We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay at a charming hotel in Burgundy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny to your Saves list
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, rue du Chateau, 89200 Vault-de-Lugny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vault-de-Lugny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect stay at a charming hotel in Burgundy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We just finished a magical stay at the Château de Vault-de-Lugny in Burgundy. The chateau and its grounds are everything we could have hoped for in the French countryside—a stately chateau, an ancient keep, a moat and its river and a beautiful park. All of this surrounding a courtyard where we sat every evening before dining. Dinner was served each night in front of a majestic fireplace, in an ancient room with a vaulted ceiling. The surrounding countryside also contributed to the romance of the vacation with its pastoral setting replete with tiny ancient villages many having their own chateaux; churches, abbayes and museums. It was truly romantic!
The young chef and the pastry chef did such a good job of blending the traditional Burgundian food with creative touches that made every meal exciting. We ate a simple rack of lamb and potato puree, breast of chicken and risotto with morel sauce, and small ravioli in a delicious asparagus cream. We loved the snails with watercress garnished with fried garlic slivers, a much lighter dish than the usual preparation--perfect for a warm spring evening. We also enjoyed a delicious pigeon, fresh vegetables from the garden, ecrevisses, and numerous dishes seasoned with the flowers from the wild “garlic of the bear” a native herb that grows in abundance on the banks of the river on the property. A highlight was a coq au vin a la royale, a variation on the same dish usually made with wild hare and foi gras. It was lighter than hare and absolutely delicious.
Desserts were light and delicious and for the first time we tasted whipped cream flavored with the essence of acacia flowers, something we had only read about in old French novels. The pastry chef also made the best vanilla macarons we have ever tasted, a delightful addition to several desserts and the traditional little treats that came with the coffee.
The wine list had something for everyone. There were bottles of great vintages for the true connoisseurs but also excellent bottles that represent the region well at reasonable prices and a very good list of wins by the glass.
The servers at dinner were attentive; kind and professional. This was true of all the hotel personnel. The maitre-d’hotel was especially patient and helpful. On arriving we were greeted promptly and shown to our room efficiently. The feeling we took away of all the staff was one of competence and graciousness.
Our room was so pretty! It had a view of the courtyard and the green hills beyond the gates. It was elegant and every comfort was provided including a working fireplace.
The owners of the chateau and their team tried to do everything to make our visit memorable and they succeeded!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    11
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this establishment for two nights in late April. The setting and grounds were absolutely gorgeous. We had a comfortable - but nothing spectacular - room in one of the outbuildings. For unique entertainment there were geese, goats, peacocks, chickens, dogs, and turkeys roaming around. These creatures were not at all bothersome and added to the uniqueness of the property. There was also a moat around the property with access thru a controlled gate. Just very delightful and we did not experience any screaming kids that others posted about. The disappointment, though, was the restaurant. The restaurant itself had nice ambiance with a hugh open fireplace and nice background music. The menu itself was somewhat ponderous with respect to descriptions and the wine list was the size of large city telephone book - with many selections costing well in excess of 4000 euros a bottle. After a lot of searching, I managed to find a white burgundy for 98 euros (appx $150). The waitstaff consisted of a "lead" waiter/sommelier and a "helper." The helper was basically clueless through the meal and the waiter seemed somewhat stressed out. Due to the vagueness of the menu descriptions we ordered an a la carte meal that totaled out to around 325 euros including the wine (appx $500). My main selections were scallops and a mild white fish. My wife ordered escargots and chicken. My selections turned out ok but nothing very memorable in terms of presentation or taste. My wife liked the snails but her chicken was a disaster. I doubt it was a Bresse chicken but in any event it was coated in a heavy red wine sauce that overpowered the chicken such that you couldn't tell what it was that you were eating. The meat was also very shredded which added to the mystery. All throughout, the waitstaff was bumbling and confused. Just keeping water and wine glasses filled seemed to be a great effort. For dessert we were interested in their ice cream selection but we were unable to get the waiter or helper to describe what flavor or flavors were available. We were led to believe that we could each receive one scoop of ice cream of some TBD flavor at a price of 22 euros each. At that point my brain kicked in to determine that the dessert would be like two ice cream cones - without the cones - for a price of appx. $65 dollars. Sanity prevailed at that point and we passed on dessert as well as eating there the following night. You would think at the prices they were charging that they could at least orchestrate the meal better. There seemed to be more emphasis on the presentation versus the quality of the meal itself. My wife clearly articulated the chicken experience to the desk staff the next morning and and she said "Merci" and proceeded to prepare the check. But it was a very beautiful place but with no other restaurants close by.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the outbuildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Set amidst the lovely countryside outside of Vezelay, this chateau is verdant and park-like, with the sounds of babbling brooks and whistling birds to sing you to sleep. It is not Cinderella's castle by any means, but the domaine is lovely and there is a moat and tower.

