We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
GreenLeadersSilver level
new Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We returned for another summer stay at Hyatt Tamaya. We enjoyed biking in the morning, the gym during the heat of the day, pools in the evening, and there is always lots of walking ( just to get where you are going!) Breakfast buffet had healthy choices.We brought our grown kids. It was a big let down that the spa facilities (sauna/ hot tub) is no longer included in the resort fee. That was one of the best grown up "activities" offered, and I would trade the spotty room wireless for that in a minute.
Thanks to the staff for a really nice stay. Our 4th floor balcony room overlooked the pool with a beautiful mountain view!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort and Spa. We are delighted that you returned for another stay with us and that it was relaxing. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our many fitness activities and healthy dining choices. It would be our pleasure to host you again and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    204
    42
    29
    12
See reviews for
203
224
27
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It is impossible to locate this fine resort in TripAdvisor unless you know the name. Who would ever search for the best hotels on the Santa Ana Pueblo? Prairie Star Restaurant is in Santa Ana and appears in Bernalilo. It's not there; it's not in Albuquerque, its not even findable in the groupings of just hotels.

This is not a unique problem for TripAdvisor: you have to identify every small town in a region in order to find the restaurants and hotels in a general area that is not strictly speaking a metro-area, and then they are not compared with their nearby competitors, 5 or 10 miles away. Trip Advisor needs to rethink their approach so that one of the best hotels in New Mexico hits the radar screen despite being only a half mile from Bernalilo and twelve minutes from the Albuquerque airport.

Room Tip: Look for the best hotels in Santa Ana (there is only one hotel) or you won't find this one in Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you posting about your difficulty in locating us on TripAdvisor. We thank you for sharing that Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa is one of the best hotels in New Mexico and hope to host you again the next time you are here!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I loved this hotel. The thing that struck me the most was the politeness and upbeat attitude of the entire staff. I've never been in a hotel with such friendly employees. It's almost disarming if you come from a less friendly, big city.

The rooms are nice...typical of what you'd find in a comparable class of hotel (i.e., Marriott, Hilton, etc). I think it's definitely worth paying a little extra for a mountain view room. The views of the expansive green lawns, wild grasses and mountains are extremely relaxing.

My only complaint with this hotel is that the food is very expensive and not that great. I'm not sure this is something unique to this hotel. I've seen this in other comparable properties. Although the remoteness of the hotel adds to its charm, the location is a drawback if you want to venture off the property in search of a nice dinner. The only places to eat nearby are fast-food-type places. If you want to eat somewhere nice, you're going to have to drive 30-40 minutes for it.

If I were to visit NM again, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view room. I think it's worth the extra cost. I also like the first floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the politeness and upbeat attitude of our entire staff. We are thrilled to read that if you ever visit New Mexico again that you will definitely stay at Tamaya. We cannot wait to host you again!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was my first time at the Tamaya and hopefully I will get another chance to go there. It is a beautiful hotel situated beautifully into the surrounding environment. The rooms are very well appointed with balcony's to enjoy the sun rise or sun set. The pool area is beautiful and has all the right things for kids to enjoy. There are a number of trails behind the facility which I used to run in the am as the sun came up. They were a treat. The staff is attentive and very interested in making sure you are satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to read that our staff is attentive and make sure to see that you are satisfied. We are also happy to read that you were pleased with our rooms and that you were able to use our many trails for your morning run. We pride ourselves in utilizing feedback like yours to keep our guests happy during future stays, so thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to host you again the next time you are in New Mexico!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wedged in between Albequerke and Santa Fe, absolutely great. People are wonderful. Vanessa at the front desk was a Hugh help
Breakfast was great and plenty of restaurants for dinner
Pools, restaurants, shops, total relaxation. Will do it again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing time and enjoyed our wonderful staff, pools, restaurants and shops. We are also happy to hear that Vanessa at the front desk was a huge help. We will be sure to share your compliment with her. We hope to host you again, hopefully in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed at Tamaya four times with our two teen age sons. The cost is pretty reasonable if you get the "one night free if stay three" package and also get the free breakfasts deal.

Their Santa Fe restaurant has breakfasts with good menu selections and a nice, small buffet. We have never eaten at their Corn Maiden "high end" restaurant.

Nice pools (3). Separate pool for adults is quieter. We like the walking trails by the Rio Grande/Cottonwoods for morning/evening walks. We also like to have drinks/nachos on the patio overlooking the Sandia Mountains in the evening. OK fitness center with weights/areobic machines. We have never used the spa or golf course.

The horse trail rides are $75 for about an hour ride and are a nice diversion for kids. We have also rafted with New Wave up at Taos a couple of times which is a good day trip. This year took a Rainbow Ryders balloon ride which was pricey, but different (starts very early!). Old Town Albuquerque is interesting, but once is enough if you have kids. Took the Sandia Peak Tram ride once which was OK (take a sweatshirt - it's cool up there).

The Tamaya staff/service has always been good for us. Very friendly and professional. We usually get one Regency Room which provides snacks/hors duerves/light breakfast during the day for an extra charge.

If you get tired of resort food, the Range Cafe in Bernalillo is close, good and reasonably priced. Retro motif with lots of locals. Most of their food has some spice/heat to it. Also have an ice cream fountain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in July at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are happy to read that our staff and service is good and that you enjoyed the many amenities and services that we provide. We hope that you will join us again the next time you are back in New Mexico!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Tamaya is definitely one of the nicer resorts in NM. However, be prepared to pay. It's definetely pricey. The pool area is great - and the water slide is a favorite for both the young and the young at heart. Many of the pool seats have shade umbrellas attached to them - so if you like to have that option get to the pool early. It could use some updating but overall its a great place for a little getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool area during your stay and that Tamaya is a great getaway for New Mexico residents. We hope to host you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trail, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa New Mexico/Santa Ana Pueblo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.