We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the write up says...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Aldila

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punta Ballena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Aldila
Save
You added Posada Aldila to your Saves list
Km 120, Rinconada Alta | Punta del Este, Punta Ballena, Maldonado 1005, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just what the write up says...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

We booked for Christmas and New Year some 10 months in advance, and we had to pay upfront. We were a little apprehensive about doing this, but once we arrived, we weren't disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The Staff are all very friendly and helpful, although they did have to cope with my limited spanish. The pictures on the website are exactly what you see.

The breakfasts were delightful and served outside on the veranda. A different cake / pastry was freshly made each day and it added a personal touch.

The beach is a 5 min walk, and the hotel kindly provide beach chairs and parasols. There aren't many places to eat of an eveing within walking distance of the hotel, however Medio y Medio is a real gem, a real family amosphere and by the end of our stay, we were met like old friends by the owners.

We thoroughly loved Posada Aldila and wouldn't hesitate in returning to the same spot. A lovely relaxing break with staff who couldn't do enough to help. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — Service and the staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas, nv, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

Last month my husband and I enjoyed three nights stay at this pretty inn. PROs: gorgeous locale, quick walk to a huge, empty beach, lovely building and grounds with very nice appointments, great pool w/ drink/food service, cable TV w/ lots of english channels, nice breakfast, fine toilettries, our second story rm had a fireplace (we did not use) and balcony (we used a lot). CONS: no greeting upon arrival, we did not know what the hotel had to offer (wine cellar, room service, gym, "home theater", complimentary breakfast, etc.), staff has minimal english which is fine but I also did not feel like they were trying to work with my poor spanish, super high prices on wines from their cellar (go to the grocery store down the street) Pedro, the owner, seemed to avoid the guests, the worst massage I have ever had, and the worst part that almost ruined our stay - THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE BED EVER. Honestly, I think we were sleeping on a box spring?

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

I must admit, even after checking the stellar reviews on Tripadvisor, we were a little worried about the distance of the hotel from the main city. We immediately rented a car from Dollar the airport (Reserve online. Don't call Price difference was $20/day versus $75/day, FYI They will drop the car off for you and pick it up! Cab rides are a big ripoff here. Anyway, the staff was SUPER helpful and gave us all we needed to know to have a great stay in Punta. A short 3 minute walk and you are on a HUGE, curved beach that is basically empty (Remember Dec - March is high season). The room was perfect, Room 6 was a cozy room with a fireplace and it opened onto a big patio. Free Wireless and a nice common space with a big fireplace and Piano.

  • Liked — Staff and the tastefully decorated hotel.
  • Disliked — Distance from Punta
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

This hotel is like staying in someones really nice villa. It is very convenient to the beach and most of the rooms have a lovely, slightly distant view. the grounds are intimate and lovely, the pool is terrific. The beach, to which you can walk, is endless, wide, clean and uncrowded. You will need a car head to get to Punta, but it is not a hard ride. The rooms were very clean, with fireplace, nice wines and a good TV. The wifi in the room did not work very well but there are two computers in the lobby readily available. The breakfast is simple but nice and the staff could not be more accomodating. My only beef is the fitness equipment which was less than basic. My partner and I will be back. Punta is wonderful and this hotel really impresses.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — fitness area
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Posada Aldila is superb. It deserves the #1 ranking. I have been to >35 countries around the world and stayed in some of the most famous hotels, but this one is truly a gem. There are only 14 rooms so you need to book it early, particularly if you're going during their summer months. There is WiFi in all the rooms for free, and it's actually fast unlike at other South American hotels. There is a small gym, a beautiful pool area with comfortable lounge chairs, a swim up bar with fantastic salads and drinks, etc. It is a 5 minute walk down the hill to the beach.
My only advice is if you are arriving by bus from Colonia or Montevideo, you should get off the bus at the Maldonado bus station rather than the main Punta del Este Station. This hotel is in Punta Ballena which is super fancy and beautiful but is about a 10 minute cab ride from the main area of the city (and the cab actually cost more than the whole bus fare from Montevideo-- but was well worth it when I arrived to this fantastic spot!)

  • Liked — pool area, food, very fast internet, view
  • Disliked — 10 minute cab ride from main part of town (but this part of town is prettier anyway)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

My partner and I stayed at Posada Aldila for 3 nights in early November. We were booked here through --- as part of a 2 week trip. Usually I book my trips directly however I found it quite cumbersome for Latin America, hence the third party.

I had looked at the inn's website and thought it was very nice. It is beautiful! We loved it the minute we set foot there. You can immediately see that attention has been given to detail. It is welcoming, comfortable and cozy.

The rooms are named after a flower and painted in that color. They have tall ceilings with wooden beams, a fireplace, flat screen tv, fridge, a balcony from which you can view magnificent sunsets. The bathroom is spacious. The local wines in the room are delicious and reasonably priced.

The lobby area is done in earth tones. There is free internet, and small bar which they will tend at any time. This is also where breakfast is served. Breakfast is continental but it is very generous, served specifically for each guest and presented beautifully. Elvira (pronounced Elveera) was amazing. Always busy but always sweet and friendly. And she makes amazing "cafe con leche."

Outside there is a sundeck and a pool, Unfortunately for us the weather was a bit chilly to take advantage of.

Pedro, one of the owners, is also very friendly and full of information and recommendations.

The inn is a couple of miles from the center of town so we had to rent a car. But unless you plan on staying in town and not doing anything else, you will need a car so this location is not an issue and well worth it.

We had a wonderful time and would like to go visit again but next time we would like to go more into their summer.

Aldila is run very well. Our stay here was amazing. We have only praises for it.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, comfort, coziness, beauty.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in November. It is superb, the rooms are simply but nicely decorated with flat screen tvs, and stereos and lovely balconies affording amazing views over the Punta Bellena coast. The pool area is so relaxing and informal we felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time, the gardens are immaculate and there is a lovely decking area. Breakfast is fantastic and the best we had while in Uruguay, the bread is still hot when it is served. There is also a well stocked bar, a lounge area, free internet, sauna and basic gym. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for an informal, elegant and quiet get away in the nicest part of Punta del Este. The hotel is the managers dream and the attention to detail is obvious. On the downside the hotel is quite isolated and is best visited using a rental car, we did not have one and taxi's into Punta del Este which is 10 miles away can add up at $US20 a trip. There is only one restaurant in walking distance and this is closed during the week, although it is very good. The staff are all very friendly and helpful although with the exception of the manager they do not speak any English. In summary this is a fantastic hotel best visited with a car.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Aldila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Aldila

Address: Km 120, Rinconada Alta | Punta del Este, Punta Ballena, Maldonado 1005, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > Punta Ballena
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Ballena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Aldila is located at Punta del Este, Uruguay. It offers air-conditioned rooms, all of which have Internet connection, cable TV, and mini-bar. Some of its amenities include heated outdoor pool, massage booths and sauna, and beach service. Posada Aldila is near the beach, golf camp, airport, and city center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada Aldila Hotel Punta Ballena
Posada Aldila Punta Del Este
Posada Aldila Uruguay/Punta Ballena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Aldila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.