We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have converted my partner to the B&B Experience thanks to Harpers on the Beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harpers on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harpers on the Beach to your Saves list
Harpers on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Harpers Place, White Beach, Tasmania 7184, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 White Beach B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I have converted my partner to the B&B Experience thanks to Harpers on the Beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived (a little later than anticipated), we were welcomed. We were at once impressed. We unpacked the car, washed our faces and settled at the dining table for the most wonderful home cooked masterchef meal. Three amazing courses, we could not resist any of it. I have food allergies and was very spoilt with my very own apple crumble. Seriously it was devine.The breakfast was also very good.
The room was very comfortable and private. We had our own balcony with a view to the beach and a 20m stroll found you at the waters edge. We had a lovely stay at Harpers on the Beach.
The other travellers we met had stayed there before and come back for their second visit. If you are to have only one B&B experience or have had a bad one in the past make sure you put Harpers on your list to stay at and they will provide you with the best a B&B can offer.
The only bad thing I can say is I ate to much good food. Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: We choose a room with balcony and view of the beach. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our first ever stay at a B &B turned out to be close to perfect. Beautiful clean quite room, good bed, wi fi, great food breakfast and dinner. And a wonderful location with squeak clean white sandy beach just off the verandah and blue wrens nesting in the dunes. Just a wonderful stay. Excelent cellar and good prices. Just a magic couple of days..

Room Tip: beach front room was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This accommodation was an idyllic location that was perfect for exploring the Port Arthur Historic site, visiting the Tasmanian Devil Conservation park and exploring the Tasman peninsula. The service was excellent from the cooked breakfast to the optional three course dinner and friendly conversations with the owner. I can highly recommend this as an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I wrote some notes on this place:

Gorgeous location
Right on the beach
Lovely room and decor
Breakfast is more than what you need
Incredible time here

Other than that, I am speechless.
Oh but you need a car to get here, but great places to visit nearby and places to eat dinner.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room, the view is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahl am Main, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

It ist a nice Place on Earth! Jill is a charming and absolute friendly hostess. All rooms are in good style. We have had a delicious dinner and nice and gainful conversation with several other guests. We enjoyed the stay very much.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide, australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a superior property for an affordable rate. The hosts have got the B & B philosophy right with attentive care but careful respect for privacy. The breakfast options are great and will set you up for the day. The rooms are impeccably clean and the comfortable beds ensure an undisturbed sleep in this perfect location. Quiet without being too far away you can be in Port Arthur in no time if you have a car which is the best option for Tasmanian touring. I highly recommend this property and its fabulous hosts

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a wonderful visit! We arrived in Tasmania for a short, 2 day visit. Jill at Harper's did so much to make our stay comfortable, fun, and relaxing.  She emailed with me several times before our trip responding quickly to my emails and sending along many helpful and top notch suggestions for activities including a fun and not to be missed Tasman Island Cruise (3 hours, well worth the $$ and time) and dinner options nearby (strongly suggest the restaurant at Stewarts Bay Lodge if you're near Port Arthur) . When we arrived, the cottage was ready for us complete with an espresso machine, tidy house, comfy bed. It was my husband's birthday, and Jill made a yummy lemon cake for him and presented it to us when we arrived (just in time for us to enjoy it on the deck before our long walk on the nearby beach). We decided to have dinner at Harpers the first night. Good choice! Jilly cooked an delicous gourment dinner of fresh salmon and garden veggies. (all keeping in mind our dietary restrictions on other meats). The wine list included lots of local Tasmanian wines - we enjoyed a fragrant and delicous bottle over dinner. The apps of shrimp were also great, the dining room is comforatble and has a great view out the window. Desert (excellent) included a hot baked apple crisp and coffee. One of our best meals of the trip. We rested comfortably in the cottage, with the sound of lapping waves along the beach just outside. I highly recommend Harpers! Thanks Jilly for making this a special and memorable trip for us.

Room Tip: The cottage is nice for a couple and two singles - there are two rooms with a shared bath and a laun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harpers on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers on the Beach

Address: 8 Harpers Place, White Beach, Tasmania 7184, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > White Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in White Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harpers on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Port Arthur, Harpers on the Beach offers luxury beachfront B&B accommodation, consisting of three luxurious queen rooms and a two bedroom self-contained cottage. The rooms are beautifully decorated and each has a private deck with views of the ocean. Step off your deck and it is a mere 25 paces to the white sand beach. Dinner is served by arrangement and, whenever possible, is based around local and organic produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harpers on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harpers On The Beach White Beach, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpers on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.