We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Since this hotel has been nationally ranked, it goes without saying that the rooms are elegant, modern, and spotless. The hotel is nestled into the Santa Ana Pueblo land west of Bernalillo, just north of Albuquerque. The structure blends in very harmoniously with the landscape and upon arriving, there are no signs of the city of Albuquerque or even the small town of Bernalillo. Upon entering, one finds a large lobby whose far wall affords a magnificent view of the Sandia Mountains and the Bosque along the river. We have been here several times and we are always struck by the sense of isolation. Soft flute music flowing throughout the common areas creates a sense of tranquility, making it easy to forget the frantic pressures of daily living and tune in to one's inner self. So, the real question is whether or not you will enjoy your stay. If your goal is to have a restful vacation, reuniting body and spirit, you will not be disappointed. But, if you wish to enjoy the activities of metropolitan Albuquerque, another hotel will be more to your liking. (There is another Hyatt Regency in downtown Albuquerque) Our stay was intended to be a short romantic getaway, and as a result we found the place magnificent.

There is one thing that should he noted. This is a fairly large hotel, but it is not a high rise hotel. As a result, it is spread out over quite a large area and some rooms are quite a way from the lobby. Our room was at the end of a corridor and was over 400 feet from the elevator. Although this caused us no problem, if walking is a challenge, you should ask for a room close-in. I cannot imagine that your request would not be honored.

So, if you are looking for a quiet getaway in a beautiful setting, make this your Walden Pond (although your accommodations will be a significant improvement on Mr. Thoreau's cabin). you won't regret it.

Room Tip: If walking is a challenge, request a room close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed a romantic getaway with us and you found our resort to be an escape from the pressures and stress of daily life. We pride ourselves on our tranquil location and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time you are with us feel free to request a room in a particular area and if availability permits we would be happy to place you in your preferred area of the hotel. Once again thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    180
    36
    21
    11
See reviews for
177
203
24
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Overlooking the Rio Grande and the Sandia Mountains, with spectacular grounds, great spa facilities including heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms, etc., it is a perfect spot for a serious professional meeting or just a getaway. The staff is outstanding, incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are large, comfortable, and well-maintained.

Well, well-maintained except for one thing. Internet access is spotty at best. We started with a junior suite located outside the main hallways in a courtyard. Sounds great, as it was close to the pool and the outdoor hot tub. But as we were attending a business conference, internet access was crucial. I could not get a wireless signal in this area of the hotel. No problem, I could use the wired Ethernet connection instead. No luck! I attached my cable to the Ethernet port built into the desk (nice touch), but nothing happened. So I looked around and discovered that the built-in port was not attached to anything. So I called the front desk and promptly an engineer appeared with a 30 foot Ethernet cable. Turns out that the Ethernet connection was on behind a sofa on the wall opposite the desk! So we ran the cable across the floor and tried again. Still no luck. At this point, the asked if we would like to change to a suite not in an outside courtyard. We did. And, guess what? We had the same configuration in the new junior suite but, this time the wireless worked as did the 30 foot cable strung across the room.

So that problem was solved, but as I moved through the hotel with an IPad or an IPhone, the wireless signal would drop. Also, I would lose my 4G signal intermittently as well. I lived with it. After all, we were not in a metropolis. It was a minor annoyance in an otherwise outstanding venue.

Room Tip: If internet access is important, stay within the heated confines of the hotel. Do not take a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay. We truly value the feedback our guests share and it is guests like you who help us to continually improve our services. We are thrilled you enjoyed our grounds and you found our service to be prompt and friendly. Your experience with our internet services will be looked into further in order to prevent any kind of difficulties in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We loved this hotel. The staff was awesome, their breakfast buffet was fabulous and their restaurants we are great. Their room was beautiful, clean and spacious. We asked for a balcony room. Their concierge was extremely helpful and recommended great restaurants and balloon company. Only negative was the $30 resort fee which was not listed anywhere on their website or expertise and extremely long walk from room to front desk.

Room Tip: Ask fir room closer to desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the restaurants as well as our service. Included in the $23.00 Resort fee is our Guest Room Internet, Fitness Center, Resort Recreation Facilities including the pools, Admission to our Cultural Learning Center, Spa Access, Bottled water, Seasonal cultural events, shuttle service to Twin Warriors Golf Club, Santa Ana Golf Club, and Santa Ana Star Casino, and Self- Parking, among many other amenities. We hope you will join us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this resort while traveling with my two dogs as I drove cross country. Bell service was great as the parking lot is a little distance from the resort. Beautiful pool and golf course. Very nice welcome gift for my dogs. I would love to return when the weather is warmer to enjoy the pool. Excellent room service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience! We are delighted you enjoyed our surroundings, service, and your dogs had a pleasant stay with us as well. We hope all three of you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglaston, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Tamaya was a wonderful getaway. The grounds and surroundings are beautiful and views are spectacular. The rooms are fine. Staff is incredibly attentive and helpful. The location feel remote and secluded but is well located with easy access to Santa Fe and Albuquerque.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted you found our service to be attentive and helpful and you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings. We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Another nice Hyatt hotel that resembles pueblo. The rooms are nice, also affordable. The downside is the locoation, in the middle of sage brush field and a few miles out of town. Front desk staff, one is pleasant and one is not. Nice place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our Pueblo Feel. The Resort is located on 500 acres of Tribal Land and was developed to take advantage of the native flora and fauna without disrupting the ancient setting that we are on. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'm a local who was looking for a good haircut. A friend recommended Michelle and we came together, with my friend receiving a pedicure. We had a lovely afternoon! I really like the cut and included with the cost, at least in winter I believe, is use of the spa. The whirlpool contains a
"tube" that blasts the body with water (and felt like a massage), and the steam room was so full of steam (and eucalyptus), it was really enjoyable. When it's time for another haircut, I look forward to seeing Michelle and hopefully treating myself to the spa experience again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your spa experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your afternoon and were able to enjoy our spa amenities with your haircut. We hope you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.