We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Welchman Hall Gully

Welchman Hall Gully
Welchman Hall, Barbados
+1 246-438-6671
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lush Tropical Forest located in a collapsed cave and the only forest open to the public. There are several troops of monkeys are that fed between 1030am and 12pm daily. Also offering guided tours at 1030am Monday to Fridays during the months of December to April.
Hertford, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were really disappointed with Welchman Hall Gully. It takes about half an hour to wander through it, and unless you have a real interest in tropical trees, it is probably not going to be of much interest to you. We mainly went to see the monkeys, but as we were not there at feeding times, we only glimpsed a couple of them from a distance. We sad more monkeys in the grounds of our hotel than we did here. Would not recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    64
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice short walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

If you are into plants and trees, this is a great place to visit. If that isn't your thing, stop by if you are in the area for a nice relaxing walk.
We went as we were visiting Harissons caves which is a 15min walk away, we saw the monkeys and enjoyed the 'jungle' feel of the walk but in all honesty it is just a short walk in the trees.
Plenty of trees/plants and a good information leaflet explaining what they are, the viewing platform offers some great photos of the coast from the centre of the island.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Natural Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a great walk through a natural setting. Nice geologic view of collapsed caves (it's connected somehow to the Harrison Cave) and a wide variety of vegetation. We like Hunte's Garden a bit better, but this is a nice, less arranged compliment to that nearby destination. Take some bananas. We arrived a couple of hours after 'feeding time' and the troupe of monkeys was happy to come see us and eat our bananas too. The kids LOVED that. Our GPS found it no problem.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We went hoping to see monkeys (which we did), but also learned about the island and saw lots of great vegetation. We had a tour (loosely arranged by email before we went) and learned about everything from cashews and nutmeg to mongoose and monkeys. The walking path is paved the whole way. Look-out point has breathtaking vistas. Ticket office has bottled water and snacks for sale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went today (Sunday, late June) and had the place to ourselves if we exclude the gardener and the monkeys. Took the number 4 bus from Bridgetown (recommended) and followed by Harrison caves (Avoid). Lots of fauna and interesting information on the boards, would probably have been better informed with a tour guide but on the flip side we could walk at our own pace. A good way to fill and hour or two if you take it slowly, especially if you take in the view point near the entrance.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welchman Hall Gully also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Lucy Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Welchman Hall Gully? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welchman Hall Gully, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.