We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gone downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maggies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maggies
State Highway 1 | Beaver Rd West Exit 473, Bombay, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Bombay
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: 09 236 0288
Restaurant details
Description: 09 236 0288
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

went in on the Monday night about 7pm
Order taken reasonably quickly , drink list very basic Montana rubbish wines no
thought in regard to wine selection
Entree came out reasonably okay but then the wait over an hour and 20 minutes to get mains
Others who were in before us were still waiting for mains after we had finished
I had an Asian stir Fry which was reasonable considering the price, wife had the steak and shrimp ordered medium rare, the steak was very rare so basically just warmed thru with a handful of cold shrimp on top served with reheated fries and a small salad
All in all very disappointing considering other visits
The coffee i ordered being long black was returned was basically a cup of hot black tar,undrinkable Staff need training in making coffee
I did tell them i was not paying for coffee and they had deducted from the account
Either this place has changed hands or maybe owner has lost interest
Large menu with all sorts of dishes listed

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Love it - never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We drop in here from time to time and it's never let us down. We love the extensive menu and the mix of Asian and European cuisine. I love it that you can mix and match and have a different course from a different area of the world - almost like having the chance to go to 2 different restaurants!
We hadn't been for a while and were a little sad not to see the lovely Charlene but it was great to be welcomed by Maggie herself.
Food, as always, was great and the service was fine - the place has never been full and we can always get a table by the window to watch the traffic roll by over the Bombay's. Atmosphere is never an issue here and it's great not to have loud music drowning out your conversation.
Food is always freshly cooked to order and plentiful and the prices aren't too bad. Definitely will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delayed service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The food was extremely good-tasty, delicious flavours regardless of whether it was Asian style or European. The chips were excellent and all the meats, extremely well cooked.
BUT the slow, slow service was dreadful. 3 girls stood with their backs to the diners and chatted amongst themselves rather than take orders. They were friendly but seemed to get the orders muddled. Each name was taken when we ordered but when we paid, all the orders had to be sorted out as to who had what. First drinks were provided immediately for some of us but we had to ask for any refills.
Was a great place to take small children as they weren't restricted and the children's choice of menu was varied. Vegetables were frozen carrot & peas. Our wee girl would have liked fresh broccoli or carrot sticks. But everything else was beautifully cooked and presented.
Well priced, great meal, just let down by the service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“awesome restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stopped in at Maggies and found the staff and Maggie to be outstanding, very friendly and no request was a problem. The menu has a full range of Asian and European foods, excellent choices. Very reasonably priced, excellent place to take the family. Warm fire blazing as it was cool and they have a large verandah to cool off in the summer. We would definitely recommend and we will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No atmosphere, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Not great, on a Friday night only 12 people in and and no music. Menu is about 12 pages long and the food took about 40 minutes to get to us. Wouldn't bother going back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggies also viewed

Bombay, Auckland Region
Bombay, Auckland Region
 
Bombay, Auckland Region

Been to Maggies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.