We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Southwest Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable Southwest Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Background: We are Americans who pursue an active lifestyle, like to mix sightseeing with business trips, appreciate functional and clean lodging with easy-in and easy-out access. We avoid grand hotels and approach chains with care.

Pros: The best resort hotel by far in the Albuquerque area. Excellent staff and food. Quiet.
Cons: Limited counter space in bathroom.
Value: Depends on the deal you get.
Delighters: Wonderful bars of soap for the bathroom.
Disappointments: None


Location/access/immediate environment: North of town about a half hour from the airport. One road in and out. Beautiful natural setting.

Room detail:
Theme/feeling of room - Southwestern elegance
Size - More than adequate
Cleanliness - Superb
Bed & Linens - Modern, comfortable
Drawers - Plenty
Bathroom – Good shower head, decent shower pressure, plush towels, sink location in bathroom (no second sink), counter space (limited), excellent toiletries, functional hair dryer
Closet - Large and accessible, enough hangers
Mirrors - More than adequate
HVAC - Quiet and effective temperature control
Lighting - A bit underwhelming
Electrical outlets - Adequate
In room safe - Present, worked without incident
Refrigerator/Microwave - No microwave
TV – High definition with adequate channel selection

Operations:
Staff – Superb all around
Wi-Fi - Extra charge; a bit slow
Phone/mobile coverage - No problem with Verizon
Common areas - Very well maintained
Breakfast – Not included but high quality and reasonable selection
Parking - Adequate but a bit of a walk; lighting is suboptimal
Grounds - Fabulous including the forest near the Rio Grande River

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Trogons! Thank you! We are flattered you find us to be the best Resort in the Albuquerque area! We appreciate you sharing your stay with us in such great detail! It is helpful to know how you felt about each aspect of your stay. Feedback like this is wonderful and helps us to examine our services in greater detail. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and we hope to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    204
    42
    29
    12
See reviews for
202
224
27
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith MT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a bit of paradise tucked away in the country. It is a bit of drive to get to it, but well worth it. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The spa was just delightful. There is an additional fee but well worth it. We ate at the casual restaurant and the food was exceptional and the staff was accomodating and professional. We had a room near the pool which was handy as we wanted to use the pool. If we didn't it would have been too close and exposed to quite a bit of outside traffic. I took the walk along the river in the morning and it was nice trails and very pretty. There was construction going on and that was noisy and some of the trail was closed but has to be expected in order to maintain the property. I hope to return!

Room Tip: I would request a room on the second floor for a better view. It may be helpful to know what you wa...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love the smell of sage that permeates the lobby. They have fruit infused water all over the place for your enjoyment. They don't miss much there. The shops are nice and reasonable also.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Janet_DFortSmith! We are glad you were able to stay with us! We hope you enjoyed your pool time and walks on the trails, this is a great time of year to be outside in the gorgeous weather. We apologize for the noise, we are building a brand new 8,000 sq. ft Pavilion in the Bosque opening in late Summer! We hope you will be able to return for another stay! Wishing you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The drive up to the resort was beautiful. It was neat how the resort blended into the natural surroundings. The decorations and atmosphere of the grounds were great, really capturing that New Mexico/pueblo feel. We really didn't spend a lot of time on the property grounds, instead venturing out on our own. The breakfast bar in the X was pleasant enough, offering you a semi-private balcony overlooking the main courtyard and pool. The rooms themselves were average. Not much to say there. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Mufashi! We are so happy you were able to stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This resort has it all: several restaurants, three pools, golf, horses back riding, beautiful grounds, even a spot to launch our hot air balloon. Sit on the patio at the Rio Grande lounge, enjoy a casual meal and admire the view of the Sandia mountains. I will visit again, maybe during the week when fewer kids might be around. Also, friendly, helpful staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Suz505! Thank you for sharing your experience! We are delighted you came down from Santa Fe to stay with us. This time of year is wonderful to relax in the Rio Grande Lounge and take in the views of the Sandias! We hope you can make it down to see us soon, we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Beautiful place. Outstanding service from the time you drive up to the check in each person that helped us was friendly and you knew that they wanted to provide outstanding service to each guest. Our room faced the golf course with table and chairs to enjoy our coffee in the morning and a glass of champagne before dinner. We will be here for a week and plan to enjoy all of the amenities that this gorgeous place has to offer,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Satx24, thank you for the kind words! Our number one priority is making our guests feel welcome so we are delighted to hear you've received outstanding and friendly service! Isn't the view of the golf course beautiful? We are thrilled we have a whole week to host you, please feel free let us know if you need anything! Wishing you a wonderful and relaxing stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was on a business trip with my wife, and we decided to make this as much as a vacation as possible. It has been a couple of years since we've been able to go together. That in combination with being there a week really gave us chance to enjoy the hotel.

You pull up to the front entrance of the hotel and you are warmly greeted by the staff. They immediately help you with your luggage and are very gracious. I did not use valet because the self parking isn't far, and it is free.

If anyone is near the front door, they will open it for you.

The lobby is quite beautiful southwest design. There are backgammon, chess and checker boards available for use. The doors on the opposite side open to beautiful views of the Sandia mountains. The lounge and the Corn Maiden (and some rooms) have that fantastic view. The resort is on the edge of some protected land, so it seems like you are out in the distant country even though you are not that far from town (maybe 5 minutes by car).

