We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, service and setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papayas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patnem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papayas
Save
You added Papayas to your Saves list
Beach front, Patnem, Canacona 403702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Patnem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, service and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Papayas is the best beachside location we have stayed. The huts are well appointed with a comfy bed, good mosquito netting, enough storage, a decent shower with hot water and wifi. The huts are set in a shady attractive garden and there is enough space between the hits so you don’t hear your neighbours. The food is very good and the service very quick.
Only improvements are the rooms would benefit from some more power points and a bit more light.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

From home, before our journey to India, we booked for a five-day stay in Papayas. We did it because of the good reviews on tripadvisor. However, we just stayed there for one evening. The main problem particularly for me was the very hard mattress (which made me feel like I was sleeping on a plank of wood). The day after, I spoke with the manager about the mattress. He reacted very unfriendly and not hepfull at all and asked us to leave as soon as possible. We moved out to April20, whose staff made my stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the larger huts and loved it. You get what you expect in a beach hut, so don't expect a full hotel experience. Here you will get a relaxed, chilled out atmosphere, good staff and a fantastic beach. The food in all the bars/huts on this beach is great and the prices very cheap. Couldn't fault the time we spent there, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 10 days here in Feb 2012...fabulous staff that bent over backwards to make sure all was good...right on the beach...great food...fabulous accomodation (we stayed in the 2 bedroomed air-conditioned cottage as we are a family of 5)..a friendly and lovely atmosphere. Really highly recommend.

Room Tip: The fact they have a 2 bedroomed cottage is not really advertised..well worth knowing if you are goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed together with 6 friends at Papayas. It was great! Right at the beach, very nice accomodation, good food and friendly staff. Best place to relax, much better than Palolem Beach which is 15-20min walking distance away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spent 6 days here at the end of season for $30. The bungalows were much nicer than any others we saw in Patnem, and were well appointed. The hot water worked great, and we had 3 fans to help keep cool.

I don't know if there was an issue with the generator of if this was normal, but the power went on and off constantly, all day and into the night. They always got it back on pretty quickly but I have to admit it was annoying, especially if you were trying to use the internet. The only other complaint is the mattress- really, really hard. One of the reviews says you can ask for another one, which I wish I known because it made it difficult to sleep at night, but apparently this is not unusual in Goa.

Overall, very pleasant stay, good food and nice owners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed at Papayas in December 2011 for 2 nights in a beach front hut. The huts themselves are nicely decorated, bed had the usual hard matress but decent size, bathroom good with warm water, flushing loo, soap, toothbrushes, toothpaste, razors provided. Good sized balcony to sit on with two chairs, nicely positioned to watch the world go by.

But be warned, the train track somewhere behind the hut (it felt and sounded like you were sleeping under the arches!) and was really noisey.

There is a lovely sitting area at the front of Papayas with brightly coloured orange and green beanbags - great position to watch the sunset. We ate both days at Papayas, the food was really good and the staff are fantastic. It was my birthday whilst we were there and they went to the trouble of decorating a table on the beach, singing happy birthday to me whilst presenting a cake and organising fireworks.......a fantastic Birthday - one I shall always remember.

Thanks to all the staff at Papayas, we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Papayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papayas

Address: Beach front, Patnem, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Canacona > Patnem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Patnem
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Papayas Hotel Patnem
Papayas Patnem, Goa, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papayas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.