We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Sarceaux

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Sarceaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Sarceaux
rue des Fourneaux at Valframbert | Alençon, 61250 Valframbert, Alencon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Valframbert
Fairford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Chateau Sarceaux for one night on our way back from Charente region, what an experience it was. The Chateau is very beautiful filled with lovely antique furniture, hosts Herve and Jacqueline were really nice. Our room La Chambres des Roses was very clean with a nice ensuite with lovely views of the garden and Lake. We opted for the evening meal, seated on a large table with 3 other couples which turned into a very good night. We were all invited into the lounge for coffee, Jacqueline played the piano with renditions of french & english songs and a mixture of Beatles classics with all joining the singing. We would highly recommend to have the evening meal, the experience and entertainment of Jacqueline's playing the piano is something we will remember for a long time. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Any room in the main house our room des Roses was good with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked a one night stop at the Chateau Sarceaux on our way back from San Sebastian - because It looked fabulous in the pictures and reviews were good.

We had a brilliant stay with Herve and Jacqueline, and their son, daughter in law and grandson who were also staying the same night.

The room we had was quite beautiful furnished with antiques and with a view over the front lawns. The kingsize bed was firm which suited us and we had a really good nights sleep.

Aperitifs of champagne and canapes were served outside at around seven and then Jacqueline presented a great meal of prawns with an avocado salad to start, a great casserole of veal in wine and tarragon with potatoes dauphinoise, a fantastic cheese platter and a dessert of apple sorbet. This was a very high standard for a guest house and although we had spent the previous 4 days in San Sebastian eating at 3 Michelin star restaurants, I enjoyed this meal at the chateau as much as any of them. What we found so charming was that all the guests - some 8 in total were seated at the beautifully laid table with candelabra, flowers and silver - were treated as though we were at a house party.

We all retired to the sitting room after dinner and Jacqueline entertained us with her remarkable piano playing. It was a great evening and I know the other guests enjoyed it as much as we did.

Sadly after a good continental breakfast we were on the road again but we do plan to go back.

If you want to dine at the chateau it is a good idea to phone ahead the day before and let Jacqueline know.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez Island, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It was pouring rain, so I decided to stop sight-seeing and drive to the chateau early. It was very definitely before check-in time, but Jacqueline came out to greet me. She showed me to my room graciously. As we entered the room, we realized the rain was pouring in through open windows and there was a puddle on the bathroom floor. Quickly, Jacqueline mopped up the water and ran from room to room closing windows and mopping up water. In spite of such an upsetting situation--heavy rain, wet floors, and an early guest--Jacqueline made me feel at home.

Later she asked me to go into town with her to a shop she liked. She also took me to see the church and some ancient buildings in the town.

I had dinner there which was prepared by Jacqueline. She and Herve are perfects hosts, chatting with the guests and making you feel most welcome. The complete dinner included everything from an aperitif to desert, and included wine and coffee. It was excellent.

After dinner, Jacqueline played the piano for the guests in the parlor. It was delightful!

The breakfast was also well presented and ample. Again, Herve and Jacqueline make you feel like very special friends.

The house is beautiful, with lovely antiques and paintings. The park is large and wonderful for walking.
But the best part of this experience is the gracious welcome Jacqueline and Herve provide. You feel as though you are a long-time friend invited to a house party at their lovely country home. It could be last century or the one or two before that. What a special treat it is!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Chateau de Sarceaux is a real hidden gem. Approaching along the drive through the meadow the beauty of an 18 century chateau hotel is unveiled. Upon arrival to be greeted by Herve and Jacqueline who are both hosts, and 6th generation owners of the chateau the experience becomes a mixture or staying with family and relaxing in a hotel.

The Chateau is full of charm, with lots of antique furniture, hunting trophies, and chic soft furnishings. Our rooms both had great views of the large mowed meadow and pond, and were light airy and clean. The rooms have en-suite bathrooms and double glazed windows so I imagine thy would be wrm in winter. On a summer night it is wonderful to sleep with the windows open, the only sound to be heard is the birds singing in the morning.

When you book, it is worth phoning ahead to book dinner. Jacqueline prepares a traditional artesian 4 course Michelin standard meal with wine and an aperitif which can be followed by a digestif from Herve's exellent collection.

I stayed at the Chateau de Sarceaux for one night when returning to the ferry at Caen from holidaying in the South of France, after a 7 hour drive just one night at the hotel was so relaxing.

Herve is an excellent host and introduces each one of his guests to each other which creates a very friendly evening. Amongst the guests were a couple who were staying for their third time. I suspect like them it will not be the last time I stay at the Chateau de Sarceaux and look forward to my next visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

we stopped here on the way to the le man's classic, perfect !

lots of room to park a trailer safely, lovely hosts Herve and Jacqueline, fantastic setting and buildings, dinner tasty, would have given it 5 stars but breakfast was a little late and if we had been racing that morning we would have had to miss out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Staying at the Chateau de Sarceaux was a great experience. This place has all the charm that you'd expect to find in an 18th century home, including creaking floorboards and numerous antiques. Our hosts - Herve and Jacqueline - along with their family were lovely and very welcoming. Because it is a guesthouse, be sure to let them know in advance if you would like to dine with them for dinner - You will not regret it! The dinner was an authentic French family-style meal with wine and cheese - it included some local treats, even goodies from their garden. A European-style breakfast was included with the room, but the dinner was extra (and well-worth it). Some of the highlights of our visit were Jacqueline's piano-playing and singing, Herve's Calvados served over apple sorbet, and the company of their family and other guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were so happily surprised by the wonderful hospitality and charm offered by the Chateau Sarceaux. We were pooped after a long night of flying and then picking up our rental car and struggling with traffic getting out of Paris and driving west for 2 hours, we were glad for our European GPS and then here we were in the country and turn up a long driveway and this beautiful building appears sitting in it's own park in front of it's own small lake, the sun was shining, and their sweet Westie, Vodka, came running out to meet us. We were a little early but were made to feel so welcome. We sat out side facing the lake and had wonderful wine and lovely snacks and totally unwound. The rooms are lovely with very comfortable beds and great bathrooms...all with a view! We slept for a couple hours and came down stairs to meet another couple who was also staying there and had aperitifs in the library and a great dinner cooked by madame. The house itself is wonderfully charming and comfortable withe double glazed windows and modern fixtures but also other worldly so quiet and blended in with nature. I wish e could have stayed longer, The family is lovely and this is their home and did everything to make us comfortable. It was a little expensive but in such a great location and they spoke better English than our painful French so we would definitely try to come back again.

Room Tip: They all have views, the ones on the corners are a little larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Sarceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Sarceaux

Address: rue des Fourneaux at Valframbert | Alençon, 61250 Valframbert, Alencon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Alencon > Valframbert
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Valframbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Sarceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Sarceaux France/Valframbert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Sarceaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.