Yet from the moment we arrived, in search of a romantic night's stay, we were confronted by a series of oddities in this Chateau. From an awkward greeting by a disinterested receptionist, to unattended children popping out from corners, to a cacaphony of peacocks, turkeys, and geese that call the chateau home, to random guests playing the piano at the bar (badly), the stay turned out to be less than romantic.

We tried (twice) to use the lovely swimming pool attached to the chateau, but realized that it was invaded by over 5 screaming kids until the closing at 7pm. I strongly recommend that they offer an 'adult swim hour' perhaps between 6-7pm so the adults can enjoy some relaxation as well.

Having booked dinner, we were led first into a dining room full of people only to be relocated to an empty second dining room, which while offering a pretty view of the park, did not offer much in the way of ambiance. No music, just deafening silence. When the music did come on 20 minutes later, it was light jazz, and the CD was on repeat so we heard the same songs over and over (good thing I like 'Summertime').

A very nice dinner followed, no negative points to bring up. Except perhaps the glass of wine at 37 euros. We don't even pay that much for a nice glass at the Ritz in Paris!

All in all, a bit of an overpriced disaster for couples in search of romance. Leave this place to the families and screaming birds (ok, the exotic birds were amusing but just added to the bizarre mix of everything else).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This has to be one of the gems of country France. Could not fault a single aspect of the grounds, room or dining at the restaurant. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed in a separate guest house 50 meters from the chateau. The chateau itself as well as its huge territory is very beautiful, charming and well maintained. A lot of antique furnishings and decor. The food in the restaurant is of excellent quality; some of the products coming from the chateau gardens. We liked the inside pool located at the ground level overlooking the green inner yard. Overall, very pleasant memories and highly recommended for romantic stays and sightseeing tours around.
Disadvatages: Since May was very cold (+7C) and rainy we found our guest house apartment (3 bdr and 2 bathrooms) a bit cold with its stone flooring. Kids might want to touch and occasionally break some of the decor, as ours did :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon last year as part of our trip driving down through France and Italy and we coudn't have chosen better. The entrance is stunning over a moat, through huge gates with a sweeping drive up to the front door. We were greeted with a glass of champagne whilst our car was parked for us in their garage and taken to our room (Chablis) which was a good size, classically decorated with modern bathroom fittings and a beautiful view out over the front of the property. We had dinner in the beautiful vaulted restaurant and the food was truly amazing. We had the Menu Bourgignon and it really was the best Boeuf Bourgignon I have ever had! I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and hope to make a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Excellent service
amazing indoor pool
good quality of food, rather expensive
outdoor eating in excellent environment
Large grounds

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny

Address: 11, rue du Chateau, 89200 Vault-de-Lugny, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Yonne > Vault-de-Lugny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vault-de-Lugny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idealy located between Vezelay and Chablis, the moated Chateau de Vault de Lugny has been built between the XIII & XVII Century. the Chateau offers 16 luxurious rooms overlooking the spacious gardens, several with fireplaces, four poster bed & period furniture. Award of the best indoor pool & jacuzzi. A unique place for a romantic & relaxing stay in Burgundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Vault-De-Lugny Hotel Vault-De-Lugny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.