over 4 years and the Hotel Tamaya still does not disappoint!

The resort itself is a little remote from the I25 exit. Don't let the strip mall feel of the Bernalillo exit fool you because at the end of your journey, you will be relaxing in a little slice of heaven.

Throughout the whole resort, the NM theme is in overdrive and the place is just magical. As you enter the hotel, they have a huge living room setup in southwestern decor, several fireplaces, and chess tables for guests to enjoy. As you enter the checkin area, they have water with fruit essence to your left to keep you hydrated in the desert atmosphere. In the lobby, native american music was playing overhead. The checkin staff was very nice, gracious, and accomodating.

The room and bathroom were clean (not overly luxurious), very comfortable, and nice. The bed had the signature comfortable Hyatt mattress. We were a party of 3 (plus a dog) and the layout and space of the king room (including a rollaway bed for our daughter) was generous and comfortable. After having dinner at the Flying Star cafe (in Bernalillo), we took our dog for a late night stroll around the resort. There were two weddings going on at the time but the events were not obtrusive to our stay. In fact, I have always said to my husband that this would be the ideal place for a wedding- the hotel is intimate, luxurious but not pretentious, and at night has the most romantic feel to it. The property is sprawling and I could just imagine individual members of the wedding party breaking away for a nighttime stroll with a significant other. We love just exploring all the nooks and crannies of the resort that are artfully laid out.

For this particular wedding, they had setup a huge lighted tent for the dance floor and it was just so beautiful to see the lighted tent against the backdrop of a dark blue sky with no other city lights impeding the scene. They had several areas with "campfires" ablaze where parties of 4 or 5 could sit and talk, roast marshmallows, and enjoy the moonlit view of the Sandia mountains.

The next morning, my husband took our dog out at 7 am for a stroll and had his Starbucks coffee in a log cabin-like rocking chair, enjoying the quiet view of the Sandia mountains on an outdoor terrace. We then had breakfast in the cafe which was awesome- I had the Huevos Rancheros and opted out of the buffet. After breakfast, we then went for a stroll along the Rio Grand in the Cottonwood Forest. I recommend bringing a good pair of sneakers that you don't mind getting dirty since the paths are dirt. They have an exercise path throughout the forest and the pictures we took were just so unbelievably beautiful (I will try to post them). Afterwards, we packed up our stuff and left to return back to Denver- it was just so nice to be well rested, well fed, and relaxed.

As a side note, two years ago, my family from the Chicago area and the east coast, joined us at the Hotel Tamaya for the New Years week. While the weather was chilly (not snowy), we had a great time with lots of quiet time with the kids. We went to a couple of museums in Santa Fe, to Los Alamos, and took the tram up the mountains. The New Years Eve celebration at the hotel was awesome- we had dinner in the Corn Maiden Restaurant without the kids- the food was great and we were able to enjoy the meal knowing that the kids were well taken care of. For the kids that night, the hotel had setup two banquet rooms with play stations and games. There were a ton of staff watching over the kids, and when it got late they setup an area of the room with a bunch of sleeping bags so that the kids could sleep while watching a movie on a large screen.

I mistakenly use this resort as a standard for all Hyatt hotels that I stay in across the country while travelling for business. Unfortunately, very few hotels can compare to this very very special place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello Mas4tune! Thank you so much for sharing your experience! It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed our Resort so much and you were able to escape with us for some relaxation over Memorial Day Weekend (and that you have been with us before as well!). There are so many beautiful areas to explore around the Resort! We agree with you about Tamaya being a great place to get married. The combination of the beautiful open skies and Sandia Mountains is truly magical! We look forward to having you with us for your next stay. Come and see us again soon. Until then, wishing you safe and fun travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    192
    40
    25
    11
See reviews for
194
212
25
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The Hyatt Regency is a great hotel for everyone. It has golf camps, 3 swimming pools, 3 restaurants and a Starbucks. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The room had a beautiful yard view, and it was super comfort. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you jujuschmidt! We appreciate your feedback and we are delighted you would recommend us! We hope we have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wow! What an awesome place! The views are spectacular. The staff is great. Food is good. I am sure there are other nice places to stay in the ABQ area but as far as I am concerned - this is the ONLY place to stay! I will be back! There is SO much Native American influence is just awe-inspiring. Who ever designed this hotel did their homework! Smart choices for parking, elevators, signage - everything! The Tamaya Mist Spa is a MUST! Tara was great! The facilities are top notch! There were alot of kids w/ it being a holiday weekend but it was still nice. Not alot of unnecessary ruckus for the most part. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good with great views but really splurge and get a room on the lobby/parking lot side...
See more room tips
Green Features: VERY environmentally friendly! They even donate the half-used shampoos etc.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Kerry W! Thank you for considering us to be the best place to stay in the Albuquerque area, what a compliment! It is so wonderful to hear you've enjoyed so many aspects of our Resort! We agree, we think we have a pretty unique and special place here! Make sure you come back and see us soon! Safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Background: We are Americans who pursue an active lifestyle, like to mix sightseeing with business trips, appreciate functional and clean lodging with easy-in and easy-out access. We avoid grand hotels and approach chains with care.

