We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirabelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asnieres-la-Giraud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mirabelle
Save
You added Mirabelle to your Saves list
29 Route de St Hilaire | Chez Cornet, 17400 Asnieres-la-Giraud, France   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Superb family holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent a week at Mirabelle gites. We had a fabulous time! It was our first holiday abroad as a family with our one year old and we will definitely be returning! Everything we needed had been thought of and it was like being in a home from home. The gite was lovely and spacious and in immaculate condition. Paul and Michelle were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. The gites are set in a beautiful rural location and you are able to relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility of such a setting. The facilities for children are excellent, once again, everything has been thought of with outdoor games for all ages, a lovely swimming pool which we spent plenty of time in, trampolines, slides, swings, sandpits, tents and they also run a kids activities club each day which the children loved and enabled the parents to have some free down time whilst knowing their children were happily playing! As a family we were able to go for some great bike rides, horse riding (our little one in the carriage!), visit some lovely beaches and some beautiful drives through the countryside and to vinyards, enjoy a great BBQ with other guests, and Daddy got to play football with the other guests and some of the French locals!

We had a wonderful family holiday and would highly recommend a visit to Mirabelle, a great and relaxing holiday, with something for all the family in a beautiful part of South West France. We are looking forward to returning there one day soon!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent a week in June at this marvellous place with our children and in-laws. The children are aged between 3 - 9 years and this was the perfect retreat for all of them to adventure outdoors safely. The gites are all gorgeously rustic with a mix modern and old french decor. All completely equipped with everything, bedding, full kitchen, including an ipod dock (my essential!). All gites have their own barbecue and patio. The living area has a tv, but the kids had just too much to do to even bother with it.The pool is great fun and safely fenced, complete with an honesty pool bar for drinks and ice-creams.
The kids club was a definite hit, Michelle and Paul have a huge kids club barn where they take the children off for all sorts of fun, dressing up, arts n crafts, soap making and nature trails. This gave us time just to ourselves to take a rural bike ride into the beautiful local area, just the two of us!!! Unheard of!!
Football night was great fun for the dads and lads who love a game. Paul has set up goals in the field and marked a pitch out which was quite impressive, the locals meet here to play and all the residents of the gites are invited to join in and are made very welcome. I was surprised to see just how many locals get involved! Some stayed to chat over a drink, all very relaxed and lots of laughing.
Now, we usually love to explore and go out for days which we did, but these were often cut short as all the kids wanted to do was get back to Mirabelle! The freedom they had, the sunshine and outdoor life plus the numerous things they had to do were all they truly needed as kids. No xbox, PS3 or DS's required!!
This gave us time to actually sit and relax safe in the knowledge that the kids were happy playing together and hanging put with the other residents kids.
Barbecue night was also fun, the children were all collected about 6pm (adults were told to take some chillout time!) where they had an array of barbecue kids food, ice cream and drinks. This gave us an hour to get ready for our bbq meal around the pool. Once they were done the kids skipped off to play footy, go on the zip wire, and play in the tree house. We then were served a beautiful spread of meats, fish, salads and local breads and wine and chatted with the other residents. A perfect end to the holiday. The children were crying as we left to go home and i left feeling, just one more week...an utterly charming and fun fun place with perfect hosts who can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just back (12 hours door to door!) and our three year old says brightly 'good, now I've seen London can we go back to Mirabelle tomorrow?'. Just a lovely, lovely holiday destination - warm, friendly and welcoming. We've stayed in smarter accommodation but never anywhere with a better vibe or more welcoming hosts. Lots to do in the area but equally, no great reason to leave the site itself - lovely pool and lots of space to play; very well run kids club and nice touches like arranging local horse riding, and a group BBQ evening. A perfect balance of having time and space to oneself, whilst at the same time having other families around offering to pop to the boulangerie or have the kids over to their gite for an hour or two. Just about to confirm next year's booking..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from our 4th summer holiday at Mirabelle with our two children, now aged 10 & 13. We think that this is a truely perfect holiday destination for families, although equally well suited for adults outside of the school holidays.
The site has a central gite+pool+games area, surrounded by several acres of land for the kids to explore, build forts in the small woods, play soccer/rounders/badminton etc. The children have so much safe freedom to make their explorations, without ever being out of holaring distance! The children always quickly establish good freindships, even when there are large age gaps, with the older ones looking out for the younger ones. The site is equally suitable for younger children, with play houses, slides, swings, sand pits etc. There is also a sheltered area for table tennis, table football etc. Optional kids clubs are a great chance for the children to be entertained for a couple of hours, with age related activities organised by Paul & Michelle. The pool is great fun (deep enough for diving at one end, with a good step area at the other end for less able swimmers). It has a solar cover (think small sliding conservatory) which prevents the pool from cooling down over night and keeps the pool warmer by an extra 2 or 3 degrees in our experience. There is an honesty bar for ice creams and drinks, and with ample seating becomes a social hub for kids and adults. However all gites have their own patio and seating area if you need some quite time. The gites are very comfortable, and are bright and cheerful inside.