The check in process was very easy and efficient. The staff at this hotel is really great, as mentioned in other reviews. Since we were in for a week, I asked to see the different room options. The lady at the front desk was very helpful. She even took us to see the rooms before we checked in. The service worked and we selected an executive suite with a view of the Sandia mountains.

We both were tired and decided to have a light dinner in the lounge overlooking that wonderful view. They served western barbecue family style. Ribs, coleslaw, mac and cheese. They were all very good. The drinks were excellent also.

The room was quite nice. The bed was very comfortable. The furnishings and balconies were quite nice. The suite had a kitchenette in it that was more like a large wet bar. There was a full sized refrigerator but no stove or microwave. It was helpful for water bottles and coffee, but there was no place to reheat leftovers. It would have been nice if that was available.

The bathroom was smallish for a room of this type. The hallway leading to the main closet and the hallway was very large. You could have given away a third of the width to add more space and a larger tub in there (a whirpool tub would be perfect).

The only problem we had with the room was the television. The channel selection isn't great, but not a huge problem. The problem was with the reception. Some of the channels had a lot of white noise, and there were less channels on one TV than the other. I talked to the mechanic about the problems. He said that he could do nothing about the white noise, but he could fix the missing channels on the one TV. Unfortunately, the missing channels did not appear, and two more channels disappeared from both TVs.

The breakfast buffet provided in the Santa Ana cafe is excellent. There were a complete selection of southwest, continental, and even vegan selections. There was an omelette stand, but there were so many other interesting and tasty things to eat that I didn't even bother with it. The buffet is well worth the price.

On Friday night, there is a prime rib buffet. It has much more than prime rib. It is very extensive like the breakfast buffet. It is also a great bargain for what you get (I can't say that at most resorts!) It is much more than just prime rib.

We also ate at the flagship restaurant, The Corn Maiden. We sat outside. The food was excellent. I had The Range rotisserie, which included a chopped salad, green chile potatos au gratin, and sauteed vegetables. My wife had the green chile braised lamb shank with a side of of the roasted corn and sage risotto. Everything was flavorful and very tasty.

With that being said, there is one serious problem with the Corn Maiden. The music in the restaurant is terrible. They have a noisy selection of top 40 playing. Looking over the beautiful terrain, watching birds, wild turkey, and coyotes interact while eating a excellent meal would be perfect--except for the terrible music. No one was even able to turn the channel or shut it off. It was so bad that we decided to skip dessert to get away from the music.

The only other food issue is I wish there were another selection other than dark roast coffee. The Seattle influence has taken over the West. I wish I could get some light roast. I ended up switching to tea for the week.

The spa gave excellent treatments. They were expensive, really too expensive, but the staff was quite competent. I had the West Journey and my wife had the South Journey. The men's locker room and private hot tub, steam room, and sauna where well maintained and quite nice. The steam isn't quite as good as the Ritz Carlton Kapalua (haven't found one that is), but it was nice. The hot tub had a very nice feature where you could stand it 5 ft of water and have sets of jets move up and down the your body. This was really nice. I wish all hot tubs had this feature.

The only other negative was in the spa. It was lunch. The only place to eat was in an area that had an abandoned hot tub disguised as a rock garden. The place was paved in grey concrete stamped to look like paver stones. It reminded me of Alexanderplatz in East Berlin before the wall came down. There were a couple tables under some shade where we could eat. Lunch wasn't really served at the spa. They had you use room service (with all of its up charges). On top of the extra charges, the food was served in paper boxes with plasticware. It is bad enough to charge for room service in a public area of the hotel--but to upcharge and serve it and with disposable utensils. It was a big disappointment.

The other problem is the hot tub, steam rooms, and sauna are unisex. There is no place for couples to enjoy the facilities together. Here is an idea: take out "Alexanderplatz" and make it an area for couples to enjoy. At least put in a place where you can have a nice lunch. And STOP considering that eating in the spa is room service, esp. if you are going to serve lunch using take out boxes.

Still, the best part of this experience for me was the trail ride. What a wonderful place for a ride! The terrain is unbelievable! The stables are also excellent. The horse I had was the best horse for hire I have ever rode. He was a joy.

Overall this was a very good experience. I recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Sandia mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Jmk5! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us in detail. It gives us a great sense of your overall stay. It is wonderful to hear you were able to experience many of our activities including a day in our Spa and a Trail Ride! Our surrounding terrain is truly something special! It sounds like you and your wife enjoyed yourselves with the exception of a few experiences. These matters will be looked into further. We always appreciate hearing from our guests about their stays and with input like yours we are able to continually improve our services. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you and your wife on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My family, kids 10, 9, & 7 stay here at least twice a year for a vacation close to home. My family loves the pool area and the on grounds activies. The restaurants are wonderful and they are a good value. I also have been to the spa a few times. Each time my friends and I swear we had the best massage ever. It is a ways away from the big city, so it is a great 'getaway' with a unique tibal feel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello Carmen R! How wonderful you and your family are able to stay with us a few times a year! It is great to hear you've been able to experience many of our Resort activities and you've enjoyed yourself! We look forward to having you with us again for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.