We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find with a few flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Partigiani, 48, 27012 Certosa di Pavia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic find with a few flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We were offered rooms at this hotel at E65 including breakfast, which left us expecting something not too good. Instead we have a modern room with tiled floors, air conditioning, a huge bathroom with toilet, shower and bidet, a big double bed formed of two pushed together, but they meet very well, and a restaurant on site that does a good trade "in house" and take away. There are also a couple of Michelin recommended restaurants within a few kilometres.

We have very limited Italian but the hotel and restaurant have been able to accommodate our needs and have some staff with good English. Breakfast is limited by English tastes but quite wide by European tastes, meats and cheese, yoghurt, fruit compote, rolls, breads and a toaster, croissants, butter and jams, multiple cakes and tarts, any sort of coffee and pots of tea.
The room has a few oddities. No bedside tables, though two tables are here, one in the bathroom where it is needed, and one beside a small couch in the room. There is a large wardrobe but no drawers (we are staying 4 days), no cups or glasses though I am sure we could have some if we asked (we travel with disposable ones), no fridge which would be appreciated, no hairdryer or tissues in the bathroom.
Blessings, there is a cable connection for your computer if you bring one, and a small desk to put it on in your room. There is also an elevator for getting the luggage upstairs.
We wanted to visit Milano and the local bus stops just outside the door. About 40 minutes to the bus terminal at Famagosta, then Metro with one change to Duomo, so a good hour travel. Worth it to us not to drive into Milan. However, there is not much open in the area at night.
There can be a bit of noise as guests arrive or leave, as tiled floors pick up the sounds of the rolling cases and the big self closing doors can be quite noisy. The hotel is built around a courtyard that also encloses the car parking at night, so sounds can be magnified a bit. Not too bad though. We get no street noise though there is a busy highway outside.
Clean as a whistle, cool, spacious. A good place to stop, especially if it will just be a day or two.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    81
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
61
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Doesn't look much from the outside as on busy main road, but surprisingly nice inside. Very clean and friendly, family run (although not much English spoken) hotel. We were visiting monastery and looking for overnight accomodation and had seen prior reviews in Trip Advisor. Restaurant (Saturday night) was pizza (good) mainly take away. Good value for the price of 65 Euro.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Hotel Italia in Certosa di Pavia was a pleasant experience. The rooms were extremely clean and quite peaceful. Breakfast was good being in Italy. We had both lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant: the food was excellent and rather inexpensive.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

We were on our way to the south and decided to spend a night close to Milan to visit the main attractions there. There is a frequent bus + underground connection to the center taking about 45 minutes.

If you want to explore Milan for several days, the hotel might be too far away for that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandviken, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

we had a three bed room - quite OK. (forgot to turn the AC on under the window...)
Close to the road but well isolated.
Restaurant worth a visit
Bring your own network cable if you want to go on the Internet. They only have four to lend you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lund sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is a medium priced hotel close to the famous monastery. The hotel offers good value for money and the rooms - we saw several of them - are absolutely spotless. They seem to have been renovated just the other day and are nicely fitted with tile floors all over. The location is adjacent to the busy thoroughfare so if you can choose a room facing the interior court yard you might do so. The management is hospitable with a personal touch and shows genuine concern for the wellbeing of their guests. The restaurant in the house is also quite decent and seems to be frequented by locals just as much. The breakfast - included in the price - is adequate although not overwhelming but nevertheless quite satisfactory.
I would most definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

I have stayed at the Hotel Italia for a long weekend as I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the vicinity of Milan. The Hotel Italia was recommended in my travel guide and it offered all that was promised: clean, spacious rooms, fair price, and, more than anything else, a great family atmosphere. The hotel as well as the restaurant is run by a very friendly family and after only two nights I felt more like a visitor than a customer. The only setback was that there is some noise from the restaurant, which can be heard in the rooms above. So, if you want to find sleep before the restaurant closes (usually around 23:00) then you might have a slight problem.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Corso Partigiani, 48, 27012 Certosa di Pavia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Pavia > Certosa di Pavia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Certosa di Pavia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Pavia
Hotel Italia Province Of Pavia/Certosa Di Pavia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.