We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice short walk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Welchman Hall Gully

Welchman Hall Gully
Welchman Hall, Barbados
+1 246-438-6671
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
Activities: Hiking, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A lush Tropical Forest located in a collapsed cave and the only forest open to the public. There are several troops of monkeys are that fed between 1030am and 12pm daily. Also offering guided tours at 1030am Monday to Fridays during the months of December to April.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice short walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

If you are into plants and trees, this is a great place to visit. If that isn't your thing, stop by if you are in the area for a nice relaxing walk.
We went as we were visiting Harissons caves which is a 15min walk away, we saw the monkeys and enjoyed the 'jungle' feel of the walk but in all honesty it is just a short walk in the trees.
Plenty of trees/plants and a good information leaflet explaining what they are, the viewing platform offers some great photos of the coast from the centre of the island.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    52
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Natural Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a great walk through a natural setting. Nice geologic view of collapsed caves (it's connected somehow to the Harrison Cave) and a wide variety of vegetation. We like Hunte's Garden a bit better, but this is a nice, less arranged compliment to that nearby destination. Take some bananas. We arrived a couple of hours after 'feeding time' and the troupe of monkeys was happy to come see us and eat our bananas too. The kids LOVED that. Our GPS found it no problem.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We went hoping to see monkeys (which we did), but also learned about the island and saw lots of great vegetation. We had a tour (loosely arranged by email before we went) and learned about everything from cashews and nutmeg to mongoose and monkeys. The walking path is paved the whole way. Look-out point has breathtaking vistas. Ticket office has bottled water and snacks for sale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went today (Sunday, late June) and had the place to ourselves if we exclude the gardener and the monkeys. Took the number 4 bus from Bridgetown (recommended) and followed by Harrison caves (Avoid). Lots of fauna and interesting information on the boards, would probably have been better informed with a tour guide but on the flip side we could walk at our own pace. A good way to fill and hour or two if you take it slowly, especially if you take in the view point near the entrance.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So peaceful - take time to sit and watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Watching the monkeys feed is fun, but if you miss them, just sit on one of the benches for a while and let the peaceful atmosphere wrap around you. Birds, giant millipedes (harmless!) and butterflies ignore you if you're still, and if you're lucky you'll see the monkeys in their natural environment which is much more exciting than watching them being fed. They come close but they're not tame and behave as though they are wild. I saw a family troupe with three mothers and babies plus other young and adults, foraging in the trees and playing with each other. Magic! Buy some nutmegs in the shop and enjoy remembering your visit afterwards over a rum punch with grated nutmeg.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welchman Hall Gully also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Lucy Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Welchman Hall Gully? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welchman Hall Gully, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.