We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort alternative to downtown hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Something Extra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great resort alternative to downtown hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The resort is an easy 20 minute drive from the Albuquerque airport.

Large resort style hotel with impressive lobby, small shops (including a Starbucks) and Spa facilities. The hotel also has outdoor pools (one is adult only) and plenty of lounge chairs. There is also a golf course, walking paths and a stable.

Room was large and comfortable with a patio. There are restaurants on site and the resort is a very short drive to a highway with chain restaurants, etc. A Native American casino is close by.

The hotel was a good alternative to staying downtown Albuquerque (being close to the City but feeling far away). Staff was very helpful and efficient and spa was top notch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our property! We are happy to hear you found so many aspects of your stay to your liking. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    237
    50
    33
    14
See reviews for
257
274
28
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magdalena, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First time there and the Hotel is great! The room was great, the location is good. so quiet. Wish I had the time to play golf!! Now for the Corn Median restaurant: Very disappointed, I has tapas, hoping for great tastes. I didn't get the flavor. I had the blue corn quail, the fritters and the green chile potato chowder. The soup was ok. The fritters were tasteless and the quail was very over done. To be fair, the others in our party had good meals, all with meats. So, in saying, eat the meat. I will mention the prices were outrageous.

Room Tip: Go for the meat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your room and our location. We appreciate you taking the time to share your dining experience with us. These matters will be looked into further and It is with feedback like yours that we are able to continually improve our services. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This property is lovely but my "So Nice" title refers to the people working at Tamaya. Truly these employees are so pleasant and helpful -- we were impressed by this at every turn. The resort is so peaceful but in all truthfulness, we were there at a very off-season and uncrowded time. Loved that! And my husband loved the golf course!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It is wonderful to hear you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful and your husband enjoyed the golf course! It gives us great pleasure to take care of our guests and we sincerely hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Tamaya surpasses greatness. The rooms allow for a peaceful sleep. The staff attends to ones every need. Each morning we started our day with breakfast at the Santa Ana Cafe. You know your day is going to be perfect when the meal is perfect... We each had the Breakfast Buffet, can't go wrong with that! Our dinners at the Corn Maiden were delicious! I had the best Buffalo Rib eye. My husband selected the Ahi Tuna. My husband and I went during the Christmas season and it was magical to sit there with tasteful food and decor that was not gaudy. At the Spa my husband gifted me with a salt scrub, mist facial and swedish massage. Can I just say that I never wanted to leave. I believe that's how one should feel when they go to a resort. They should never want to leave paradise and Tamaya is just that paradise!

Room Tip: We did travel a distance through a breeze way and it was wind and cold, but worth the walk. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It is so wonderful to hear you had such a great experience with us! We are glad you enjoyed your dining experiences, service, and you were able to take advantage of our world class Spa! We are sincerely happy to hear feedback of this nature and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Everyone there seemed like they love coming to work. The look of their faces said "this is what we do and we do it well". (I appreciate being around people who love what they do). Right away we felt welcomed.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted warmly by the doorman who assisted with our luggage (not so with other places we've been to). When we arrived it was late, it was chilly and we were exhausted - so these little things were noticeably and appreciated. Check-in was a breeze. We were given a nice overview of the place by Eric which filled us with anticipation for the coming days possibilities. We chatted with the gentleman as he escorted us to our room. We had to do a quick room change, but Haley came right away and made sure everything was to our satisfaction.

The next morning we ordered in-room dining. Our breakfast came in a jiffy. Later, as I walked around the property I met more wonderful people and stopped by to enjoy a free bread tasting event of warm, freshly baked bread, New Mexico style, with interesting types of authentic butters and jams to chose from. As I wondered through the place, the scenery and native music made me feel a world away. Every day of our stay was wonderful. We didn't get to do everything we had in mind, but we were able to see the horses and we had a wonderful time.

First of all know what to expect. If you are the type that's looking for night life, go to Miami or NYC. This is a wonderful luxury ranch/resort type property with horses, outdoor pools, and biking trails but with the luxuries like a spa, golf and wonderful room service. The property is a little off the road because it was built on an Indian reservation I believe, but just opposite the entrance to the property is a 24-hr super Walmart, fast food places, etc so it's not "in the middle of nowhere" like some reviews would have you believe. It's perfect for couples and families who want to get away from the boring everyday stuff if you enjoy nature and culture.

Room Tip: The suite is well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It is so wonderful to hear you enjoyed our service and many aspects of our Resort! We are glad you were able to see our horses and you were also able to sample some of our traditional pueblo oven baked bread. We pride ourselves on our unique cultural experiences and tranquil location so it is always great to hear back from our guests that they enjoyed themselves. Next time you are with us we hope you will be able to partake in the many other activities we offer to our guests. We hope to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I can't think of anything negative about this place. The rooms are spacious, clean, and quiet. Comfortable beds. The staff in the gift shop, restaurants, housekeeping, and at the front desk were all helpful and friendly. I was here for meetings so didn't have enough free time to use any of the spa services, but I did take a couple walks on the property....beautiful! The pool area is well maintained. I would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our rooms, service, and were able to have some time to explore our scenery! We hope to see you again for a future stay, be it business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an amazing resort. The Hyatt has really incorporated some great aspects of the area. The service was the best I have ever had. The rooms were great, especially the patio. We booked with the free time package so we had a couple of free nights and free breakfasts, which were fantastic! We did the story time and smores (we were traveling with a child). There was a children's book author who was a Native American that lived on the reservation where the Hyatt is located that told stories around the campfire, it was so good! The Kiva pool was closed, but the main pool with the water slide was open and heated. The Jacuzzi was also available. They had nice towels, pool noodles, sports equipment... available for no charge. There is also a store called the Trading Post that had very reasonable lunch/dinners in their cooler if you want to eat on your balcony and very yummy ice cream for only 2$. There was a bar-b-q restaurant that we had lunch at once and picked up for dinner once, it was very good. Just odd that it was Kansas City style, but it was good. There is an American Type restaurant where we had breakfast (menu was better than buffet) and an upscale restaurant that we did not visit. The area had many great areas to get away and see nature. The Jimez mountains had many great sites (the concierge has a map and there is a visitor's center at base) and the tram way was a must do. We did not have time to go to Tent Rocks, but we heard that it was great. We rented our car at the Albuquerque airport from Advantage, very inexpensive, and had no issues at all.

Room Tip: I asked for an upstairs room based on other's tips. It really was great. We had room 4255. It ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are delighted you were able take advantage of our Hyatt Free Time package and had such a wonderful stay with us! It delights us to hear you not only enjoyed our property, but also that you were able to take part in Story Time with your family. It gives us great pleasure to hear back from our guests regarding their stays and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope we will have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#1 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#14 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#45 of 148 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.