We like the fact that Mirabelle is close enough to the sea for day trips (beautiful beaches, boat trips, with hourly dinghy rental available on almost every large beach); yet far enough in-land so that you don't feel that you are in holiday campland.
Paul & Michelle, with two young children themselves, have set out to create an exceptional family holiday base, and they have very much succeeded. Paul & Michelle are genuinely freindly people, and will go the extra mile to ensure that you enjoy your holiday. In summary, we have had many family holidays in France, but Mirabelle sets the benchmark for how it should be done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent a lovely week here in July 2012 during a three week holiday in France. Paul and Michelle are wonderful hosts, always on hand when you need them and we had some great evenings, including the BBQ for all the gite guests, the football match against the local residents (my husband really enjoyed that!) and just generally sitting having a chat over a delicious glass of local wine by the pool. The surrounding land and facilities are safe and fantastic for kids (ours were aged 10, 7 and 5) - they really enjoyed the zipwire, the sandpit, the trampoline and climbing frame and of course the pool! Horseriding was a big hit too, as was the kids club and of course the gite is within easy driving distance of some fantastic places like La Rochelle (aquarium a must see). All three of my girls made friends with the other children there but particularly Paul and Michelle's two who are wonderfully social, they can't wait to see them again next summer. We have rebooked for 2013 already which is unprecedented for us in many years of holidaying in various destinations. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We are a family of 4 (our kids are 7 and 3) and we have just returned from an unbelievable 2 weeks at the Mirabelle Gites. The five gites are all different, but each nicely decorated and well equipped and face into the lovely courtyard where we ate all our meals. Surrounding the gites is acres of land which is full of activities for both the kids and adults to enjoy including tennis and badminton nets, zip wire, tree house, TP toys, sand pit, trampoline, climbing frames and a lovely good sized pool. There was a great atmosphere around the pool with lots of loungers and seats and even a little self service bar for ice-cream and drinks. The owners Paul and Michelle, who also live on site with their two lovely children, are wonderful hosts and the effort they put into facilitating your holiday made the whole experience extra special. The optional daily kids club they run is wonderful, ranging from mosaic making and tent painting to treasure hunts and tractor racing and the weekly barbecue/ camp fire is a great opportunity for all the families to get together and swap tips for day trips out etc. My husband, who is a sport fanatic, was even happy as there was a weekly football match with some of the locals on the football pitch at the gites and he had a few bike rides on the cycles provided at the gites with some of the other Dads. My children are normally quite shy and find it hard to join in, but from the minute we arrived at the gites all the children were off playing together regardless of age (my 3 year old son had a ball with all the older boys) and in the evenings the adults would often be sat chatting whilst the kids were all off playing hide and seek, or making a den or catching grass hoppers in the field! The locality of the gites is great, being only a 5 minute drive from St. Jean which was lovely and if you wanted to get to the coast it was only about 45 minutes to Royan. This was our first experience of staying in a gite in France but we cannot imagine how anywhere else could compare to the experience we had at Mirabelle so we have already booked to go back next year and we are all counting down the days!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent a delightful week at Mirabelle, hosted by Paul and Michelle. They managed the balance of hosting so well; very helpful and friendly, without intruding. What a great couple- they have created a relaxing, beautiful environment, whilst offering lots of varied activities for the children. From kids club, video nights and tractor racing, to horse riding, campfire nights and a 3 hour treasure hunt walk, I have rarely seen 10+ children aged 8-13 so engaged and happy, which equals happy and relaxed parents, obviously. The swimming pool is great - clean and full of fun inflatables and there are plenty of loungers and seats - and the honesty bar - for the parents to enjoy. We have stayed in numerous self catering places before; but this gite really topped it all - lovely decor, well equipped and very comfortable. what's more, Paul couldn't have been more helpful when our car broke down, organising repairs at the local garage and even offering to ferry us about. A perfect place for children and adults alike, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and hope to return there soon.

Room Tip: Our gite, 'Vanille' was perfect; very big and very well equipped with 2 bathrooms, 2 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabelle

Address: 29 Route de St Hilaire | Chez Cornet, 17400 Asnieres-la-Giraud, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > Asnieres-la-Giraud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Asnieres-la-Giraud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mirabelle France/Asnieres-La-Giraud

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.