We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendip belied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Gourmet Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patnem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Gourmet Guest House
Patnem-Colomb Beach | Canacona, Goa, Patnem, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Patnem B&B and Inns
Calangute, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Serendip belied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Getting to this place is an exercise in serendipity. A the end of a long drive through exquisite South Goan villagescape, you get to this small hideout on the waterfront at Colomb beach. The setting is truly exhilarating.

Sadly the good things end with the ambiance. Run by Swiss owners from November to early April, the eatery and rooms are modestly appointed, quite grubby and outrageously priced. A regular burger costs 300 bucks! The Swiss touch was not evident in the food, which was tasteless and infused with leftovers. Hidden gourmet indeed!

The place is open for just 5 months at the height of the season, caters mostly to transient foreigners, charges exorbitant rates, delivers poor quality and constitutes awful value for money; the commercial exploitation of a truly terrific setting.

Goa deserves better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the beach Hidden Gourmet looks like it should be stunning.Well its not,its very overpriced and the biggest down point is the place is dirty.It is not cleaned properly when you arrive and the cleaning while you are their is poor.If you are paying this much money the place should be clean especially seeing its run by a European.There is no love in the place and it looks very tired now and needs a big makeover.The potential is huge,the views are fabulous,the breakfast is also fabulous,but all the staff walk around as if they have'nt had a day off in years.Hopefully the owner might look at this and do something about it.Lets hope so and then i would go back.After a few days we found a place a quarter of the price,ok it was'nt the same view but it was good service and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have eaten in many of the top restaurants in the world including many Michelin starred ones.
The maximum stars the Michelin guide gives is three.
I would give Patrick four stars or even five.
Book well ahead for the culinary experience of your life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Gourmet is different. The menu is small but the food is excellently cooked by owner Patrick. Unusually, for India, beef ( water buffalo) appears on the menu. I had the stroganoff and it was beautiful. My partner had the stir fried tofu, which again was lovely.
The setting is just stunning. Just a few tables well spaced overlooking lovely Patnem beach and bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and Patrick was a delight. He took time to talk to all the diners and made our meal a very personal experience. The setting encourages conversation amongst the groups of diners and we shared stories with several others.

I don't think I would want to stay there, not because of the facilities but because of the location. It is on a little peninsular of rock, which really holds the heat. It is also in the lee of the prevailing wind and you wouldn't get the lovely cooling breeze we enjoy on the beach proper.

But for that special romantic dinner or just for a different choice of food Gourmet is highly recommended.

( to get to it you have to pass Magic View, a lovely Italian restaurant. Don't pass it every time, this restaurant is one of the best as well!!)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The location of the Hidden Gourmet makes up for the basic but clean rooms. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and made our stay very special. Our host, Patrick, is an international chef and this is clearly evident from the menu and quality of the dishes served. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auch
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Frankly, I can't imagine eating in a more romantic spot than this.. It is a paradise, and the food is INCREDIBLE.. If you are craving a steak in India, I have eaten steak here better than any I have eaten even in Europe.
Reading the review above, yes it can take a little while to get your food, but this is India.. not Europe, and what better place to sit and drink a cold beer or a fine wine, (and they DO have fine wine!)
You will be sitting under palm trees, on a peninsula, overlooking Patnam bay with the sea washing up at the foot of the restaurant. The tables are subtly lit and comfortable, and your host, Patrick, is, frankly a delight.
I will take some photos and post them up.. because if you are in Patnam or Palolem you would be punishing yourself by not coming!
And remember, whilst more expensive than a beach shack that cooks a million dishes badly, the food is still not even remotely expensive by Western standards.
I can assure you, you will be delighted and your stomach will thank you!

Room Tip: Remember that you are staying in a guest house, not a soulless four star hotel. So conditions are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a mixed bag this place is. Went with a group, and the food is phenomenal. However why they don't get better wait staff is an absolute mystery. They expect you to practically wait on yourself, and when asked what the ingredients of something were,the waiter responded with a "why should he know, he isn't the cook". They aren't cheap, and the food is absolutely worth it, but the over 2 hour wait and staff with crappy attitudes, absolutely not....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Gourmet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Gourmet Guest House

Address: Patnem-Colomb Beach | Canacona, Goa, Patnem, India
Location: India > Goa > Patnem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Patnem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hidden Gourmet Guest House Hotel Patnem
Hidden Gourmet Guest House Patnem, Goa, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Gourmet Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hidden Gourmet Guest House to your Saves list