Pros: The best resort hotel by far in the Albuquerque area. Excellent staff and food. Quiet.
Cons: Limited counter space in bathroom.
Value: Depends on the deal you get.
Delighters: Wonderful bars of soap for the bathroom.
Disappointments: None


Location/access/immediate environment: North of town about a half hour from the airport. One road in and out. Beautiful natural setting.

Room detail:
Theme/feeling of room - Southwestern elegance
Size - More than adequate
Cleanliness - Superb
Bed & Linens - Modern, comfortable
Drawers - Plenty
Bathroom – Good shower head, decent shower pressure, plush towels, sink location in bathroom (no second sink), counter space (limited), excellent toiletries, functional hair dryer
Closet - Large and accessible, enough hangers
Mirrors - More than adequate
HVAC - Quiet and effective temperature control
Lighting - A bit underwhelming
Electrical outlets - Adequate
In room safe - Present, worked without incident
Refrigerator/Microwave - No microwave
TV – High definition with adequate channel selection

Operations:
Staff – Superb all around
Wi-Fi - Extra charge; a bit slow
Phone/mobile coverage - No problem with Verizon
Common areas - Very well maintained
Breakfast – Not included but high quality and reasonable selection
Parking - Adequate but a bit of a walk; lighting is suboptimal
Grounds - Fabulous including the forest near the Rio Grande River

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Trogons! Thank you! We are flattered you find us to be the best Resort in the Albuquerque area! We appreciate you sharing your stay with us in such great detail! It is helpful to know how you felt about each aspect of your stay. Feedback like this is wonderful and helps us to examine our services in greater detail. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and we hope to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith MT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a bit of paradise tucked away in the country. It is a bit of drive to get to it, but well worth it. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The spa was just delightful. There is an additional fee but well worth it. We ate at the casual restaurant and the food was exceptional and the staff was accomodating and professional. We had a room near the pool which was handy as we wanted to use the pool. If we didn't it would have been too close and exposed to quite a bit of outside traffic. I took the walk along the river in the morning and it was nice trails and very pretty. There was construction going on and that was noisy and some of the trail was closed but has to be expected in order to maintain the property. I hope to return!

Room Tip: I would request a room on the second floor for a better view. It may be helpful to know what you wa...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love the smell of sage that permeates the lobby. They have fruit infused water all over the place for your enjoyment. They don't miss much there. The shops are nice and reasonable also.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Janet_DFortSmith! We are glad you were able to stay with us! We hope you enjoyed your pool time and walks on the trails, this is a great time of year to be outside in the gorgeous weather. We apologize for the noise, we are building a brand new 8,000 sq. ft Pavilion in the Bosque opening in late Summer! We hope you will be able to return for another stay! Wishing you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The drive up to the resort was beautiful. It was neat how the resort blended into the natural surroundings. The decorations and atmosphere of the grounds were great, really capturing that New Mexico/pueblo feel. We really didn't spend a lot of time on the property grounds, instead venturing out on our own. The breakfast bar in the X was pleasant enough, offering you a semi-private balcony overlooking the main courtyard and pool. The rooms themselves were average. Not much to say there. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Mufashi! We are so happy you were able to stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This resort has it all: several restaurants, three pools, golf, horses back riding, beautiful grounds, even a spot to launch our hot air balloon. Sit on the patio at the Rio Grande lounge, enjoy a casual meal and admire the view of the Sandia mountains. I will visit again, maybe during the week when fewer kids might be around. Also, friendly, helpful staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Suz505! Thank you for sharing your experience! We are delighted you came down from Santa Fe to stay with us. This time of year is wonderful to relax in the Rio Grande Lounge and take in the views of the Sandias! We hope you can make it down to see us soon, we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.