We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not a real "resort"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 - 6 Pandanus Parade, Cabarita Beach, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabarita Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, but not a real "resort"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed just after New Year in the penthouse on the top floor. The best thing about the place is the proximity to that great beach, patrolled, with lots of fun to be had around the rocks near the headland at the southern end.

We loved Cabarita because it felt like the beach holidays in the old days - slower paced and very relaxing.

The apartment itself was roomy, the kitchen was well-equipped, the bedrooms were big enough and beds comfy enough. Lovely airy, spacious lounge room and balcony overlooking the pool (internal) with a glimpse of the beach.

For the price we paid, however, we were surprised to find -
1) no flyscreens on the windows, so at night we could not leave the windows open to catch the breeze without being infested by flying insects,
2) The curtains were too thin, and
3) there was a lack of drawers or shelves in the 2nd and 3rd bedroom wardrobes.

Another negative for some people would be that the apartment was up a few flights of stairs - luckily we are fit and our kids are old enough to walk up themselves, but Granny would have had a hard time of it after a morning on the beach!

The pool (more precisely a conglomeration of small pools and narrower waterways) was a bit of fun for the kids (they only went in twice), but it would be hard to have a decent swim in it. As it is in the centre of the four wings of the complex, it also is a bit claustrophobic.

We were well away from the pub underneath the complex, so were not disturbed by any noise. We didn't like the look of the pub anyway - the menu was very restricted, plus expensive. The surf club restaurant across the pathway was fabulous - great food and service at reasonable prices.

I would stay there again, but I would be careful not to spend too much on the room, because as some other reviewers have stated, it is not a real "resort" like we have come to expect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    31
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
59
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed for daughter's wedding and had a fantastic time despite the remnants of the cyclone doing all it could so we couldn't get to the planned beach location. We had two excellent apartments, a two bed mountain view and three bed beach view which gave us plenty of space. Location is great and enough choices of place to eat near the resort. The pool looked OK but given the weather didn't make use of it. A small problem at check-in with which 3 bed apartment was booked was quickly sorted out thanks to reception and when we left on the Monday were told any problems getting back to Brisbane to return to the hotel for another night without charge. Would stay her again and have no problem in recommending this as a place to stay to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here with our children and grandchildren for four days in this charming resort and were so happy with the standard of accommodation. It was so tastefully furnished and thoughtfully equipped. There was everything you could possibly need in every room and high quality toiletries in the bathrooms and we really enjoyed our power shower. The kitchen in particular was superbly equipped with absolutely everything. Best of all the beds were of very high quality and we slept really well with the sound of the lapping waves. We stayed in apartment 209 and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We won 2 nights at The Beach Cabarita, and I must say it was really fantastic. I loved the large 2 bedroom apartment, Poolside room, so spacious and well equipped. The 4 Pools were very clean even after a huge storm had gone through earlier, Great large Spa to relax in. Loved hoping in the lift and ending up outside the Bar/ Restaurant/Hotel area, had a coffee on the deck, with a view through the Pandanus trees to the surf, very very relaxing and well appointed, Friendly staff. Will deffinately return..

Room Tip: I read everyone thought the Beachside is better, but depends on Finances,,, We were happy with the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here in late January 2013. Our 3 bedroom apartment (208) had great views and a very generous balcony overlooking the beach. The apartment was well appointed and comfortable for a family of four. The pools in the complex are well set up for kids of all ages. Staff were very helpful, especially given a tropical storm came through on the last two days of our holiday. There is a good range of restaurants and basic shops close by and larger centres are a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This apartment was a 2 minute walk from the beach and surf life saving club which had good meals. The bar/bistro downstairs is excellent and very affordable. When we arrived we were given the room keys which are actually wristbands. This is a very smart idea as you can wear them in the water too. The staff were very friendly aswell. A large selection of DVDs was available to borrow at no charge which was nice. The pools in the middle of the complex were massive and very comfortable. The apartment has all the best furniture/appliances and was very neat, tidy and clean.
Only downfall for our stay was that our apartment was at the top of a large flight of stairs.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in the 4 bedroom penthouse with friends. The apartment standard was high and well equipped although there was no safe with I found disappointing considering the price of $800 per night. The apartment is rented as a 4 bedroom but really it is 3 bedroom with a lounge room converted into the 4 th bedroom. The positive in this is that it was huge but the downside there was no wardrobe or drawers to put clothing and the pulldown blinds are so sheer that anybody staying in that room is awake at sunrise. The outdoor patio area is fantastic, perfect place for drinks at sunset, again for the price the patio furniture is a bit tired and could do with replacing ( maybe that has been done already). The pool area left us wanting especially with kids, not really kid friendly as there are a lot of pools but all very small in size and felt very claustrophobic being it the center of the complex, probably better suited to those without kids. I know this place is advertised as a resort but I would call it more of self contained apartments with a pool area, to me it lacked what a real resort has on offer. I probably wouldn't stay there again unless it was just a self contained apartment was all that we wanted, it certainly did not have the feel of a holiday resort which is what we were looking for.

Room Tip: If the location suits and all you are after is an apartment you will be happy with the standard of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Resort

Address: 2 - 6 Pandanus Parade, Cabarita Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cabarita Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabarita Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tweed Coast accommodation doesn't come much better than The Beach Resort in Cabarita. Our spacious and luxury accommodation on the Tweed Coast is situated on prime beachside frontage of the majestic Cabarita Beach. With stylish contemporary living and immediate access to pristine sandy beaches, The Beach Resort is a picturesque location for your next weekend Gold Coast getaway. We are adaptable to cater to your needs, so if you’re after fun family accommodation, we’re you’re best solution. Similarly, if you’re after a relaxing and romantic weekend getaway, Gold Coast sights and activities are in close proximity to our Tweed Coast accommodation at The Beach Resort Cabarita, which is where you will find privacy and luxury. We have 4 swimming pools, one heated all year round to 27 degrees. There is also an outdoor heated spa and fully equipped gymnasium. The Beach Bar & Grill is on ground level of the complex and offers fantastic value lunch and dinner options. Our guests have access to free to use Dvd's, games and pool towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.