We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Ocean Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coco Ocean Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Coco Ocean Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Bamboo Drive | Kombo Coastal Road, Bijilo, Gambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bijilo
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely hotel, with friendly people
Great food for lunch & evening , Thai restaurant in the evening is excellent
The rooms are big and very clean
A real pleasure to stay here ! I can recommended it to everyone
Thanks Coco Ocean for everything

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    76
    20
    14
    6
See reviews for
23
164
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We decided to end our three week holiday in the Gambia by having a day pass to Coco Ocean, we had the most wonderful day ever. We took a cabana overlooking the sea, the towels were provided and the D250 it cost us for the day pass (about £5) was used towards our food and drink. The grounds were lovely, as were the pools, all the staff excellent and attentive, a wonderful place to spend a day in peace and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We travelled to The Gambia with our teenage daughter. We have been a number of times in the past but have always stayed at Ngala Lodge, but as we had our daughter we had to stay elsewhere.
On our arrival we were met by Mary and given a welcome drink and talk. The first thing she said was that the hotel would take no responsibility for anything that was stolen from our rooms - comforting! During our 7 night stay two couples were burgled whilst they slept; one couple woke to find a bloke rifling through their nightstand. Terrifying. The other couple had three men in their room. Perhaps if the hotel did take responsibility they would take their security a little more seriously...
After hearing about the break-ins we found it difficult to sleep properly.
The hotel is very pleasant, rooms are lovely, restaurant not bad, but if you are worried about being broken into its hard to enjoy the experience.
The staff are very nice, but could do with more training to bring them up to 5 star standards. There were three of us in our suite and we usually only had towels for two, the body lotion was empty the whole week, we usually had two robes (usually without a tie belt!) the service by the pool is virtually non existent, our phone didn't work for four days which was a pain when we came down with Banjul belly and had to keep walking to get hot drinks.
This all sounds very negative, but on the whole the hotel is lovely, but until the security is seriously upgraded we wouldn't go back to Coco Ocean, which is a shame.

Room Tip: For better security try to get a dome room, although I have heard that they are rather noisy because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The services at the reception and front office could be improved. We were not given any welcome drinks or given an explanation of the facilities. The hotel is great and it is managed well. The décor is Moroccan. The suite was nice but quite small. They gave us a twin bed instead of double although we had requested that in the booking. They put the two single mattresses together and then they bought a king size mattress and it was sticking out of the bed and it was not at all comfortable. The room also faced the east and the curtains were so light, that by early morning you are up!

The breakfast was nice and the staff were very friendly. Very good service. We used the spa quite a bit and it was really nicely designed. The treatments were average and not the best we have had.
You can easily get taxis outside. But make sure you bargain. The prices are of course better than the hotel taxis.
Overall, it was a nice stay and we enjoyed our break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Coco Ocean resort is a well maintained luxury hotel. We stayed in one of the delightful luxury detached Beach Villas. However issues arose which mean we will not be returning. One event in particular destroyed the last three days of our holiday
On Sunday 20th January at 05.45am, 3 days before our departure we were burgled whilst asleep in our villa. I awoke and almost caught the burglar however he slipped out of my grasp and escaped through a small sliding window located behind a full length curtain. I was unaware of this window. The burglar took the two Kindles we had been reading in bed, as well as a watch and phone. I tried ringing reception but the phone was dead. I ran through the grounds to reception to get immediate assistance. However the receptionist refused to contact management saying he had to wait for them to report to work. I asked for security and found that he was sleeping on a sofa outside the reception. He had to be shaken awake. The guard refused to ring the police saying we had to wait for management. I then telephoned Joyce of our travel agent, Gambia Experience, and despite the early hours she immediately drove to the hotel via the police station where she collected three officers to investigate the crime. Joyce acted as intermediary and we were very grateful for her professional assistance. On returning to the bungalow I found that the window lock of the hidden window was broken/tampered with and therefore although having the appearance of being locked it was not. This lock can only be accessed from within the room giving rise to the possibility that one or more of the Coco staff could be involved. This suspicion was also shared with me by the Coco management during a subsequent discussion. Our beach villa had become a crime scene and so the Management who had then arrived transferred us to an inferior room having a faulty safe so we then had to wait in the room with our valuables until it was replaced instead of trying to relax in the sun. During this dreadful day the hotel owner who previously appeared to be very hands on failed to make an appearance and check on our personal situation. On Monday 21st January I eventually met up with the owner and asked what he was going to do about our financial loss taking into account the possible participation of his staff or the negligence relating to the window lock and lack of security. He advised he was looking into it but failed to make us any concrete offer of recompense. Despite expediting a response to my claim from several of the management team, in the end I was forced to deduct the value of the stolen goods from the final bill with an offer that any payment from our travel insurance would be returned to them less the excess. We were not offered any credit for having an inferior room for the last two nights of our holiday. The hotel staff all offered profuse apologies for this terrible event however when it came to taking financial responsibility the hotel was conspicuous by their absence. The hotel Owner should have immediately offered to make good the £420.00 loss and transferred us to a secure room of at least the same quality; we could then have moved on and put this distressing experience behind us. However their financially defensive attitude dominated the last three days of our holiday making us wish that we were back in freezing Britain. During this period Coco did belatedly offer to pay for the Spa treatments we took that day.
Finally I understand from new Guests that the welcome speech starts with “We must tell you we are not responsible for any loss of valuable no matter what circumstance”. If this is the only lesson learnt from this burglary then management of this so called best hotel in the Gambia are failing in their duty of care to future and current clients. Finally well done Gambia Experience but shame on the Coco management who made no attempt to reduce the negative impact on us of this criminal event.

