We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Sands

Tamarind Sands
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabarita Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarind Sands
Save
You added Tamarind Sands to your Saves list
49 Tamarind Avenue, Cabarita Beach, New South Wales 2488, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cabarita Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I spent a week with friends in three units of the Resort. It was fun to dip in the pool and spa after a walk to the beach each morning. Great for families - two teen girls enjoyed watching DVDs on hand at the resort, and all of us had fun playing the Charades game one night. BBQs allowed for plenty of relaxing in evenings. Slightly older facilities, comfortable enough, not for those wanting 5-star luxury. Wi-fi was surprisingly expensive, so I used my Optus prepaid dongle, best received on the balcony, and went to the Cabirita Sports Club for free access; this could be an advantage if you want to detox from overusing the internet!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stanthorpe, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Apartment was basic. Unfortunately our unit location was a big minus. Our very minimal twin bedroom was basic to say the least. External noise and light not pleasant. Only two towels supplied and then wash yourself or buy from reception. No hair drier. Amenities relied on the courtesy of those in the main queen bedroom. Privacy almost impossible.
Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: High floors only and three bedrooms even if not all to be used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Cleanest, best stocked, most pleasant place I have ever stayed in.
Great beaches nearby. Great facilities in the town.
Couldn't be in a better location. Only thing I didn't like was the racist "letter from an Irish mother" posted in the games room. Especially annoyed by it as the manager is allegedly Irish.
I'm Irish, not super sensitive, but didn't appreciate that attempt at humour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed here every year for a number of years. The facilities and apartments are excellent, and the staff very friendly. The whole resort is very clean and tidy. The grounds are very neat with lovely plantings. There are activities such as mini golf, table tennis and pool. It caters for everyone from singles to families. There is a great sports club nearby that has good well priced meals and drinks. A courtesy bus operates and picks up and drops off at the resort. The beach is about 10 minutes walk away and there's plenty of great walks there. The near by Madura tea plantation is well worth visiting. The Gold coast is 20-30 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 and had a lovely time, this place must be the cleanest place i have ever stayed in I don't think I was one piece of rubbish or cigarette butt the whole time i was there and the rooms are spotless. The staff are very friendly and so helpful, we where going to the beach and asked about a beach chair and they presented me with their own private one. I loved that every couple of mornings you could pay $5 and the staff put on a cooked breakfast that you could go down and have beside the pool, (eggs,bacon) (pan cakes) Our flat overlooked the pool the whole place is lovely. Would differently go back.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here in May/June for the third time...so we must like it.
The facilities and apartments are excellent, and the staff very friendly. The beach is about 10 minutes stroll away and there's plenty of great walks there. Good value weekday 2 for 1 meals at the beach side hotel, and 2 course roast at the sports club for $12 on a Thursday evening.The near by tea plantation is well worth visiting.
You need a car here, but the Gold coast with all it's attractions and shopping malls, beaches, night life and airport etc is less than 30mins drive away. The whole coastline here is wonderful and climate of course is excellent.
A great place for couples or families

Room Tip: Malluecca block is good as it overlooks the bush area....we even saw kangaroos there. Much better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Cabarita beach is a wonderful location. It has beautiful beaches, trendy cafes, surf beaches, a big new supermarket yet is surrounded by natural bush. Tamarind sands is opposite a nature reserve with a big lake, so the units over look natural bush. The grounds are lush and neat. There's plenty of activities for kids. It's a short walk to the beach and Main Street yet very quiet and serene.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Sands

Address: 49 Tamarind Avenue, Cabarita Beach, New South Wales 2488, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cabarita Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cabarita Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.