We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wickham Place

Wickham Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hurstpierpoint
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wickham Place
Save
You added Wickham Place to your Saves list
Wickham Drive, Hurstpierpoint BN6 9AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Hayes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time I a few days two couples for over night stay on a walking weekend very nice experience and lovely fresh breakfast would stay again when In the area

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Owner at Wickham Place, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
It is so nice to have guests stay who enjoy their visit and it makes it a pleasure for us to meet them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were the guests of Wickham place for three nights at the start of November. It is very quiet luxurious guest house, incredibly well run by Bill and Joan Moore who are charming they have created an atmosphere of homeliness, beautiful sitting and dining room with breakfasts to die for. The bedrooms are very well furnished with comfortable beds a large TV and coffee making facilities with the kind offer of extra milk if we needed it, thick towelling dressing gowns and big luxurious towels in the bathroom, the way that they are running and decorated the hotel is impressive and fabulous. They were very helpful and were eager to help. There is secure parking behind electric gates. A delightful guest house in the stunning village of Hurst Pierpoint. We are already looking forward to staying with them in the near future. Many thanks for looking after us

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollybrighton, Manager at Wickham Place, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
It is always so nice when guests who have enjoyed their stay with us take the time to report on their visit .
Thank you for the review it is really appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have been staying in the UK for a month from Aug to Sep, traveling to different places (including London, Brighton, Lake District, Chester, Cheltenham, Cotswolds, Canterbury, Salisbury, Bath.....), Wickham Place is the 'home' I kept on going back every weekend.

It is a very nice place to stay, the room is cosy and comfortable. The hosts are very accommodating. The guests there are very friendly. The hosts have given me a lot of good suggestions and advices for traveling in the UK. I enjoyed the stay very much!

I found it very convenient for me to start from Wickham Place to many other places. Sometimes I traveled by car and sometimes by train. It is just a few minutes driving from Wickham Place to the Hassocks rail station (walking takes about 20 minutes). Hassocks to London is just 50 minutes by train (at least 2 trains every hour).

Oh the breakfast, I like the full English breakfast there so much.........I wish I could have it everyday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nice place but the woman was very abrupt on the phone when booking (it was the only place left with any rooms in the area) and was rude to my brother's family in the morning after their stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were the guests of Wickham place for two weeks in August. It is very quiet family-run hotel - the best place to hide from the city bustle, as it is located fam away from the main roads. On the other hand, it takes only 10 min to reach the nearest town - Burgess Hill.
The owners - Bill and Joan Moore have created the atmosphere of homeliness, and the way that the have decorated the hotel is impessive and fabulous. They were very helpful and were eager to help with any issues arising - from car rental to doctor visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were in the throes of relocating to Brighton from Newcastle. Our every need was catered for. We were made to feel very welcome, this welcome also extended to our little dog. The room was lovely and the house gorgeous. A lovely relaxed couple of nights and a great breakfast. We would thoroughly recommend this B and B its a delight.
Jaine and Sandra

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The house is lovely with an interesting history. Our hosts were friendly, helpful and relaxed.
The bedrooms were thoughtfully equipped with lovely touches - heated towel rail, fresh milk and cooled water available in fridge on landing. Great location just out of Brighton. Breakfast generous and delicious.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wickham Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wickham Place

Address: Wickham Drive, Hurstpierpoint BN6 9AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Hurstpierpoint
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hurstpierpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WICKHAM PLACE IS a 4 star VISIT ENGLAND inspected Band B as well as our family home .A large number of our guests are repeat visitors who enjoy staying here as we provide a friendly atmosphere and quality service .visit our web site and have a look around.we provide a varied breakfast menu which when selected is cooked to order. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wickham Place Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickham Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.