We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Sarceaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau de Sarceaux to your Saves list
Chateau de Sarceaux
rue des Fourneaux at Valframbert | Alençon, 61250 Valframbert, Alencon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were so happily surprised by the wonderful hospitality and charm offered by the Chateau Sarceaux. We were pooped after a long night of flying and then picking up our rental car and struggling with traffic getting out of Paris and driving west for 2 hours, we were glad for our European GPS and then here we were in the country and turn up a long driveway and this beautiful building appears sitting in it's own park in front of it's own small lake, the sun was shining, and their sweet Westie, Vodka, came running out to meet us. We were a little early but were made to feel so welcome. We sat out side facing the lake and had wonderful wine and lovely snacks and totally unwound. The rooms are lovely with very comfortable beds and great bathrooms...all with a view! We slept for a couple hours and came down stairs to meet another couple who was also staying there and had aperitifs in the library and a great dinner cooked by madame. The house itself is wonderfully charming and comfortable withe double glazed windows and modern fixtures but also other worldly so quiet and blended in with nature. I wish e could have stayed longer, The family is lovely and this is their home and did everything to make us comfortable. It was a little expensive but in such a great location and they spoke better English than our painful French so we would definitely try to come back again.

Room Tip: They all have views, the ones on the corners are a little larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Four of us stayed one night on our way to st.malo and had a fantastic experience. The chateau is gracious in its antiquity, public rooms and bedrooms all with genuine antiques, yet the most modern conveniences, from the beds to the bathrooms . The Marquis and Marquise owners could not be more hospitable or gracious, yet lots of fun and down to earth. Dinner was Michelin quality.
Wish we could have stayed longer to relax in this very tranquil setting, and hope we will be back some day

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed for one night here on our way back to Calais and wish it could have been more. We were given a warm welcome by Vulcan, an elderly dog, who met our car as we approached and escorted us up to the house as if we were his oldest friends. The welcoming atmosphere continued when we met our hostess, who showed us around and gave us complimentary drinks. In the evening, we met the other guests (there are only four guest rooms here) in the lounge for an aperetif (again complimentary) before going in to dinner. We were given the option of sharing a table or having one to ourselves. Happily, we chose the former and had a very convivial meal. We then retired to the lounge, where our hostess joined us and we spent a pleasant couple of hours chatting and taking it in turns to play the piano. All in all, it was more like staying with friends than being guests in a hotel. We would love to go back, but for a longer stay.
By the way, the rooms are large and comfortably furnished and the location is extremely peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Château de Sarceaux for one night between Christmas & NY 2011 and had a fantastic time. The Château is beautiful with lots of character and period detail but it is also well maintained and very comfortable. Our room (Oiseaux) was lovely and we were very pleased with the amazing hot water pressure in the bathroom.

However, the best things about Château de Sarceaux were the lovely hosts, Jacqueline and Herve, who made us feel so welcome and the food. We were a bit unsure whether to book dinner at first but were so glad we did as it was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed a fun evening with other guests following dinner which made our stay really memorable.

I would highly recommend Château de Sarceaux.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

A group of us have been staying at Chateau de Sarceaux for several years as part of an annual road trip and it's always a highlight of the year. Even when we first stayed there we were treated like members of the family and it exceeded all expectations to the point that several people have been back for family holidays since. In the summer it is stunning and sitting outside having dinner overlooking the parkland and the lake is highly recommended. We've also been there when the weather hasn't been great and sat in either the living room or the drawing room with a roaring log fire. Where I think Chateau de Sarceaux stands head and shoulders above other Chateaux we've stayed at is the fantastic reception and hospitality you get from Jacqueline and Herve and also the fact you can eat there in the evening. My girlfriend and I travelled across France for three weeks in 2006 staying at difference Chateaux and almost none of them offered dinner. This meant we had to find somewhere to eat, drive there and back etc, being able to stay put and enjoy good food and wine makes a big difference. I should probably also mention that when I proposed to my girlfriend last summer I chose to do so there which is perhaps the biggest tick in the box I can give it.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We spend two very pleasant days in the Château de Sarceaux and enjoyed the stay. The place is well-maintained, the rooms are spacious and calm, breakfast (which is included in the price) is nice without being fancy. The hosts are welcoming and helpful with the organization of your stay. Price for our room "Des Oiseaux" was 125 EUR seemed a bit steep, especially given the old bed, but then again, you stay in an old château. Can't have everything, perhaps? The dinner was of solid quality with good wine included in the price of 49 EUR per person. I am a bit divided if the price is fully justified but it's great to be able to walk back to your room without having to take the car. So overall, prices are a bit on the high side, but a great stay nevertheless.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

How come the Chateau de Sarceaux is not already on TripAdvisor?!
We had a very pleasant surprise staying for one night at the Chateau de Sarceaux for a stopover between Nord Pas de Calais and Poitiers.
It's a family owned XVIIIe charming "little" chateau hidden in a huge park. The hosts were very helpful and you feel like visiting extended family. We had the Chambre des Roses, apparently the smaller bedroom but way bigger than many hotels standard bedrooms. The room was furnished with taste and with a nice view on the park. Free wifi.
You can have diner in the Chateau if you book in advance but we didn’t test it as we wanted to visit a bit Alençon. Breakfast is continental with fresh croissants and bread and freshly squeezed orange juice.
We had a run in the park in the morning and we would have loved to stay more nights at the Chateau. It seems there is a lot to do in the area too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Sarceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Sarceaux

Address: rue des Fourneaux at Valframbert | Alençon, 61250 Valframbert, Alencon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Alencon > Valframbert
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Sarceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Sarceaux France/Valframbert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Sarceaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.