We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haji is very trustworthy and reliable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangrove Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mangrove Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Lodge
PO Box 4269, Chuini, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chuini
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Haji is very trustworthy and reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed at Mangrove in July 2011 when I was visiting Zanzibar with my husband. I was recommended this place by a very good friend of mine who resides on the island itself. We stayed ther for 4 nights, and to be honest, it was the best decision we had made. Haji was a great host,and prepared delicious breakfasts for us. For dinner, he would call us and inform us of the catch of the day , and he would prepare the food fresh. He also arranged a driver for us for one day to take us to Nungwi for the day. It was a perfect place to be relaxed and avoid all the tourist crowd and madness at other resorts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangrovelodge, Owner at Mangrove Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Some time passed and the Lodge keep the style you enjoyed and it is even more beautiful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
8
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden of England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I have travelled around Zanzibar and stayed in 5 star hotels but this trip we wanted to be more involved with village life so we chose Mangrove Lodge. Wow from the moment we arrived to the day we departed we felt so at home and relaxed.

Rooms are basic but large and clean - everything you need to put your head down at night and a shower. Two beaches were lovely and it was great to see villagers playing football after school. Food was great and very big portions - nothing was too much trouble for Haji and his staff.

Marina was away but she was great at returning my emails with information that I needed to plan our trip - did not have to chase, which I feel is good sign for efficiency.

A few trips was arranged all on time with helpful drivers. Haji spent a considerable time taking us to the local schools and showing us about and then to the dispensary that they have yet to finish as the villages have no hospital nearby.

Take the time to visit, relax and make new friends at the Mangrove. Pack with a purpose and take any items for the villages and schools or leave old clothes behind - and if you can, help raise funds for the much needed hospital.

We will definately return to the Mangrove without hesitation - why pay for 5 star when you get 5 star service at under half the price.

Thank you all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangrovelodge, Owner at Mangrove Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. After your stay the village of Chuini have a small clinic. We are so grateful and proud to realize a dream with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Six of us Canadians arrived on Jan 26, 2013 for 3 nights to kick off our grand African adventure. It was a perfect little piece of paradise. Well located less than 25 min from Stone Town and close to several spice farms. Zanzibar is a small island easy to discover from the lodge. As stated in other reviews, the lodge offers accomodation in stand-alone cottages, well acquainted and tastefully decorated with a "Zanzibar-arabian" touch. The grounds are beautiful along a secluded bay and adjacent to a quiet beach. But above all, owners Aji and Marina and their dedicated and attentive staff are really what made our stay unforgettable.Their warm and easy going demeanor made you feel so welcome and relaxed. Aji and Marina took really good care of us arranging several great tours we would certainly recommend (Spice farms, swimming with the dolphins/Paje Beach and Forani Forest to see the monkeys, Stone Town walking tour). The meals were prepared special to order and the food was really excellent. All in all, outstanding value for the money, a rare find. Thanks Marina and Aji!!! - Debbie and gang

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mangrovelodge, Owner at Mangrove Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you very much for being with us. Your gang was so enthisiastic and it was a pleasure to make the beginnning of your holiday so special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and three of my friends stayed in this peaceful place for two days. It's a really wonderful place with good ocean view, cosy room, and beautiful garden. Im sure it will be my first choice next time I come to Zanzibar

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We spent 10 days at this beautiful lodge. The rooms are located in a beautiful garden with a lot of privacy. It's very clean and the beds are beautifully made with flowers, so romantic! There are mosquito nets in front of the windows, over the beds and a nice veranda to sit on. The restaurant is decorated in an arabic african style and has a beautiful view over the bay and an old ruin. In the evening you hear the bushbabys and sometimes the can see them in the trees near the restaurant, they are so cute! The food is excellent! Homecooked breakfast bread and Fresh seafood everyday bought from the local fishermen. If you don't like fish they'll cook another dish for you. Nothing is too much! The staff is really friendly, helpful and the hosts give a such a warm welcome that it makes you feel like you're part of the family.

This lodge is an excellent place to start your trips around the island! They organize all kinds of trips for reasonable prices and again, everything is possible! If you want to relax you can enjoy the beach in the shade or in the sun.

We absolutely loved it and hope to come back one day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a really special place. Zanzibar is full of beautiful hotels, brimming with stunning beaches, and generally everyone is super friendly wherever you go, but the owners of Mangrove Lodge are really lovely people, and made our stay exceptional. We were doing our holiday in a bit of an unusual way - cycling from place to place, buying food from the market and cooking on the beach. We had stayed at Mangrove right at the start of our fortnight, and liked it so much we returned, along with 4 fish, and a basket of vegetables. Not only was Haji (sp?) and his wife not at all put out that we had brought our own food, they helped us build a fire on the beach, allowed us to prep the fish in their kitchen and joined us for a drink after dinner along with their ADORABLE children. It was our last night, totally perfect, and it was almost unbearable to leave. GO THERE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hello,

We just come back from Mangrove Lodge, and we don't have enough words to tell you how wonderful it was!!! This ecolodge is situated between two marvellous beaches, the rooms are big and beautiful, very clean, the romantic beds covered with fresh flowers... There are only ten bungalows, in total 20 rooms, so it is very small and intimate!
Fresh food is cooked every day from the fishermen's captures of the afternoon.
Breakfast is the best we've ever had, with eggs, pancakes, fresh fruits, local pastries, nutella, local jam...
... And it is much cheaper and nicer than the big hotels!!!

Haji, the owner, is so friendly and he will help you to organise nice and cheap excursions around the island.
The situation is perfect because you are 20 min from Stonetown and all the excursions leaving to Prison Island, Chumbe, etc, 5 min from Spicetour, and not too far from Josani forest (max 1h)...

If you want to feel like a guest, even a friend, more thant a client, go straight to Mangrove Lodge!

Thank you so much Haji for our wonderful stay with you!

Maud and Dimitri

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mangrove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Lodge

Address: PO Box 4269, Chuini, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Chuini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Chuini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangrove Eco-Lodge: responsible tourism in Zanzibar. A friendly atmosphere for an enchanting eco-sustainable resort. Deep in the tropical vegetation that surrounds Stone Town, the Mangrove Lodge offers a very peaceful and natural, homely and comfortable environment, in which the slow and quiet pace of the Zanzibar people allow you to forget the everyday hassles. We can bring you into the very heart of Zanzibar's lifestyle and culture. In line with the principles of the responsible tourism from the very beginning and with a great respect for the island, the Mangrove Lodge has grown on a green path with 360° responsible attitude. Spend a special holiday with us, enjoy the amazing white sand beach, guided excursions and stunning sunsets, and bring back serenity, cordiality and genuine fun, whilst stimulating the economic development and well-being of the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mangrove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Hotel Chuini
Mangrove Lodge Zanzibar/Chuini, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangrove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.