Room Tip: The Beach villas are well designed. However they are vulnerable to burgalary so do check window and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco Ocean M, Owner at Coco Ocean Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
May I firstly offer our sincere apologies that you were a victim of a burglary whilst staying at the hotel. Whilst we realise this does not diminish your distress, we would advise that an incident of this nature remains an extremely rare occurence.

We note you were unhappy in the manner in which the matter was handled by the Management team and we can only say how sorry we are. Please rest assured that following this incident we have undertaken a review of training for Management and a review of our security. Measures have been put in place to increase security in vunerable areas and some of the CCTV cameras have been re-sited.

We would ask you to understand that we are unable to offer you any compensation without the police completing their full investigation. With regard to any refund due for the last two night's of your stay, we will ask The Gambia Experience to contact you directly.

We will update you with any results from the police as soon as we receive them to your private e mail address.

May we again apologise for this incident. We are extremely sorry that this should have occured at our hotel, particularly after installing the CCTV and carrying out extensive training of security over the summer in order to be ready for the Winter season and ensure that an event of this nature would never occur.

us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night, while passing through on my way to another country.

This is truly a remarkable place. I'm going to guess that the main hotel building was built back in the '30s or '40s. The rooms are HUGE, with 15 foot ceilings. The hotel has been kept fully up to date, whilst at the same time preserving the ambiance of the colonial past. The clientele at the hotel consists of older (50+) Europeans, and it is common to see gentlemen wearing jackets to dinner, and ladies wearing smart dresses to dinner. Heck, you almost expect to see Humphrey Bogart walking by in a white dinner jacket.

Beds are comfortable, the place is clean, and all the expected amenities (coffee machine, etc.) are provided in the room. Room decor is delightful and respects the traditional architecture of the property. The hotel is located in a quiet, peaceful location. Security appears to be excellent.

Food at the restaurant was very good, both dinner and breakfast. Service was professional, albeit somewhat slow.

The only problems with this hotel are those which are inevitable in sub-Saharan Africa, no matter where you go or how much you pay: The internet connection (free wireless) is slow and was unreliable, the staff move slowly and are not too clever, and the public computers are old, out of date, and full of viruses and trojans. If you need to print something in the business center, put the document on a memory stick, then burn the memory stick after you have put it in the hotel computer. Don't even dream of using the memory stick again in your own computer unless you wrap it in a condom before putting it into the hotel computer.

But, having said that, I think you would have a hard time finding a better place to stay in Banjul, and I would certainly return here again, and I do recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building. These rooms are HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We moved here from Mandina Lodges and were not that impressed despite everyone telling us it was meant to be the best hotel in the country.

We had a Beach Villa Sea Facing which was a nice room, good size with a huge outdoor garden although its under cover so not great for sunbathing.

The shower, for such a large and grand bathroom was tiny though, a little handheld thing that drizzled water out. Weren't impressed.

The first night we went for a drink at a pretty souless bar with the Matrix 2 playing on a big screen which was really odd and didnt suit the ambience of the hotel at all. Service was ok. We then went to dinner in one of the restuarants (spotting a cockroach sat on one of the tables on the way!)

We soon found that there were loads of these huge bugs everywhere and were surrounded by them at dinner...they jump and fly and land all over the place, crawling around...awful awful awfull!

We almost left the hotel it was that bad. As it was we went to the Serekunda Strip down the road (via our awesome taxi driver with his Bob Marley tunes!) and the holiday was transformed! The nightlife, restuarants and bars there are great fun and really busy, welcoming and great value. Highly recommend the African Queen and its sizzling seafood platters.

Back to the hotel, the pool areas are decent, we had a private pool area which was pretty quiet although the whole place does look a bit dated and the sunbeds weren't very comfortable.

Highlight of the time there was helping the local Gambian fisherman on the beach play tug of war with their nets...caught a huge load of fish and even a sizeable shark which was a great experience. Recommend some long walks on the beach too although look out for the pufferfish...I almost trod on one which would have been a bit of a ruiner!

Spa and breakfast were good.

Room Tip: Spend as much as possible as think the basic rooms looked pretty bad and even the Beach Villa we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Ocean Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Ocean Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Bamboo Drive | Kombo Coastal Road, Bijilo, Gambia
Location: Gambia > West Coast Division > Bijilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bijilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coco Ocean Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coco Ocean Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Ocean Hotel Bijilo
Coco Ocean Resort And Spa Gambia/Bijilo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Ocean Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.