We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but extremely friendly in beautiful surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de l'Etoile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maison de l'Etoile to your Saves list
Maison de l'Etoile
rue de l'eglise, 06660 Saint-Dalmas-le-Selvage, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Assen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very basic but extremely friendly in beautiful surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Patrice and Alexandra are very, very nice people, and very gracious hosts. Their property in the authentic and interesting hamlet of Saint Delmas has lots of character. It is great to start on fantastic hikes right from "home". However, we found the rooms in the outhouse where we stayed quite basic indeed. Investments in new beds and perhaps a few other furnishings would already go a long way to make the stay more comfortable. We felt the dinners to be a bit long-winded (perhaps our limited command of french contributed to this), and the quality of the dishes did not live up to our expectations (perhaps our tastes are different than those of most other trip advisor reviewers; being a vegetarian did not make it any easier). You can arrange to skip dinner and get a reduced price. All in all, if you do not mind a very basic room, and like "homestyle cooking" (as opposed to "french cuisine"), you can have a wonderful stay with Patrice and Alexandra in a beautiful and very peaceful mountain setting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisondeletoile, Propriétaire at Maison de l'Etoile, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Our house has two small simple rooms(chambers) much less expensive than the big rooms(chambers). We warn(prevent) the persons. The meals are largely biological and cooked with spices. Often, I invent recipes(receipts) Patrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Most of our group including my wife rather enjoyed the quirkiness of this place. I am afraid that I found it simply, and almost embarrassingly, crude. Wood floors fine, bare boards not. The hosts are very friendly and their children delightfully behaved. The big negative was that dinner was very late and long drawn out, and there was simply not enough to eat; we all had two miniscule pieces of meat, except for those who didn't manage to get any. This was followed by some excellent cheese but no desert. The village and surroundings are lovely, but I would definitely not stay at L'Etoile again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisondeletoile, Propriétaire at Maison de l'Etoile, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
This comment deserves an answer...
This monsiuer was a part of a group of walkers. They had rented all the rooms. On five rooms, two rooms are small and rustic (authentic) with old floors in larches. For the dinner, I made an error of quantity it is true what rarely arrives there is very often in more... This evening there, it was some duck breast and at the house, it is cheeses or harms(serves)... The rest of the group was very satisfied! I understands this Sir whom I thank because in the future, I would be more thoughtful in the quantities. Patrice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed with Patrice and Alexandra for two nights in late November. Patrice and Alexandra were very accommodating as we arrived unannounced in the mid afternoon, but they quickly offered a room to us. Talking over dinner with Patrice and Alexandra was a very pleasant and interesting experience, helping us to learn more about France and the area in general, while helping us practice a little French which was very helpful. Alexandra speaks English very well, and there were no issues with communication. Patrice and Alexandra have two children who added to the charm and fun of the experience. The dinners we had were varied, healthy, and tasty. There are hiking trails going into the mountains starting a minutes walk from their house, and the Saint-Delmas-le-Savage has a charm of its own. I would love to go back in the spring or summer, as I imagine the mountains are that much more beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maisondeletoile, General Manager at Maison de l'Etoile, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello,
We thank you for this attractive comment. Big news : we have hens, cock and rabbits! The sun is there. We hope to see again itself here or somewhere else on this great way of the heart. Patrice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison de l'Etoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de l'Etoile

Address: rue de l'eglise, 06660 Saint-Dalmas-le-Selvage, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Alpes Maritimes > Saint-Dalmas-le-Selvage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Dalmas-le-Selvage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra And Patrice will welcome you warmly and invite you to delight in the natural environment and family atmosphere. La Maison de L’étoile is set in a wild and protected area ‘far from the madding crowd’,close to the Bonnette pass , Europe’s highest road.It provides an excellent standpoint on the rich fauna mainly composed of chamois, mouflons, wild goats, marmots, birds of prey and the flora with its amazing diversity .You’ll find wild orchids as well as gentian, lis etc…But the true hero is the wolf which presence has strongly marked the place .We remain at your disposal to guide you in your discovery of the area and its environmental , architectural interests as well as its remarkable quality of life.Cultural and sport activities are part and parcel of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maison de l'Etoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de l'Etoile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.