We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jas du Boeuf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jas du Boeuf
Save
You added Jas du Boeuf to your Saves list
Lieu dit Parrot, 04230 Cruis, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cruis B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting and accommodation, Dana And Jerome (and Pollux and Castor the welcome party) are great hosts. We had a meal the first night which was lovely and we enjoyed seeing their beautiful house. Stayed in one of the bungalows which was just gorgeous, made even better by the pool, outdoor kitchen and the glorious views. Such a peaceful place too and well placed for travelling around heavenly Provence. Can't recommend it enough. Dana and Jerome gave us much helpful advice about where to go and places to eat. Thank you both for such a wonderful visit, hope to see you again!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

A friend and I stayed at this bed and breakfast in Provence for 6 nights. Beautiful countryside, great hosts, and relaxing elegance in a converted sheep farm. The welcoming and friendly hosts will give you recommendations for nearby restaurants and villages to visit - and don't miss the market in Fourcalquier. A perfect mix of country relaxation, and exploring French countryside and life. The nearby villages are charming and the quality of the restaurants memorable. Bring a bathing suit to enjoy the amazing pool and outstanding view.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machtum
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Jas du Boef is perfect for a relaxed stay in the south of France. Jerome and Dana created a peaceful and unpretentious atmosphere in an environment that combines breath taking nature with true French hospitality. Extremely dog friendly. Love to come again!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are nice, for my daughter (12) the pool was the attraction
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We stayed here for a week at one of the poolside bungalows, and it was the perfect spot to rest, relax and recover. The location is great - it is an good spot to base yourself whilst you explore Provence, yet you are very comfortably away from the hustle and hustle of everyday life. The local markets are great fun as there is an outdoor kitchen where you can prepare simple meals and appreciate the quality of the fresh local produce. At night, the sky is clear and devoid of light pollution, perfect for sitting by the pool with a glass of wine (numerous good vineyards in the immediate vicinity with quality wines at reasonable prices) trying to spot shooting stars.

Dana and Jerome are absolutely fantastic hosts. Breakfasts are a great time not just to enjoy the delicious home made pastries, but also the very comfortable atmosphere that they create amongst the guests. They are also very knowledgeable about the area, and really go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Their hospitality is the factor that differentiates the place and makes it and your experience special.

Book early, as they fill up very fast.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have just returned from a weeks long stay at Jas du Boeuf and just wish I was back there. It is the perfect place to go for anyone who is looking to explore the stunning surroundings that Provence has to offer. The accommodation is of a very high standard with comfy beds and fantastic showers. The kitchen area is completely set up for anyone who wishes to stay in and cook. We visited some of the local markets and brought back some amazing food which we then prepared and enjoyed on our private terrace. The view from the kitchen is simply breathtaking (across the infinity pool onto the hills in the distance). Dana and Jerome were both very friendly and welcoming helping us each day with places to see and visit. We loved the local resturants - especially Le Fougassais - and I would thoroughly recommend them to anyone wanting fresh French cuisine.

This place is very special and a wonderful place to visit for anyone wanting to get away from it all plus experience some spectacular countryside and all that Provence has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner and I stayed for two nights this July in the beautiful Romarins room (which was cool and sunny at the same time). Dana and Jerome (our hosts, who more than once during our short stay went above and beyond in making sure we had an excellent experience), the property and the surrounding area were all absolutely magnificent. Enjoy the beautiful grounds and pool with a view; explore the lovely, peaceful countryside and nearby towns with their bustling markets; eat (EAT!) the amazing food prepared fresh by Dana and Jerome as well as the restaurants they recommend nearby. France at its best - truly an escape. I really can't say enough about all of the amazing things about our stay. In two words: ideal and special. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Romarins room has a great big private deck which we used for secluded reading overlooking the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was a dream of a lifetime to experience the South of France. Staying at the Jas du Boeuf, specifically Dana, Jerome, Castor & Pollux elevated that dream to another level. From the home cooked breakfasts (those jams, the every changing delicious pastries, accompanied by garden grown fruit), to Dana & Jerome's exquisite restaurant recommendations and the most beautiful bed & breakfast I've ever experienced.

We stayed at the Jas du Boeuf the 2nd week of June for 10 days in two different rooms, Oliviers (the smallest room on the property) and Romarins (the largest). Both rooms were delightful with beautiful stone showers with a rain shower head and soap supplied by a local boutique. Both these rooms were attached to the main house and had views of the lavish gardens. The pool, with a magnificent view of the hills of Provence, is a short walk from the room to the right. We had brought a few items for a picnic by the pool and were able to use all the dishes, utensils and tools located at the pools kitchen. It even had a fridge!

Jas du Bouef is secluded from traffic and nearby villages therefore completely peaceful and serene. We spent some of our time there just hanging out on the deck and at the pool in complete tranquility. Castor & Pollux (the owner's dogs) joined us a few times and showed us how to lay about without a care in the world.

Jerome & Dana were the highlight of our trip. They were completely on top of everything. I wanted to take a cooking class and the hosts were so great about keeping me up to date of what was available in the area as well as continuing to reach out to the instructors until they found a class that fit my schedule.

We purchased a host dinner the first night we stayed there to get to know our hosts as well as inquire about what to do while in Provence. The feast was so fabulous and delicious we booked another dinner the last night of our stay and had dinner out in the garden. A perfect way to end our stay there.

We had to leave bright and early the next day to get to the airport in Nice and did not expect Dana & Jerome to be up for us at 6AM. But being such good hosts, they were not only both up but they had a light meal and snacks prepared for our long trip back to the airport.

I don't think our trip would have been as memorable if we stayed at any other place. I would highly encourage anyone thinking about traveling to this area to check out and stay at the Jas du Boeuf. You won't regret it.

The only warning I'd give is that given that the place is secluded and sits a top of a mountain, you have to drive up a long steep rocky dirt hill that is not paved.

Room Tip: Romains was the largest room and had a deck. We could sit outside on a nice day. The two rooms by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jas du Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jas du Boeuf

Address: Lieu dit Parrot, 04230 Cruis, France
Location: France > Provence > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Cruis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cruis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the southern slopes of the Montagne du Lure under the clear blue skies of Haute Provence northeast of Aix-en-Provence, Le Jas du Boeuf offers luxurious accommodation in a magical location with magnificent views. Calm is guaranteed by hundreds of acres of forests and fields scented with wild herbs and lavender, yet great little restaurants are just down the road, which can be neither heard nor seen from the property. There are no neighbours within view or hearing distance and four out of five rooms have their own private entrances directly from the gardens.You can choose between massive wooden beams and stone walls in the beautifully restored 18th century sheep barn or modern poolside bungalows that pull the outside in. Borrow a book from the library and read in one of the many shady corners of the grounds or hike up the mountain and enjoy the stupendous views of the Alps before taking a dip in the infinity pool, which is salt and chemical free thanks to the latest UV cleaning technology ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jas du Boeuf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.