We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning accommodation located in a beautiful part of the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

The Old Rectory
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
The Old Rectory
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Bridge Street, Pembridge HR6 9EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Pembridge B&B and Inns
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation located in a beautiful part of the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2nights in this beautiful house and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Owners Phil and Lynn were attentive hosts and made our stay extremely comfortable .
The Old Rectory has been restored with love and attention that is in keeping with a house of this age and style, you can see it has been a much beloved project for the owners.
The room we stayed in was stunning but more importantly comfortable, the bathroom was enormous and had everything you could need. Phill had the foresight to provide a night light that I found particularly helpful as with many city dwellers I'm not used to the pitch blackness you get in the countryside
Breakfast was excellent quality, delicious and plentiful and set you up nicely for the day ahead
I would not hesitate to return

Room Tip: We stayed in the green room that is located overlooking the front garden, the room was beautiful com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was a base for our visit to the Hay Festival and it was an amazing find. The building has been beautifully restored, with every comfort you could want in the large bedrooms, drawing room and dining room.
Lynn and Phil are extremely welcoming and friendly hosts who make you feel at home immediately and have much helpful information about the village and surrounding areas. We were offered tea and coffee on arrival in the beautiful drawing room - a lovely, thoughtful touch.
Breakfast in the large, opulent dining room was a very satisfying experience - an extensive variety on offer and all of excellent quality.
A short but memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were in Hereford for a friends wedding, from start to finish everything was faultless.
Lynn and Phil are so welcoming, you really feel that you are at home rather than just staying at another hotel.
All of the rooms and the hotel in general are stunning, we didn't want for anything during our stay. Don't miss this gem of a hotel, sensibly priced too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cream room (the cheapest of the three) and found it to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

No, I've not actually stayed there as I live down the road, but I got the guided tour when I booked two of my friends in there for three nights. I've also sat in the garden and shared a coffee with the owners. This is a wonderfully renovated building with stunning rooms and great facilities. The breakfast was very good, so I'm told, and possibly benefits from eggs supplied by my free range hens. If I wasn't a local, I would happily book myself in for a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Previous reviewers have said it all. This is a genuine 5 star grade B & B.

Excellent, friendly and interesting hosts (Lynn and Phil) who care about their guests - we did feel exactly that - guests in someone's home. We were delighted to be offered tea on arrival.

A fabulous, large house which has been carefully and luxuriously restored and furnished. We also had the use of a very large lounge and dining room. Delicious breakfasts are well presented, from a good menu, and are taken at the large table in the dining room which helps to break the ice with any other guests - like a home, rather than at small separate tables.

The location is a few minutes walk from the centre of Pembridge with all the 'olde worlde charm' you could hope for and a one minute walk from the river.

If you are in the village, the evening meals and the beer at the 'New Inn' were great - with a mixture of locals and visitors.

We stayed 3 nights mid June and I have already been suggesting The Old Rectory to friends.

Note that the location is Bridge Street, Pembridge (near Leominster) and not Bridge St Leominster which is a much less attactive propostion!

Well done Lynn and Phil, and thank you.

Room Tip: All three guest rooms are en-suite, quiet and with good outlooks. The 'cream room' looked o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South U.K.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife sourced this after a newspaper review and booked it for a trip to the Hay festival.Yes, we did stay in that green room in the picture above. Absolutely everything you could possibly need is thoughtfully provided. I totally agree with all the glowing reviews and recommend a visit. Lynn and Phil are most welcoming and have done a wonderful update on the rectory. Just 30 mins from Hay in a quaint old village, just like the movie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Lynn and Phil are two of the most welcoming and friendly people you could meet. To be able to "share" their home was a privilege - we were lucky enough to have the house to ourselves for two nights.
They have worked very hard to make their home a picture of elegance and style-and Phils photographs and design are stunning. Breakfast is a treat in the large dining room and the bedrooms are tastefully designed.
Trust us - don't miss out on this beautiful home - we will be back soon.

Ron and Sue York
Bridgnorth

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: Bridge Street, Pembridge HR6 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Pembridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pembridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.