We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickham Place

Wickham Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hurstpierpoint
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wickham Place
Save
You added Wickham Place to your Saves list
Wickham Drive, Hurstpierpoint BN6 9AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and comfortable and Bill's breakfasts are delicious. We enjoyed a stroll into the village for dinner, and an easy drive to Hickstead for the horse show. Wickham Place is very friendly and welcoming, I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
lovely visitors from Australia
it was a pleasure to have them stay here .I am so pleased they enjoyed as we do really try to make our guests welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked 2 rooms ( 1 double for 2 adults and 1 family for 4 children) at Wickham place 6 months in advance for a family wedding in Hurspierpoint. We then suggested the place to other family members who also booked. On the day the owners had double booked our double room putting my parents into it. We were left without sufficient accommodation. The owners were extremely rude and unhelpful about the situation basically suggesting that I wasn't telling the truth about the booking.

The problem lies in the antiquity of the business model. When I booked they refused my offer of a deposit and didn't provide any sort of booking confirmation. While this approach is quaint and friendly it potentially allows problems to develop. Judging by the stressed and defensive reaction of the owner when the problem materialised I'd guess this wasn't the first time it had happened.

If you are thinking of staying at this B&B I'd recommend that you insist on some sort of confirmation or you could be left high and dry. Should you find yourself in this position you'll be treated with quite unbelievable levels of rudeness.

I cannot comment on the quality of the establishment as I didn't get to stay. I can safely say I'll never consider it again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I was sad to read this review as we try really hard to to make our guests stay enjoyable and trouble free as possible .Unfortunately on this occasion there was some confusion that caused our guest inconvenience
I am really sorry for the inconvenience caused to our guest and hope the following explains to him and to other readers what happened on this occasion
.
1 We did not double book the rooms as stated in this review. Although I can understand why it was thought we had.. As far as we can recall we have never double booked a room

2 The reviwer ( Mr A ) correctly says he booked 2 rooms 1 family room for 4 and 1 room for 2 for 1 night on a Friday and received verbal confirmation from myself .That was in our booking diary and never in doubt It is also true that he did not receive any written confirmation. ,neither was any requested .Even if he had the situation would have been the same

3 His mother did'nt book a room directly with us either. Unknown to us until later ,her room was booked by Another guest ( Mrs B ) under a totally different name who booked 2 rooms under her own name .1 room for Thurs and Fri and 1 room for Fri only for HER mother .
4 Mr A’s mother phoned up under her own name ( the same as his ) to confirm a room had been booked for her for the Fri and requested accommodation for the Thurs as well .Given the names were the same we assumed this was part of the Mr A’s booking and allocated her one of his rooms .so far so good
5 After arriving she mentioned that there were 6 people still to come with her sons party I advised her that the room left could not accommodate that number of people .
Mr A then phoned up that evening and was given the same information as was his wife who phoned up later. I am well aware of customer care and at no time was I rude to either of them .however I was adamant that the remaining room was not big enough for 6 people and there it was left
6 The following morning Fri, I asked Mrs B when her mother would be arriving .It was only after she explained that her mother was also Mr A's mother that we realised the reservation booked for her was a different room booked under a different name .and Mr A still had 2 rooms
Following the confusion I understand they contacted Mr A who not unreasonably had already booked elsewhere and we were left with 2 rooms no longer required .
7 The reviewer may feel our system is antiquated and quaint but it works very well for both us and our guests.We do not use other booking agents or systems and our diary prevents duplication ..We do not require deposits instead trust our guests to keep to the agreement made.If they do need to cancel their booking they can do so without financial penalty. We see that as good customer relations
Perhaps in retrospect we should have requested the name of Mrs B’s mother which might have prevented the mix up but at the time it seemed a straight forward booking

Bill Moore
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very friendly welcome and a lovely room with a distant view of the South Downs. Very comfortable bed and a lovely big room. Breakfast, cooked by Bill, was lovely with local produce and home made jams. The large table used by all guests was great enabling interesting conversation and we nearly sat talking all morning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review .We do try t omake guests stay enjoyable and it often happens that guests around a large table start talking toeach other which adds to the general breakfast experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at Wickham Place for just the one night, on business in the locale. I rather wish I'd been able to stay for longer. The welcome was very friendly, the room was lovely and the bed very comfortable indeed. The breakfast was exemplary. It will be my first port of call for accommodation if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are really pleased we made a good impression for just a one night stay .
next time you are in the area we hope to see you again .
Repeat business is what most Band Bs strive for
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Eight of our family, all adults, stayed for a nearby family wedding. Good rooms, very comfortable beds and great breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for Bill and he made us all very welcome. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review
It was a busy time for us as weddings always are '.
I am so pleased you found your stay so enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have stayed at Wickham Place one to three times a year for the last six years. Usually this has been while on business but I have also stayed during visits made for personal reasons. Bill and Joan have alway maintained an excellent standard of customer service. They are always helpful, flexible and friendly and will try their best to meet customer requirements. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. Breakfast is exceptionally good. Wickham Place is a charming house that has a large, secure car parking area. If I am in the Hurstpierpoint area, Wickham Place is my first choice of a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Every time chris visits us be it business or pleasure it is always great to see him .
guests coming back to us for further visits is what makes running a band B so worthwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbington, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A warm and friendly welcome from Joan and bill. Our rooms were warm,comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed a peaceful night in what,in my humble opinion must be the UK,'s most comfortable bed. Well rested we took a place in the dining room for breakfast. On our arrival a promise was made of a GREAT BREAKFAST,I am happy to report the chef did not disappoint. CHEERS BILL. A very enjoyable stay. Many thanks both.
.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for such a great review
It was a pleasure having you stay here and the same warm welcome awaits you when you return
we always try to achieve a warm and friendly welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wickham Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickham Place

Address: Wickham Drive, Hurstpierpoint BN6 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Hurstpierpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hurstpierpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WICKHAM PLACE IS a 4 star VISIT ENGLAND inspected Band B as well as our family home .A large number of our guests are repeat visitors who enjoy staying here as we provide a friendly atmosphere and quality service .visit our web site and have a look around.we provide a varied breakfast menu which when selected is cooked to order. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wickham Place Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickham Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.